We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin
1 review
“Great Family Experience”
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Family owned hotel, great service, very friendly. Nice pool area for younger children and adults. Relaxing being away from the big water parks. Rooms and entire hotel are very clean.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguingolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    69
    21
    14
    31
See reviews for
153
43
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LaCrescent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2009

The Alakai is a great hotel to stay at in the Dells. The rooms are exceptioally clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great for the things we enjoy doing. We've stayed at other places in the past but the Alakai by far offers the best value, cleanest rooms, and friendliest staff.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilmanLaCrescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I've stayed here twice now with my wife this summer and the service is excellent. This is by far the cleanest hotel we've stayed at in the dells. The hotel is comfortable and we've always felt welcome there. You have to go there to appreciate it. Love it, and will come back shortly after Labor Day!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VerriFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We thought it was priced ok, because of the Mount Oympic passes, Placed looked alright,well kept, clean, I got up in the early in the morning to use the bathroom and their it was a Cock Roach, I killed it, told the front desk they didnt seem that worried so i woke everyone up, we shook all are clothes out and left.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LampFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We (husband, wife, 9 and 6 year old daughters) planned a last minute getaway to the Wisconsin Dells and decided on this hotel because they were offering a Mt. Olympus Theme and Waterpark package at the time of our stay. The tickets to Mt. Olympus alone would have been more than our hotel room for our family. I was a little concerned after seeing some of the pictures on the Internet that the rooms would be worn and dated, but they were not. The room and the common areas of the hotel were very clean and well maintained. While the hotel is certainly not a brand new mega-resort, it is a very clean and very well maintained hotel. A few things lacking in the rooms which people have come to expect are a coffee maker (coffee is available in the lobby in the morning), hair dryer and iron/ironing board. The indoor and outdoor pool areas were very clean and the chairs were comfortable, however, you do need to bring your own beach towels. This hotel does not have a large waterpark like many of the resorts in the area, but the indoor and outdoor pool areas do each have a few small/medium size slides -- the kids enjoyed them and I especially enjoyed that I was able to sit in one spot and see them the entire time -- the family was able to get their "fix" of large waterslides and rides at Mt. Olympus and relax in the evening when we came back to the hotel. There are some restaurants (local and chain) and shops (local and an outlet mall) within walking distance of the hotel, but you do have a short drive to get to the downtown/tourist area. We ate at a few local restaurants during our stay and I would recommend any of them (The Brat House, Monk's, Buffalo Phil's, Paul Bunyan's). The only place we ate that I would not recommend was the Pizza Pub -- it wasn't terrible, but there are surely better options. We also took a Dells Boat Tour of the Upper Dells -- we would highly recommend this. The only other comment I would make, based on some of the other comments was that all of the staff we encountered at the hotel was very friendly. The same lady was at the front desk our entire visit and she always greeted us with kind words and a smile, even when we were just passing by.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family4travelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2009

This hotel was wonderful. Nothing was bad about it. I went with two children: a 16 year old and a 14 year old and they had an excellent time as well as I. The hotel was clean, the pools were fun, and the service was great! The people at the front desk were very nice and inviting. The place was just wonderful and we are going back next year! The staff saw that my daughter was in the pool, and turned on the sprinklers for her. Everything was just wonderful. It's great for all ages!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlippyHippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

My Wife, two young children and I stayed at the Alakai first week of Jun '09. It was a very clean hotel and room. The price was an excellent value as it provided each of us a full days pass to Mt. Olympus on everday of our stay including both arrival and check out days. Alexandria (owner) was very accomodating with passes before our check in so we could jump right in to the activities.
As far as service and front desk attitudes, it doesnt hurt to suck up a little... If you have a problem here, look in the mirror.
The owners stay on site and this is a home to them, we acted accoringly and were treated kindly with the hospitality and friendly, proffesional service. The owner even makes a point to walk accross the parking lot to have a cigarette break. If you are price savy and want a safe, clean, family friendly environment, this place is for you. It is close to Knuckleheads, Khalahari, movie thesaater, outlet mall and a ton of other conveniences.
One thing I recomend is making a stop at the grocery store and stocking the room fridge with snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikePsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#17 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
920 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#22 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#32 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
472 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
858 reviews
1.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alakai Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alakai Hotel and Suites

Property: Alakai Hotel and Suites
Address: 1030 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9757
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alakai Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alakai Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alakai Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing