We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Its in the main part of town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Motel

Gables Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gables Motel
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
West Allis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Its in the main part of town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

I stayed their for two nights-relaxing. Got to walk not only the strip but the streets by the library and food store bakery and visitor center to get the real untourist feel of the town. Theirs a Amtract station near by too. The manager doesnt really want guests who want to loiter around the hotel unnessarily all day. So theirs shuttle buses one block away that will take you to the Lower Dells jet boats and original ducks and one water park within walking distance. Also shuttle to Log cabin McDonalds and taco bell with sandstone cliffs behind it. From the hotel you can walk to Upper Dells jet boats and Upper Dells boat tour where the standing rock is located where the dog jumps the cliffs. My bed sheets were clean and the ice was free cause my quarter was still in the slot the next morning when I reloaded. Theirs also a shuttle to Ho chunk casino. If you feel you have diablities walking take the shuttle and do the Lower Dells stuff cause the Upper Dells boats you have to walk down many steps.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peacet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    5
    6
    7
See reviews for
15
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Although this is definitely an older property, the rooms are very clean (I'm pretty picky about cleanliness) and the grounds are very well kept, they definitely take pride in keeping it all in good shape. I didn't use the pool but it looked very well cared for. The staff was friendly and the downtown location is great for walking to lots of attractions and bars/restaurants.

The biggest downside was definitely the noise. The door on my room did not seal well so, even though I had hoped to sleep until at least 8:30am, I heard everyone's conversation as they walked by the room starting at 5:30am and had trouble staying asleep after that. The floor creaked for the room above me so I was hearing every step they took as they were leaving.

I'd say this is a nice place but I did not sleep well because of the noise. If you do stay there, try to get an upper-level room far from the front office. The price was okay but I probably could have gotten a better rest for the same price elsewhere in downtown.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigfitz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Gables Motel for a few nights and absolutely enjoyed our stay. This place is very very clean and the location is perfect . The owners of the establishment are wonderful. During the day we went to the waterparks and in the evening hours we enjoyed strolling thru the downtown area.

  • Liked — location, cleaniness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rybka26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

I loved it, The best pool in the Dells for just lounging around! Walking distance to all the shops, and bars. (so you don't need to drive) The rooms are clean and priced around $60. The rooms are in line for that rate. If you wan't to spend $299 a night for a room try one next to a water park! Will be back to The Gables!

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Disliked — small tv
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DBQMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

We were heading South to go home from a vacation and decided to stop in the Dells for a night. We normally stay at hotels, but decided that this motel looked extremely clean and it was very inexpensive. The rooms were spacious and had what we needed and the bathrooms, along with the rooms, were very clean ~ very important! The hospitality is excellent and the owners are very friendly. My daughter left a stuffed puppy at the motel and the owners sent it out for her! I will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — the price and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbuzzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

All I can say is you should stay elsewhere. The sheets on the bed were dirty and I can not explain in words how disgusting the bathroom was. Checked out early and never looked back...

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The beds and bathroom
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim_in_Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoovenator77
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

WE stayed here last summer 1 block off the strip so its walking distance to everything, but yet still quiet for sleep. Rooms were very clean and the people very nice. Will stay there again over the 4th when we go back.

  • Liked — Walking distance to the strip
  • Disliked — no cont. breakfast.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hoovenator77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#55 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#34 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#38 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Road Motel
River Road Motel
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Indian Trail Motel
Indian Trail Motel
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
3.4 mi away
Day's End Motel
Day's End Motel
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motel

Property: Gables Motel
Address: 822 Oak St, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1417
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gables Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Gables Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Motel Wisconsin Dells
Gables Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing