We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay for a Great Price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay for a Great Price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

We booked a condo at Glacier Canyon Lodge at the Wilderness for three nights. On a whim we decided to leave one day early and find a place to stay for one night. So based on trip advisor reviews, we chose the Blackhawk. It did not disappoint! After driving from the Chicago area, we arrived at the Blackhawk at about 8 pm. Check in was easy and the owner's son was at the front desk. He was very nice. We had a double queen room right across from the pool. The room was huge by double room standards. It had a two comfortable brand new beds, a huge TV with DVD player, a microwave and mini-fridge ( that could hold a gallon of milk and a 12 pack of pop, among other things!) and a table and chairs, and a dresser of course.

The room was spotless! And I am very picky about hotel rooms and letting my 3 year old touch stuff, sleep in hotel beds and walk barefoot on hotel carpet, but this room was so clean! Big kudos to the cleaning staff.

This is an old hotel, in fact, once we were here I vaguely remembered staying here before with my parents as a kid. It's right down the street from the downtown strip. It's the old motel style set up with most of the rooms on the ground floor with your own parking space right outside your door. The decor is what's now called retro and some of the furniture, like the lamps and chairs are old but in fantastic shape! The air and heating unit was in the wall and looked pretty old. I was skeptical about it working but the room was toasty warm in no time. We had to turn it down.

The bathroom was very clean with no problems. They had these soap and shampoo/body wash dispensers on the wall above the sink and in the shower. We've never seen this before anywhere. What a great idea! That must eliminate a lot of waste by keeping those little bottles out of landfills. There was also eye makeup remover packets available on the sink. What a cool touch! I've never seen that even in fancy high priced hotels.

We slept great and actually felt sad to check out the next morning. They have an outdoor and indoor pool with little kids slides, kiddie wading pool and a hot tub. We didn't have time to use the indoor pool but it was open until 11 pm! The property also has a couple of small playgrounds. One of which they were laying new mulch or something in. The play equipment in that area looked pretty new.

They also have cottages for rent. We stopped to check these out and it looked like they were putting new appliances in and remodeling.

When we got to the condo at the wilderness, it was nice and pretty but we would have saved so much money had we spent our stay at the Blackhawk, and been just as comfortable! It was only $50 for the night and we got a Dells 2 for 1 Fun Card good for attractions and food. The card saved us over $30 and we only used it twice. That made our room really cheap though! We will definitely go back to the Blackhawk!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laristarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    243
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
844
392
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

Blackhawk has always been great to me ! The service is great, no problems here ! The staff we're eager to clean my room with no problem ! Been staying at Blackhawk for the past 4 years now and will continue to stay there ! Keep up the great work, the pleasure was well worth it !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank naugle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

I visited Blackhawk Motel For a few days in mid-May 2009, and stayed in a whirlpool room. I wasn't sure to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised. While not all rooms were completely up to date, they were very clean and well taken care of. My room happened to be recently remodeled, and they were in the process of updating several other rooms at the time. Id definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bry1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

We wanted a quick getaway and after looking on tripadvisor, we decided to give this motel a try. My husband likes to stay in chain hotels and was skeptical at first. As soon as we got in our room, he appologized for being so skeptical. The entire facility is very clean and well kept. The gentleman at check in was very friendly. The room was spotless, the bed was very comfortable and since I don't know how to pack light, we were very happy with parking right in front of the room. We had a king poolside and it was very large. We didn't need the air conditioner, but the heater worked great. We took advantage of the indoor pool and spa. It was very relaxing. There aren't any towels by the pool, so plan ahead. I had packed pool towels for us, so it was no big deal. The motel was not full when we were there, but the second night we did hear some music/noise. Just when I was going to call the front desk, it quited down. The ice maker was right next to our room so there was some noise from that, but nothing unbearable. We would definitely stay here again.

While in the area, we did both the Upper Dells boat tour and the Ducks tour. If you purchase both, there is a discount. I would highly reccomend both tours.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travling4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmbjs
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

Friendly and efficient service. Knowledgeable staff. The room was spotless. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nmbjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

Stayed at the BlackHawk Motel and it was very nice for the price. Close to downtown and a great indoor pool, which was a good thing since it rained all weekend.

Helpful?
1 Thank GymnasticMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

My family and neighbors come at least once a year for the last 23 years to the best place to stay with all the Black Hawk Motel has to offer... The prices are very good, plus the indoor-outdoor pools, hot tubs, outdoor grill,laundry/game room with pool table,outdoor play area for the kids is the Best deal in the DELLS... Not to mention the owners are always there for any ?'s or needs and are very friendly... And will be there in July again this year for our 24th year together...

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briandavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
2.0 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing