We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, cozy, and VERY clean!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewed March 15, 2010

What a great hotel!!! I can't say enough about how clean the rooms, lobby, and pool area was...SUPERB! The staff were so friendly and helpful. We loved every minute of that hotel because it felt like our second home. We are definitely returning soon!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoOutdoorsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 318 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2010

We have been going to this hotel on a regular basis to celebrate Christmas with my children and grandchildren. With all the "Super large " waterpark hotels in the near vicinity, our choice and my granchildren's choice has been the Alakai. There are two pools indoor for the very young and adult, with usual amenities (hot tub, sauna, etc.). Rooms are well maintained, spotless, and guests are treated as family.

In an area where these mega waterparks are charging sometimes hundreds of dollars per night, the Alakai is the best value at a fraction of the price. We also enjoy running away from home a couple of other times during the year with friends as a get-away.

If you are looking for a great stay, friendly atmosphere, great location to other attractions, and priced for every income, give the Alakai Hotel in Wisconsin Dells / Lake Delton area a try!

Sincerely,

Brian Bradley
Oshkosh, WI

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlieOshkosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Family owned hotel, great service, very friendly. Nice pool area for younger children and adults. Relaxing being away from the big water parks. Rooms and entire hotel are very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penguingolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

The Alakai is a great hotel to stay at in the Dells. The rooms are exceptioally clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great for the things we enjoy doing. We've stayed at other places in the past but the Alakai by far offers the best value, cleanest rooms, and friendliest staff.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilmanLaCrescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I've stayed here twice now with my wife this summer and the service is excellent. This is by far the cleanest hotel we've stayed at in the dells. The hotel is comfortable and we've always felt welcome there. You have to go there to appreciate it. Love it, and will come back shortly after Labor Day!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerriFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We thought it was priced ok, because of the Mount Oympic passes, Placed looked alright,well kept, clean, I got up in the early in the morning to use the bathroom and their it was a Cock Roach, I killed it, told the front desk they didnt seem that worried so i woke everyone up, we shook all are clothes out and left.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LampFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We (husband, wife, 9 and 6 year old daughters) planned a last minute getaway to the Wisconsin Dells and decided on this hotel because they were offering a Mt. Olympus Theme and Waterpark package at the time of our stay. The tickets to Mt. Olympus alone would have been more than our hotel room for our family. I was a little concerned after seeing some of the pictures on the Internet that the rooms would be worn and dated, but they were not. The room and the common areas of the hotel were very clean and well maintained. While the hotel is certainly not a brand new mega-resort, it is a very clean and very well maintained hotel. A few things lacking in the rooms which people have come to expect are a coffee maker (coffee is available in the lobby in the morning), hair dryer and iron/ironing board. The indoor and outdoor pool areas were very clean and the chairs were comfortable, however, you do need to bring your own beach towels. This hotel does not have a large waterpark like many of the resorts in the area, but the indoor and outdoor pool areas do each have a few small/medium size slides -- the kids enjoyed them and I especially enjoyed that I was able to sit in one spot and see them the entire time -- the family was able to get their "fix" of large waterslides and rides at Mt. Olympus and relax in the evening when we came back to the hotel. There are some restaurants (local and chain) and shops (local and an outlet mall) within walking distance of the hotel, but you do have a short drive to get to the downtown/tourist area. We ate at a few local restaurants during our stay and I would recommend any of them (The Brat House, Monk's, Buffalo Phil's, Paul Bunyan's). The only place we ate that I would not recommend was the Pizza Pub -- it wasn't terrible, but there are surely better options. We also took a Dells Boat Tour of the Upper Dells -- we would highly recommend this. The only other comment I would make, based on some of the other comments was that all of the staff we encountered at the hotel was very friendly. The same lady was at the front desk our entire visit and she always greeted us with kind words and a smile, even when we were just passing by.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family4travelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.8 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#28 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
963 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#3 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
982 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
719 reviews
1.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#59 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
647 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#29 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alakai Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alakai Hotel and Suites

Address: 1030 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9757
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $84 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alakai Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alakai Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alakai Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing