We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can not say enough good things about it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Ne
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can not say enough good things about it!”
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Fantastic place to stay while in the Dells- the owners are super nice-the place is so quiet and clean! Loved staying here! Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randeedandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    253
    43
    11
    2
See reviews for
914
405
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, NE
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Our family stayed in three rooms at the Black Hawk for three nights and we loved it. Not one room had any problems whatsoever. We found the management to be extremely nice and very helpful. I asked the manager to print some coupons off for me and he was more than happy to do it. The room I stayed in (2 queens poolside) was very spacious. My three kids were able to move around without us all feeling claustrophobic. We loved the indoor pool and outdoor pool. We were so busy in the Dells that we didn't really have time to enjoy the Black Hawk as much as we could have. The grounds were well manicured and everything felt clean. It was nice to be slightly off the beaten path. I enjoyed a little quiet after all day doing activities. We will be back as soon as we can. Thanks Black Hawk.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collectivetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Try it and you will love it! Good old-fashion hotel with great staff and clean rooms! Very quiet retreat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabbgesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We booked a room with Black Hawk Motel as it was rated #1 here on Tripadvisor and had great reviews. Pulling into the place, it looked rather old but we kept an open mind as we had seen the pictures prior to coming. After checking in, we went to our room (#17) and upon entering we were hit with a musty smell that was very strong! The rooms were outdated, however, they were clean. We decided to turn the air on high, drive around and come back to see if the smell had gotten any better. Upon returning, the smell was very strong still. I couldn't imagine bringing in our clothes for fear they would take on this smell, and both of us didn't want to have to smell this our entire vacation. We went back to the office and they refunded our money. We did end up finding a place to stay that also included a continental breakfast for about $10 more per night.

I will say one thing....the people in the office were very kind and apologized for the smell in the room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsyboo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Hi Betsyboo 13,
Our apologizes again for the discomfort in your room, when you first came into the office you asked for a different room and we were unable to accommodate you because we were booked for July 7th and nearly booked all week. I asked if the smell was stronger by the AC and stated that we have had experiences before where the insulation gets wet and causes a musty smell. Your husband agreed that the smell was a little stronger by the AC and that "maybe a drain line is clogged". We have addressed the problem and our housekeeping staff cleaned the room after you left and we rented the room again that same day and your room actually has been rented almost everyday since and we have had no other complaints.

Our reviews are from our guests only; we have never asked or encouraged anyone to write us a review. Some guests will tell us they are going to write us a review and we just let them know that we would appreciate that. "The rooms were outdated, however they were clean". We agree that your room is a bit out dated, but you were only in one room.

Thanks for making the refund process easy as we do not not want any guests staying here that are going to be unhappy. We hope you saved some money with the Free Dells Fun Card and enjoyed the Complimentary Par 3 Golf vouchers that I gave you for the inconvenience.

We are family owned and operated since 1945 and realize that it's impossible to satisfy everyone, although we try real hard. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, WI
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I stayed here with my wife and four year old boy back in May and it was fantastic. Lovingly maintained by its owners, this gem is a throw back to a different era when pool slides reigned supreme and you parked your car right outside your door. The room we stayed in wasn't fancy, but it was clean and equiped with useful features like a DVD player and a mini fridge. Both pools (inside and out) were clean and a lot of fun. Our four year old loved sliding down the slides and playing with the other kids. If you aren't looking for a waterpark or mega resort this is the place to be. Since the Black Hawk is located at the end of downtown it is quite and a world away from the congestion of the shops. Combine these features with a friendly staff and this is a place worth returning to again and again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sloomis31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lannon, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This was our 6th stay in 4 years at the Blackhawk; Brad and Tena are 3rd generation owners and make you feel like family immediately upon arrival. The rooms are immaculate, beds are ultra comfy and the rest of the ammenities are superb. The pools and hot tubs are always well maintained, grounds are clean (They sweep the darn parking lot every single day) and we have met some other great people during our stays there!

We are going back again in August with our family and September for a 3 day get away this year! Skip the waterparks and relive the Dells the way they were meant to be. Even if you want the waterpark, you can get discounts to area parks as a guest at the Blackhawk!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 95Zcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washburn, WI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I'll keep it simple. This place is the perfect place to stay while in the Dells. Retro, without trying to be retro (that's a good thing). My kids loved it! Friendly owners and very clean rooms. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bleino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
900 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
937 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
133 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#6 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing