We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay at the Black Hawk!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Black Hawk!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

We stayed at the Black Hawk 10/9 - 10/11 for a fall weekend getaway. We got a great rate for our stay (plus AAA too) since it's the end of the season. We travel around a lot and prefer to spend our time sight seeing rather than in the room. Our main requirements of a room is that it is reasonably priced, clean, quiet, a few amenities and has a very clean bathroom. The room met all our needs! We're in our 40's and the room style reminded us of the motels we stayed at as kids with our parents - this was a good thing! The room had amenities like a hair dryer, fridge and microwave, table & chairs - and plenty of room to move around. The pillows were a bit low & smushed for us (probably from much use after all summer long), but a quick trip to the office and we were provided with a couple more nice fluffy ones. The outdoor pool is closed but the indoor pool and jacuzzi were very nice and we met a lot of nice people. The mangement was very friendly and accomodating. They even provided a 2 for 1 card for Dells attractions and restuarants (and we used it!) We head to the Dells every year and will definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, location, amenities
  • Disliked — Some people/car traffic outside of room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Boykerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    238
    40
    10
    2
See reviews for
832
380
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

I have stayed here before and loved it. But not so much this time. I love the people that run it, and they take good care of the place. But the room smelled funny, and my kids couldn't go in the pool because of the strong chlorine! We went in once, and couldn't go in again, as everyone's eye's were burning and they got a rash! Also some of the loudest , rudest people were staying here this weekend. (Not hotels fault). Kids running around 1/2 naked, music blaring, cooking weird smelly food on the grill. (Which no one else could use). We stayed here to save some money for our big vacation, and let the kids swim. Unfortunately I will never do that again!

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank vacationnut12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 23, 2008
All future, past and potential guests can be assurred that our pools are clean and swimmer friendly. This review is in response to a guest that stayed with us in the month of May 2008. Since then, we had have over 30 positive reviews from guests that stayed with us in the months after May 2008. None of these reviews mention any problem with a strong clorine smell or swimmers rash. In fact many guests have complimented us on our pools. This review in question only mentions "pool", where as in fact we have 5 pools total. Indoor, outdoor, kiddie and 2 whirlpools.

To Vactionnut 12,....thanks for your comments and we sincerely apologize for any problems. Chlorine level was at a higher level one day as a result of a chlorinator feed pump working to maintain water clarity. This method was tested and is no longer used by us. No mention in your review if any problems you were having were brought to our attention, I could of offered you a full refund, and still can, however you'd have to contact us so I can verify some information. Also, we do have more than one grill, however, they are available on a first come, first serve basis. I assume you were here Memorial Day Weekend if you say you couldn't get on the grill. We can not screen all our guests when they make reservations. We can however control them and their children once they get here, and if they don't oblige, they are out of here! We wish you had let us know if you felt uncomfortable with any thing. We do not care what our guests cook on grill, as long as it's edible. What may be "weird and smelly" to one, may be a family favorite to others. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Well I was impressed at first by how shiny clean everything looked as we arrived at our room. Sure, the buildings were older and there was a funky old AC unit propped up in the window but the room looked good and the bathroom was clean.

Then we walked around the room a bit and noticed that our feet and white socks had turned black, and there was a dark dirty path running down the length of the room. When I alerted the front desk to the condition of the floors, they acknowledged that they were not clean because it was the end of the busy season and they hadn't gotten around to steam cleaning the carpeting yet. To make matters worse, they had just resealed the driveways and all that black asphalt had gotten tracked into the rooms, too. Gross

So if you can keep your shoes on during your stay, you will probably enjoy this inexpensive, simple, motel in a quiet, safe part of town. If you are hungry, make sure to have dinner at Carvelli's, about 4 blocks down on Broadway. It is run by an Italian family and had some of the best Italian food this side of Sicily.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — dirty carpet
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renanzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2008
Hey Renanzel, thanks for your comments! We had to have Meyers' Aero Clean in here earlier this year on Labor Day to clean a large section of rooms, just couldn't wait until we closed the end of October.

Our room carpet gets a lot of traffic and it sometimes it shows for a number of reasons. 1. We're a motel, with all exterior entrances, no lobbies or hallways to catch the dirt. This is one of the main reasons we have the outdoor carpet in front of the rooms, to save on the carpet inside the rooms. 2. When guests go to the pools barefoot, they come out, feet wet and asplhalt moves from their feet onto the carpet. 3. We just recently resealed the parking lots, giving it a fresher appearance, but adding to what can be dragged into the rooms on guests shoes and feet. 4. We are quite a bit busier in the past few years, more guests occupying the rooms and harder to get our commerical carpet cleaner to clean the rooms during the busy season, although this is a good problem to have I guess.

SOLUTION: We have spent over $2,000 and purchased a Tornado Carpet Extractor to clean the rooms and traffic areas as needed during the busy season. Our great staff of AJ, Bill and Denis does this for us and at the end of the season we also have the rooms done by a professional.

Also, your room had one of the oldest AC units in the entire place. We have spares and can change them at any time. Each year we purchase between 4-12 new Amana or GE AC's. We would like to replace all at once, but thought that the New Sealy Beds were a better purchase and investment at this time, plus the older ones this work great.

I'll be sure and also recommend the new Carvelli's Italian Restaurant as we had had great reports on the food and service there!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

This motel was fabulously clean!
Six of us stayed (in three separate rooms) at this motel this past weekend and found each to be exceptionally clean and well maintained.

The owners were always attentive and very helpful with the Casino shuttle. The location was great for walking downtown to shop, eat or drink.

The indoor pool room has beautiful wood throughout and the pool was always warm.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning often.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the property.
  • Disliked — No cofee makers in the room.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2008
We are glad that the Black Hawk and the Wisconsin Dells area provided a safe alternative for your vacation plans seeing that your group had to cancel your trip to New Orleans as a result of hurricane Gustav. Although we don't have coffee makers in the room at this time, keep in mind that we keep the coffee on all day from 7 am. until after 11 pm, it's complimentary as wanted, (or as needed.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

When we had decided to spend Labor day weekend in Wisconsin Dells I had originally planned on booking our stay at Hotel Rome (Mt Olympus). I then read the reviews here about the Blackhawk and saw that we could save over $200 and quickly changed my mind. When I told my family what and where I had booked I immediately started getting the jabs. I admit I was hesitant as well. I'm also one of those hotel snobs. They shut up the second we walked into the door of our hotel room and apologized immediately! We booked a whirlpool suite deluxe w/ 3 queens. Everyone loved the room and especially the whirlpool. It was a nice size, 2 person whirlpool. Not one of those small bathtub types that some hotels try to pass off as a whirlpool. The room was quite spacious and updated. There was a flat screen TV with satellite in the front room and another in the bedroom. The kids loved being able to stay in a different room although didn't understand the reason behind mirrors on the ceiling above the bed :) lol. What I didn't like was the extremely small bathroom. There's a tub and a toilet and room for no more in there, sink & vanity is outside the bathroom. The pillow were really flimsy and they didn't supply any more than the 2 per bed. Also the maid didn't make our beds. We placed the tag on the door to have the room cleaned and went to the water park for the day. When we returned we had plenty of fresh clean towels but the beds were still unmade and no new trash bags were put into the trash cans. It didn't appear that the room was really cleaned. These were all things I could live with however and if I were to return to the area would stay here again. I would also recommend this motel to my family and friends.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank shelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2008
Glad you liked the Whirlpool Deluxe room! We admit, this is a small bath room. We just completely gutted and remodeled this room in the winter of 08 and wanted to keep the front room large and add the whirlpool. I remember housekeeping asking about your room. We do it in two shifts, a staff member comes in and replaces fresh towels and takes out the garbage and hangs a white towel on the door. This is the signal for housekeeping to come in and clean the bathroom, make the beds, ect. On Labor Day Sunday, we were able to get you clean towels and empty the garbage and the towel was hung on the door, however you returned before housekeeping was able to get in and make the beds, bath room, ect. Upon leaving, you must of either mistakenly hung the Do Not Disturb sign, or hung it thinking that was all housekeeping was going to do for the day. Sorry for the inconvience, but house keeping checked with me and I figured you were satisfied with just towels exchanged, and when the sign says Do Not Disturb, housekeeping will not enter the room. This system of doing housekeeping has worked great for many, many,years and it's much more efficient. Thanks for allowing us to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

We stayed in this motel for 3 days during Labor Day weekend. The room was spacious and clean. We have not tried any of the pools, but they looked good. There is a fridge and a microwave as well in the room, which was quite handy.
Also there is dedicated parking place for all the rooms. The person at front desk was kind and helpful.
We had a good time there.

  • Liked — Cleanness
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyPewaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

I usually don't stay at motels because of previous (not so wonderful) experiences, but decided to stay at this motel because it is #1 on TripAdvisor. I am so glad I did. My family loved it and so did I. The whole experience was great, all the way from booking to checking out. The staff is friendly and helpful, the property is extremely neat and clean, and the location is perfect. We booked a kitchenette and a doulbe queen room because we had 4 adults and one child in our party. Both rooms were very nice. The kitchenette was bigger than I thought it would be, so that was a nice surprise. The bathroom was roomy, plus there was a small area with another vanity right outside the bathroom, which was a big plus. The beds were so comfortable. We all slept well. I loved having the kitchen area and full size refrigerator. We saved alot of money by cooking our own meals instead of eating at restaurants. We also had a nice bar-b-que and small play area right ouside our room. And it was so convenient to have our car parked right ouside our door. The pool areas are very nice and so is the laundry room. Our whole experience was great. We loved staying here and will definitely stay again.

  • Liked — cleanliness, room size, and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dianalynn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#9 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#19 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#37 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#16 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Property: Black Hawk Motel
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing