We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway for the little ones”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewed March 26, 2009

The hotel was close to everything which was nice. It wasn't a big fancy hotel (which helps keep the costs down), but with a 1 and a 3 year old, the pool area was fabulous! The girls loved it, and we had fun playing with them! Right on their website they tell you to bring your own beach towels (for the pool)- they do supply bathroom towels. There is no continental breakfast, but Dennys and McDonalds are two or three doors down. We went to getaway- didn't plan on going anywhere else, just to the kiddie pool at the hotel. They did bring us an extra blanket at night.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megeorge02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 323 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2009

This is the hidden gem among all the Wisconsin Dells Hotels. A medium sized resort that is family owned, and cared for with attention to every detail. The rooms are immaculately kept, the pool pristinely clean, and the indoor mini water park for the kids welcomes the whole family to partake with them. The hotel also has a hot and inviting hot tub that is suitable for 10, and a dry sauna perfect to relax and dry off after a heated indoor, or outdoor pool swim. Yes the hotel has both! You can expect personal service with a smile, that is rare in today's oceans filled of cold impersonal chain hotels. The location, just 5 minutes drive to ALL the action, yet located at walking distance to Kalahari Water Park, Dessert Star Theater, Tangiers Prime Outlet, The new indoor amusement park and eateries such as McDonald's Burger King, Culver's Denny's, Chicago’s Pizzeria Uno and for those steak lovers Ponderosa is the best I visited in all the other Ponderosas throughout the U.S. Down the street and around the corner, you can find nightlife in the tropical island styles of Marley's and traditional island cuisine that takes you back to Jamaica Man! Try the 1 mile high wings, the Coconut Shrimp, the delectable crab cakes and then stay for the live music and DJ dancing. This hotel is great for the romantic get-a-ways as we had during Valentine's day visit, or a family fun adventure. Rooms range from the economy double queen to the amazingly romantic, fireplace, double jaccuzzi suites, and family suites to for when you take the whole clan. There is a room to suit just about everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dynomic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

The lady at the front desk was extremely arrogant. You cannot relax here because you feel like you are always being watched. The bathrooms are tiny. The rooms have no coffee makers. The continental breakfast is a joke. They refuse to hand out towels at the front desk for the pool area. The walls are paper thin. The lady at the front desk needs to learn how to treat her customers better or she won't have any. I would not recommend this place. Do yourself a favor and go stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catlady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

The family and I just wanted to take a little winter weekend vacation on our tight budget. Alakai Hotel was the perfect place! Was recommended by one of our neighbors who visits Wisconsin Dells often. Great room, excellent pool area for our 2 small kids, and a very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank doggy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2008

Great service
Friendly staff
Exceptionally clean
Ideal location
Wonderful for spot for children
Great place for a getaway any time of the year with family, friends or business associates.

Have stayed there numerous times over many years, never disappointed.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank dragonflyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

This hotel was horrible. I felt like the employees were spying on me. The tv was tiny it was the size of a penny. The walls were REALLY thin so you can hear right through them. when the maid service was in the hall you could hear ever word she was saying. It smells musky, and its not so clean. The first day we got here there was a spider on the bed. I tried washing my clothes and the soap was out. Tje pool was not very big, niether was the bath room you have to squeeze into it. It was not very fun i wouldnt rec. it o anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ilovehunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Was doing 2 days at Mt. Olympus, so wanted to stay at a hotel with the Mt. Olympus discount. Checked out TripAdvior reviews on several and this hotel had no bad reviews. Hotel was fairly new and rooms were nice and clean and had a fridge, Didn't use the indoor or outdoor pools but both were about medium size and looked very nice. Both pools had two very small water slides. If you're going to some of the larger water parks or attractions and are looking for a clean place to stay, I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msnracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.6 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
973 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
3.2 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#20 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#25 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alakai Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alakai Hotel and Suites

Address: 1030 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9757
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $79 - $1,128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alakai Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Alakai Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alakai Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing