We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Get-Away for Relaxation and Amazing River Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Get-Away for Relaxation and Amazing River Views”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We have been to Cedar Lodge many times and find it a perfect, reasonbly priced escape from city life. The accomodations are spacious, clean, and comfortable with relaxing views of the lower dells and the Wisconsin River. It's away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy downtown Dells but a few minute drive to that area as well as to an array of off the beaten track venues including the Ho-Chunk casino. Mangement is very friendly. Encourage going to the web site to view the accommodations which vary. We love the lodge rooms with a deck overlooking the river. While pricing is reasonable, it is somewhat disconcerting to be charged a resort fee during the off and mid-season when the pool is empty, the dock is out of water, and the lawn furniture is stored. During those times room cleaning service is nearly non-existent except for towel change and you need to go to the office for things like coffee packets. So we wonder why a resort fee other than to keep the advertised room rates down. We've been there in summer when the service is first class in that regard and a log fire is built on the beach every evening.
Even with these concerns, they are minor considering the high quality of the place. Off season is great since you may be one of very few guests, maybe the only ones keeping in mind the Dells is like a ghost town then but we love it like that.

Room Tip: Watch for the online deals or ask when calling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Afocus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    84
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
248
148
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Springs, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We have stayed at both the cabin's and the villa's, so beautiful at both. Very family friendly and a very comfortable atmosphere!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleTiptonlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Our stay at Cedar Lodge was wonderful. We walked in and got a king suite right away. We had the luxury of having a whirpool right next to our bed, gas fireplace, sink, fridge, two T.V.s and a great view of the river with our own balcony. I can't wait to come back again! I would tell any of my friends or family to stay here :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BGuttuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Chute, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2011

When we first drove up to the resort we were blown away by how nice it looked. We got a deal through expedia so we weren't sure what to expect. We were surprised at how peaceful it was being only a few miles from downtown Wi Dells.

We were greeted by 2 employees when we checked in, and they were very friendly. They offered us a coupon book and gave us a couple suggestions of things to do in the area. They also let us know if we wanted to check out later than 10am, it was no big deal and to just give them a call.

When we walked into Unit 15, we were blown away by the view of the Wisconsin River. The units had a deck that faced the river, which was big enough for a small picnic table to be out there plus a few chairs. Even though it was about 32 degrees out, there were boats out and the water was open despite some of the ice chunks floating down stream (which was neat to see!). Our room had 2 queen beds, a decent sized flat screen TV, DVD player and surprisingly a full size dining table that seated 4-6 people comfortably. The bedding was rustic themed and we loved all the pillows on the bed, it made it feel like home. The bed frames were log-style which added to the rustic feel. Our unit was also amazingly quiet, we didn't hear anyone else in the building. We didn't spend time outside but the river's edge was sandy which would be great for the summer. They also had a couple fire pits which we read they have nightly bonfires during the peak season. There was also a swing set, outdoor swimming pool, large sun deck, and piers and docks on the property. The grounds were very clean and well-kept. There was WiFi available i the unit.

The only thing we were slightly disappointed with was the mattresses on the bed. They were very springy and didn't feel like they had much cushion to them, but considering the units are privately-owned there isn't much the rental company could do about it. These units are privately-owned condos that a rental company rents out when the owners aren't using them, so the furnishings in the rooms are owned by the owners which makes each unit unique. Some of the owners may only come a couple times a year, so the last thing they feel like doing is spending $1200 + on new mattresses they hardly use.

All in all we were VERY pleased with Cedar Lodge, and we plan to go back again in the fall.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JStohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We just spent the Weekend at Cedar Lodge & Settlement. The accomadtions were outstanding. The views of the Wisconsin River were awesome. Loved the location nice quite and very scenic. Only a couple minutes from the Dells. Cant wait to go back. The office staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kruggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

My girlfriend and I were looking to plan a last minute Romantic getaway from Chicago. We stumbled across this Cabin Lodge online and were very very pleasantly surprised. We went in March -- offseason -- and got the Cabin at a great deal -- only $200! We stayed in the white log cabin which I recommend because it looks unique. The Cabin looks brand new and was very very clean. The location is very close to the Dells strip and nearby shopping. The deep jacuzzi was also very nice even though we didn't get a chance to enjoy it until just before leaving. The Lodge is also right on the Wisconsin River which provides for a nice romantic walk. Stay here and you will love it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artistdisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delavan, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2011

The room was very clean and the bed was better than my own. Staff very friendly. The entire property was well kept.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivecardqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
2.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#23 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
2.3 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#12 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
5.1 mi away
Christmas Mountain Village
Christmas Mountain Village
#28 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge & Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge & Settlement

Property: Cedar Lodge & Settlement
Address: E11232 Hillside Dr, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Lodge & Settlement 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Wisconsin River on the Lower Dells. Close to attractions, yet quiet and secluded. Relax and unwind in the summer with nightly bonfires along 400 ft. of sandy beach. Admire the Bald Eagles in the winter. Beautiful, clean riverview log units and friendly staff invite you and your family to make memories that will last a lifetime. Free water park passes included year round for every registered guest. Discount book and splash pass included with every reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Cedar Lodge & Settlement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Lodge And Settlement
Cedar Lodge & Settlement Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Hotel Settlement

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing