We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hidden Gem of the Dells” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of the Dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

When we decided to visit Wisconsin Dells, I checked TripAdvisor - and was so glad I did! The Black Hawk Motel, highly praised for cleanliness and old-fashioned service, was our choice because of the reviews on this site, and we had an even more excellent vacation because of it.
We stayed in a queen whirlpool suite, which turned out to be one of a row of small freestanding cinderblock rooms. Having a tiny yet well equipped kitchen made the room an excellent bargain, as we were able to save by having some of our meals at "home." Recently replaced mattresses, while not luxurious, were comfortable, and linens were clean and fresh. On days that we had a "do not disturb" sign out, we received a call in the afternoon asking if we wanted the room serviced, extra towels, or anything else. We haven't received that level of personalized service except at 4 & 5 star hotels with club or concierge service.
Although definitely not luxury class, the cleanliness and friendliness more than make the Black Hawk an excellent place to enjoy the Wisconsin Dells.

  • Liked — Clean! and enough hot water to fill the hot tub.
  • Disliked — Happy children early in the morning enjoying the playground
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCoastTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    228
    39
    10
    2
See reviews for
789
374
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

My boyfriend and I like to come up to the Dells in the off-season to get the best rates and miss the crowd. We just discovered Black Hawk this year and loved it!! They have great off-season rates. The rooms are comfortable and roomy with great beds. The pool is warm and has a fun slide too! When we are looking for hotels there are a few key things we like to have, they include, indoor pool, microwave and fridge, and free WiFi. The Black Hawk had all three!! We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to young couples or anybody looking to get away for a long weekend and not spend a lot of money.

  • Liked — Everything!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dubba0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Discovered this motel through tripadvisor and gave it a try because we liked the jacuzzi in the room and the low price. Upon driving up to the motel, we were a little frightened because it seemed a bit "old" so we were a little worried. Once we got to the room (number 68) we were shocked at how awesome the room was. Inside the room, it felt like a hotel. Our room was a separate miniature home/apartment that was not connected to other rooms. It was excellent! Mini fridge, relaxing jacuzzi and mirrors on the ceiling above the bed. It was a great little second honeymoon for my husband and I. AND it had two additional beds in an adjoining room so it is perfect for families and/or couples that want a romantic getaway. We will definitely stay here again and request the same room. The indoor pool was big and since the motel wasn't that busy, we had it to ourselves which was nice. We recommend this motel if you want a good price, away from the commercialized strip and a little romance in an unsuspecting place.

  • Liked — jacuzzi in room
  • Disliked — exterior is dated
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank missy2823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

We stayed at the Black Hawk 10/9 - 10/11 for a fall weekend getaway. We got a great rate for our stay (plus AAA too) since it's the end of the season. We travel around a lot and prefer to spend our time sight seeing rather than in the room. Our main requirements of a room is that it is reasonably priced, clean, quiet, a few amenities and has a very clean bathroom. The room met all our needs! We're in our 40's and the room style reminded us of the motels we stayed at as kids with our parents - this was a good thing! The room had amenities like a hair dryer, fridge and microwave, table & chairs - and plenty of room to move around. The pillows were a bit low & smushed for us (probably from much use after all summer long), but a quick trip to the office and we were provided with a couple more nice fluffy ones. The outdoor pool is closed but the indoor pool and jacuzzi were very nice and we met a lot of nice people. The mangement was very friendly and accomodating. They even provided a 2 for 1 card for Dells attractions and restuarants (and we used it!) We head to the Dells every year and will definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, location, amenities
  • Disliked — Some people/car traffic outside of room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Boykerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

I have stayed here before and loved it. But not so much this time. I love the people that run it, and they take good care of the place. But the room smelled funny, and my kids couldn't go in the pool because of the strong chlorine! We went in once, and couldn't go in again, as everyone's eye's were burning and they got a rash! Also some of the loudest , rudest people were staying here this weekend. (Not hotels fault). Kids running around 1/2 naked, music blaring, cooking weird smelly food on the grill. (Which no one else could use). We stayed here to save some money for our big vacation, and let the kids swim. Unfortunately I will never do that again!

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank vacationnut12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 23, 2008
All future, past and potential guests can be assurred that our pools are clean and swimmer friendly. This review is in response to a guest that stayed with us in the month of May 2008. Since then, we had have over 30 positive reviews from guests that stayed with us in the months after May 2008. None of these reviews mention any problem with a strong clorine smell or swimmers rash. In fact many guests have complimented us on our pools. This review in question only mentions "pool", where as in fact we have 5 pools total. Indoor, outdoor, kiddie and 2 whirlpools.

To Vactionnut 12,....thanks for your comments and we sincerely apologize for any problems. Chlorine level was at a higher level one day as a result of a chlorinator feed pump working to maintain water clarity. This method was tested and is no longer used by us. No mention in your review if any problems you were having were brought to our attention, I could of offered you a full refund, and still can, however you'd have to contact us so I can verify some information. Also, we do have more than one grill, however, they are available on a first come, first serve basis. I assume you were here Memorial Day Weekend if you say you couldn't get on the grill. We can not screen all our guests when they make reservations. We can however control them and their children once they get here, and if they don't oblige, they are out of here! We wish you had let us know if you felt uncomfortable with any thing. We do not care what our guests cook on grill, as long as it's edible. What may be "weird and smelly" to one, may be a family favorite to others. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Well I was impressed at first by how shiny clean everything looked as we arrived at our room. Sure, the buildings were older and there was a funky old AC unit propped up in the window but the room looked good and the bathroom was clean.

Then we walked around the room a bit and noticed that our feet and white socks had turned black, and there was a dark dirty path running down the length of the room. When I alerted the front desk to the condition of the floors, they acknowledged that they were not clean because it was the end of the busy season and they hadn't gotten around to steam cleaning the carpeting yet. To make matters worse, they had just resealed the driveways and all that black asphalt had gotten tracked into the rooms, too. Gross

So if you can keep your shoes on during your stay, you will probably enjoy this inexpensive, simple, motel in a quiet, safe part of town. If you are hungry, make sure to have dinner at Carvelli's, about 4 blocks down on Broadway. It is run by an Italian family and had some of the best Italian food this side of Sicily.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — dirty carpet
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renanzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2008
Hey Renanzel, thanks for your comments! We had to have Meyers' Aero Clean in here earlier this year on Labor Day to clean a large section of rooms, just couldn't wait until we closed the end of October.

Our room carpet gets a lot of traffic and it sometimes it shows for a number of reasons. 1. We're a motel, with all exterior entrances, no lobbies or hallways to catch the dirt. This is one of the main reasons we have the outdoor carpet in front of the rooms, to save on the carpet inside the rooms. 2. When guests go to the pools barefoot, they come out, feet wet and asplhalt moves from their feet onto the carpet. 3. We just recently resealed the parking lots, giving it a fresher appearance, but adding to what can be dragged into the rooms on guests shoes and feet. 4. We are quite a bit busier in the past few years, more guests occupying the rooms and harder to get our commerical carpet cleaner to clean the rooms during the busy season, although this is a good problem to have I guess.

SOLUTION: We have spent over $2,000 and purchased a Tornado Carpet Extractor to clean the rooms and traffic areas as needed during the busy season. Our great staff of AJ, Bill and Denis does this for us and at the end of the season we also have the rooms done by a professional.

Also, your room had one of the oldest AC units in the entire place. We have spares and can change them at any time. Each year we purchase between 4-12 new Amana or GE AC's. We would like to replace all at once, but thought that the New Sealy Beds were a better purchase and investment at this time, plus the older ones this work great.

I'll be sure and also recommend the new Carvelli's Italian Restaurant as we had had great reports on the food and service there!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

This motel was fabulously clean!
Six of us stayed (in three separate rooms) at this motel this past weekend and found each to be exceptionally clean and well maintained.

The owners were always attentive and very helpful with the Casino shuttle. The location was great for walking downtown to shop, eat or drink.

The indoor pool room has beautiful wood throughout and the pool was always warm.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning often.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the property.
  • Disliked — No cofee makers in the room.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2008
We are glad that the Black Hawk and the Wisconsin Dells area provided a safe alternative for your vacation plans seeing that your group had to cancel your trip to New Orleans as a result of hurricane Gustav. Although we don't have coffee makers in the room at this time, keep in mind that we keep the coffee on all day from 7 am. until after 11 pm, it's complimentary as wanted, (or as needed.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#16 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#10 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#13 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#39 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Property: Black Hawk Motel
Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing