We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Motel

Gables Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gables Motel
Ranked #44 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The owners are friendly and care about their property. I usually don't write reviews but the owners are so nice I felt the need. No this place isn't the Hilton but it is clean and they take care of their property and cheaper then Hilton! I found my go to motel when going to the dells now. I like how close they are to the downtown attractions. they don't have a mini fridge so bring a cooler is my recommendation

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mskor68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Racine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We reserved 10 rooms a year ago, when we checked in, rooms were spread out throughout whole hotel, would have been nice to be all together. TV was at least 20 yrs old, no blow dryer, no clock/alarm, no refrigerator. They charge $.25 for ice and then yell at you if you take more than a small amount because there is not enough for another guests. Had to buy a cooler, a blow dryer and ice for our 4 day stay. Shower water temp wouldn't stay temp, either freezing or hot, fan in bathroom didn't work. Carpet was DISGUSTING walked on it after shower for 10mins and my feet were BLACK! We used a couple towels to lay over our Harley seat while it rained and the owner yelled at us, could have just asked us not to use it. They wouldn't give us extra towels for the pool, we had to switch out for new ones. Owner stated that they don't make upgrades because that cost comes out of their pocket. Maybe they shouldn't own a business then. Overall a terrible experience and our group will not be coming back again next year. For the price we can easily something better.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CandC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterset, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I've stayed here I think 3 times in the last 6 or so years. The place is very consistent and predictable (in a good way) It is probably one of the older motels in the Dells but everything works and the owner's are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DefinitelynotDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have stayed multiple times at this quaint motel that is close to downtown Wisconsin Dells. We have always been pleased and have found our stays totally satisfying. The rooms are always clean and the owners totally focused on satisfying your every need. Recommend highly if you are looking for reasonably priced motel that you will not be unsatisfied with your stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were over priced for what they are at $90 a Mondayvv night. Old carpet, old tv, old everything. Manager actually cleaned poolwhile we were in it and asked us why it was so dirty and tried to say we were swimming in lake and that's why it was dirty. Ten am check out is too early for $90. It was my daughters tenth b day and she woke up wanting to swim, but no one uncovered it from the Night before so there was no swimming in the morning. Just over all not good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights during the week. The room was was a bit dated, but clean and the air conditioning worked very well. The owners were very attentive, and gave use suggestions for places to eat. They also gave us a "passport" book that saved us about $75 in total on the attractions we did. We were able to walk to our dinner cruise and the jet boat tours from the room. Woud definitely suggest this motel if you are looking for a simple and reasonably priced place to stay that is close to the action.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a lovely motel off of Broadway. We own a family business and appreciate independently owned and operated establishments, you can see the pride here. Very clean, convenient, away from all the noise....just perfect! Will return when the next opportunity arrives.

Room Tip: Ideal layout of all rooms, cozy and quaint, reminded me of Door County.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeValueOurGuests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#38 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Road Motel
River Road Motel
#35 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Indian Trail Motel
Indian Trail Motel
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Rose Inns
White Rose Inns
#2 of 16 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trail's End Motel
Trail's End Motel
#48 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
3.1 mi away
Summer Breeze Resort
Summer Breeze Resort
#5 of 16 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motel

Property: Gables Motel
Address: 822 Oak St, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1417
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gables Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Gables Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Motel Wisconsin Dells
Gables Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing