We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice little Motel downtown Dells” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Motel

Gables Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gables Motel
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Ripon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice little Motel downtown Dells”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed here for one night in June. The motel is older but very clean and well maintained. Less than one block from downtown. Pool was clean and warm. Helpful staff. Was a little noisy at night but I think you are going to find that with any Motel where you have people parking and walking right outside your door.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiponELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    5
    6
    7
See reviews for
15
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tigerton, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Was a very nice motel so close to shopping and restaurants! We stayed with our 2 young boys and they had so much fun! The weather really did not cooperate with us for swimming, but we still tried (heated pool), and the kids loved it! The friendliness and service was outstanding also! Made you feel right at home. We will defiantly stay there again when we get to go back to the dells! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnagraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The Gables is in a great location. Right in the heart of downtown Wisconsin Dells. It's walking distance to some good restaurants and bars. The pool at the Gables is great, very clean and they plant a ton of flowers in the summer time so it looks really pretty. The rooms are very simple so if you are expecting something upscale this is not the place for you. We stopped in the Dells on a motorcycle trip so it was a perfect place to drop our stuff off and go. The rooms are very clean but the beds are firm which was a strain on my back. I would stop by again for a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagogirl537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

This is an older motel property in the heart of downtown Wisconsin Dells. Very clean rooms and the motel is kept up very well. It has a nice, heated pool that was never too crowded. The mattresses were not the most comfortable (plastic covered, and no fitted bottom sheet) and the TV was tiny, but that is honestly the only negatives I can say about this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EziliGede23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I liked:
1) The location was great. Within walking distance of everything downtown making barhopping a breeze but not too far to drive to do things on the strip all day.
2) The pool was virtually empty. There were only a few adults out there each day we stayed which is great when you don't feel like dealing with a pool full of screaming kids.
3) The rooms were clean and comfortable. We paid $230.81 for 3 nights. Good deal.

My only dislikes:
1) Our neighbors who came on the last day were loud and thought sitting on the stoop with their door propped open was a cool thing to do.
2) No clock or hairdryer in the room which is definately not a deal breaker but was kind of unhandy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

This motel is a great location. Walk a few steps and you are downtown Wisconsin Dells. The rooms are clean but definately motel like with small t.v. and doors that open to the outside. But the price is great and the location is everything. If you want a fun night out and no cab fare this is the place to saty.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzakrzewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

What a nice little motel. Well kept and staff was very friendly. We had boom a room for 2 nights and were sad to leave for our next hotel. The pool was amazing - heated to a perfect 84 degrees. The pool side was just as nice - lots of chairs and tables. Room was a little older but clean and well maintained. The manager (I think his name was Frank) was very friendly and eagerly gave us discounts to local attractions. It was also a great location being one block off of the main drag - close enough to walk to bars/restaurants and far enough to keep people and traffic to a minimum. Definately booking for next year's trip!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heids418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#55 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#34 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#38 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Road Motel
River Road Motel
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Indian Trail Motel
Indian Trail Motel
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
3.4 mi away
Day's End Motel
Day's End Motel
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motel

Property: Gables Motel
Address: 822 Oak St, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1417
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gables Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Gables Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Motel Wisconsin Dells
Gables Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing