We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, Hotel Not So Great” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gables Motel

Gables Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gables Motel
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, Hotel Not So Great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We looked for a place close to downtown for easy parking and walking around. It is that. We were also assured by the AAA sign. The owners were also very nice and check in was easy. Unfortunately, the hotel lacks many amenities that I would normally expect--such as shampoo, hair dryer, etc. The TV was about 14 inches--I thought it was a computer monitor at first. It was not connected to the digital cable channels since it was apparently a new unit. The beds were not comfortable. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    5
    6
    8
See reviews for
15
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our family stays at Gables twice a year. With our kid`s and grandkids in June and again in September for the Wo-Zha-Wa Days celebration. Gables is only 1 block from downtown so we park our cars and walk .Glen and Helen are your hosts and you could`nt ask for nicer and more accommodating people, plus the rooms are very clean also!! We highly recommend Gables Motel for your next trip to Wiscosin Dells!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 48mimi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I liked staying there but not on a weekend cause alot of young people go to motels on weekends to party loudly at the motel. Thats all they do is party at the motel too. I was on a pleasure tour of wisconsin dells seeing the wisconsin ducks boats and doing other stuff like jet boating but when I retired for the night it got loud with alot of shouting. We told management that their was a party with alot of friends who were not staying at motel. They tryed to calm things down but I wish i was refunded for that one saturday night when I got no sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a room thats as close to the managers office cause it probadly woluld not be so loud their fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peacet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is not fancy, but it is a comfortable and clean place to stay. It is cheap (by comparison), has an outdoor pool and is right downtown so you can walk to the shopping, restaurants and bars. I love it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in the off-season, and had a nice experience. Owners were very nice, the rooms were clean, and beds comfortable. We stayed in October for a Badger Football game. It was worth the drive to Madtown instead of paying 4 times for a Hotelin madtown. The motel was in the heart of Downtown Dells close to the bars & restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uwlbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here on a two night romantic getaway. It's a nice little motel in downtown Dells. Right in the middle of downtown, plenty of bars, food and things to do are close by. Price is fantastic. Owners were helpfull with any questions and rooms were clean and quaint. It isn't an upscale hotel by any means, but if your hotel isn't your "destination", this is perfect. We were able to walk to bars and up and down the strip very easily.

Only con on sleep quality was the same as with alot of places: Complete blackout curtains for sleeping is a must!! Not just at night but for those lazy midday naps. Otherwise we had a great time and we'll stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenosha2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

What is there not to like about this old school motel situated right in the heart of the Dells. Accommodations are basic but appear to be somewhat updated and rooms are impeccably clean. They have a large outdoor pool and free morning coffee. The owners are very friendly and I believe they live on the property as they were very attentive at all hours. Only little oddity was you pay for ice in the office; a quarter for a bucket. I guess it is a way to be sure guests don’t fill their coolers? We stayed here a few years ago for the Wo Zha Wa Festival and did the same again this year, so obviously a place we would return to in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_Chi_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#54 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#30 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#39 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Road Motel
River Road Motel
#35 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Indian Trail Motel
Indian Trail Motel
#4 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trail's End Motel
Trail's End Motel
#47 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motel

Property: Gables Motel
Address: 822 Oak St, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1417
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gables Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gables Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Motel Wisconsin Dells
Gables Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing