We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent time, great value”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife and 5 and 3 year olds spent 4 nights here this last weekend. I don't know how much more I can add than the other reviewers, but the place was clean and our hosts were very friendly. The pool was open late enough for the kids to get in a swim before bedtime.. I think I also liked the fact that we were on the edge of downtown and the traffic was much easier to navigate getting into and out of the motel. I think it must have been much easier than those who stayed down by any of the Mt. Olympus properties. The only downside for us was that the bathroom sink was too tall for the kids. We brought along a step stool but it still came up short :)
This is definitely a place to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lupu1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    247
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
854
398
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

First and most important question...would I come back with my family? YES. In fact we are likely to book the house they have and come back about the same time next year. But fellow TripAdvisors...let's settle down a bit on the reviews. It's not the Garden of Eden.

I don't have any complaints about the property, room, or service. All of them met (and mostly) exceeded expectations. The owners are to be commended for taking such great care of this place. So why not 5 stars? Because I'm a huge PIA and don't give 5 stars unless the place blows me away somehow by far exceeding my expectations.

Here are my only issues that other travelers need to consider (and NOT ONE of these are the fault of the owners or the property itself...just the hazards of a bargain motel):

People will check in and out all the time and you are all at ground/parking lot level. This means car doors, people walking around, car alarms, at any potential time of day/night right outside your window. Deal with it.

It's the Dells. Kids will be there. Kids are excited to arrive. Kids make noise when they arrive at the hotel due to this excitement. You may be able to hear those kids. Deal with it. (But when you get up the next morning to find out the TWO people that checked in at 3am and proceeded to sound like a herd of meth addicted Cape Buffalo...please feel free to be annoyed.)

If memory serves me, the motel opened in 1945. There was a slight moisture odor (primarily when the AC unit is running) in our room. Not a problem, but it's about expectations and people should know. The fact that there aren't other common "old motel" odors (cigarette smoke, sadness, broken dreams...etc) is a testament to the owners taking care of the place.

Anyway...it's a really great place to stay and a very reasonable price. The owners were nice and deserve the praise they receive. We will be back!

Room Tip: There is a section of rooms (rooms 60-65 I think) separate from the main "U" that seemed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gmflash88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2014

No need to shop around for a motel, if your staying at the Blackhawk you found your perfect vacation home away from home. Great staff and the owners are very friendly and most of all clean clean clean. Keep up the good work. See you again. Patty

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJBOYS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I hate to keep sharing reviews of this motel because each year it gets harder to find a room. We love it here. So clean, perfect setting and above all the service is TOP RATE! We have traveled to a lot of great places all over the world but are never as happy or as rested as we are when we stay with our family here. The Blackhawk is great for ages 4-90! Thanks again - see you next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJBOYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed two nights in room #47, the room was very spacious, clean and well appointed. We had a great time with family and friends at the pool which was very clean. Very close to all of the attractions that the Dells has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breck724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I almost don't want to give them 5 stars; I want to be able to book again next year! This was a great stay. Clean, family friendly,and the value allowed us to have money left over for other fun dells stuff. They are ranked number one for a reason. Do not hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guerrabug45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We decided to stay one more night at WI Dells after checking out of our hotel. We say their ad in a local magazine and it looked to inviting and family oriented. Fortunately they had a vacancy when I called. They were very helpful and friendly and even upgraded up our room before we arrived. There were five of us, 3 adults & 2 kids. The room they gave us was VERY CLEAN & COMFORTABLE. There was room to walk around and the little kitchenette area was nice. We were even able to use the table & chairs that you find in most hotels but you really can't get to because there isn't a lot of room. Outside of our room were lawn chairs and a table and we even had a grill nearby. We met our neighbors who were very friendly and so we all decided to grill out, combine our food and have dinner together-there was also a picnic table that we could use. Our only regret was that we didn't stay there from the first night. I would definitely recommend staying at the Black Hawk Motel. Oh, and Noah's Ark tickets were included for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#23 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing