We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Via Tripadvisor booked this hotel for our trip months in advance and got a great rate. This motel is excellent value as the key to any hotel is a good sleep and the beds were awesome. Bathroom nicely renovated too. Brad was friendly remembered my name which is pretty good when he has 80 plus units being used. Pool was great as weather was warm and as others have said coupons saved us several dollars. Great value, my daughter and I very much enjoyed our stay and visit to the Dells.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aveanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for your review and posting a photo! We hope to accommodate you and your family again in the near future, be sure and me (Brad) on all the money savings coupons in the area.
Thanks again and have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    243
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
844
392
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

My father-in-law and husband have continued to go the Dells for several, several years. Every year they stay at the Blackhawk. For the past eight years I have been able to be part of their trips to the Dells.

The Blackhawk is amazing for a small family-owned and operated motel. They are so kind and the staff works diligently to make sure everything is perfect. From the cleaning crew to even the maintenance staff that will work on anything ASAP to make sure your stay is the best.

We will never stay anywhere else when we visit the Dells.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siracusa0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Andrea, Thank you for telling others about your stays with us! We are glad that you married into Jason, John's and your late uncle....Smoking Joe's tradition. It's always a pleasure to serve you and your family each summer and we look forward to doing the same this August. We'll have your regular rooms ready for you!
Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here!. We were impressed by the clean rooms and great service! We are planning another trip and will be booking our rooms here! Great high pressured shower head too! Lol
The value of our stay was also good.
Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank partieswithcrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thanks for posting your review as we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We were asked so many times...."where did you get that showerhead", that we starting offering our guests the chance to purchase them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

It was easy to reserve a room, easy to check in and out, and definitely easy to spend 3 nights at such a wonderful place. The perks that the motel gives you in coupons pretty much pays for one night if not two. When you stay here you truly realize why family owned and operated lodging is the way to go. They want your stay to be perfect as possible and it certainly was for us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newagesmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Thank you for your review! This year we are offering another great savings with a improved 2011 Dells Fun Card with each room reserved, use it just one time on the Upper Dells Boat tours and save $23! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Found this wonderful place to stay with my family and parents had separate rooms different rates but equal quality. what can I say it was perfect spotless, confortable beds, lovely pillows I did not miss my bed at all. no smoke ordor, quiet a few blocks from the downtown area. my sister and her family stayed there also the following week and there are some friends that are going the 3 week of Aug, and they to will be staying at the black hawk. THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR SERVICE AND THANK THE HOUSE KEEPING DEP FOR WORKING SO HARD TO KEEP EVERYTHING SO NICE AND CLEAN. THIS WILL BE OUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME EVERY TIME WE VISIT THE DELLS

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PUCHI2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review pertaining to your stay with us. I have passed on your kind words to our housekeeping staff, and I can speak for them that they sincerely appreciate your comments. We hope to see you again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

This is the only place we will stay in the Dells. Super clean rooms, super friendly service and great location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmitchell226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you this summer! This year...each room reserved receives a Free Dells Fun Card. This is a great savings card on buy one, get one free on area attractions and restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

We just returned from several days at the Dells where we stayed at the Black Hawk Motel. We have never been to the Dells and did a lot of research about where to stay as we can be pretty particular. We didn't want to stay in a loud and overcrowded large hotel, so we researched all of the smaller hotels a ton. We have two little boys who don't like to be cooped up into a typical small hotel room, so we wanted space for them to be able to run around and be loud while we were in the hotel. We found the Black Hawk through Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try. I am so glad that we did! We reserved the jacuzzi room (number 68), which was a stand alone cottage/cabin that had three queen beds, two in a separate room and one in the main living space. It had a small refrigerator and a microwave which we used to store things for breakfast and sandwiches for lunches.

The room was incredibly clean, probably the cleanest hotel room I've ever been in. Matter of fact, we stayed at a Best Western in Madison, WI for the US Transplant Games before we traveled on to the Black Hawk in the Dells and the Best Western was incredibly dirty when compared to the Black Hawk. My boys were able to jump around and be louder than they would in a typical hotel room that is attached to another. My only complaint about this room was that the bed my husband and I slept in was incredibly uncomfortable. It was the bed in the main living area and we simply could not get comfortable on it. We did not tell management this, because we didn't want to seem petty and honestly didn't think there could be anything that could change it, plus, it may have just been us that had an issue with the bed....our boys said their beds in the separate bedroom were very comfy. I know that if we had shared this with management, they would have looked into it...we were greatly impressed with the people who run the place. They asked how our stay was, let us check in early to our room. You can tell they take great pride in the Black Hawk, as well they should.

The hotel has two pools, an indoor and an outdoor and my boys loved those pools as much as they loved the waterparks we visited. Everything was clean and updated. We really had a great time and plan on returning to the Dells, and of course, the Black Hawk. It was quiet, big enough for our active family, helpful staff and very clean. I'm so glad we decided to stay here. I will recommend this to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkeyemomkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
2.0 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing