We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice play to stay to get away from crowds of downtown.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alakai Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice play to stay to get away from crowds of downtown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. It's located off the beaten path somewhat and it was nice. Beds were ok. The comforter and mattress had stains on it. I wish they would double pillowcase the pillows since I could see the older looking pillow sticking out the one side of my pillow. TV and microwave were a bit outdated. Bathroom and shower very clean. Overall nice place to stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZ_432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    47
    14
    11
    24
See reviews for
111
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel is nice and clean at a good price. It is fine for couples and those with small children.
However, if you have children that get the least bit rowdy this is not a good place to stay. The owners work very hard but they have very little tolerance for children between the ages of about 8 to 18. I do not recommend staying here with a group of children unless you do not plan to use the pool area, inside or out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberrose07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Hotel Alakai Aug. 3-4 and we both enjoyed it very much. The lobby was inviting. The Front Desk Agent was polite. The room we had was with a king bed on the first floor. It was pleasant and housekeeping does a great job:) The indoor pool and jacuzzi were nice. We wanted to go in the outdoor pool but it closed at 10pm. The only thing that I wish was included is continental breakfast. I really recommend this hotel for either couples (they do have jacuzzi rooms available) or families. Out of many hotels/motels to pick from in Wisconsin Dells, this one is definitely our choice.

Room Tip: We had a room towards the back corner of the hotel which gives you a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

First off, the price was great for what we were looking for. The best part of our stay was at the time they were giving away free Mt. Olympus tickets every day for every person staying. With 5 people in our party we saved tons of money. Very clean rooms and great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meskss144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I brought my entire 10 year old baseball team here to stay 2-nights for a big Dells Baseball Tournament. Oh my God was this hotel a big mistake to stay at. The owner and her husband are insane and I am being kind. If you have kids do not stay here! She will get nasty and rude with anyone. She called the police on all of us for standing outside at night when we were all being very nice and respectful. The police officer who came even said to us "This woman is crazy so just put your drinks away and I will drive off"
The next night all our kids were swimming in the pool when she came and checked all the coolers (without even asking) and kicked us all out right at 10pm. Don't stay here people! I would rather sleep in my car for two nights then deal with the owner. She is a piece of work!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My family and I stayed 2 nights at Alakai and we really enjoyed the stay. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. The rooms were a decent paid and the pools were clean. My fiance was in a wheelchair from a broken ankle and the check in staff member gave us a handicap room without addition charge and without us asking. I would diff recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Holland, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Me and my family are used to taking trips and have stayed in plenty of hotels. We booked 5 rooms at Alakai to accommodate us in both quantity and price. The service was exquisite, the owner was a delight, and when/if i return to Wisconsin Dells - she WILL receive my service. The rooms were nice and clean, the maids we helpful, and the location of the hotel is perfect. Most attractions were 10-15 minutes away and the hotel offers HUNDREDS of coupons just for staying with them. There is an indoor pool for adults, a hot tub, and a children's pool(that actually helped my soon to feel comfortable with water). There is also an outdoor pool with 2 slides and a basketball hoop. Parking is ample, and safe. You can walk to several restaurants i.e. Famous Dave's, Taco Bell, and McDonalds. Call ahead and just speak with the owner, she is very nice and very respectful. Overall... this hotel service has really assured me that there are nice people and places everywhere you go.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor if you are concerned about noise from people above you. If you expec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LorenzoM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.5 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
3.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#23 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#5 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 877 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#9 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#16 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alakai Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alakai Hotel and Suites

Property: Alakai Hotel and Suites
Address: 1030 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9757
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alakai Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alakai Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alakai Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing