We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a great deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Don't judge a book by its cover. While the outside may look older, it is well kept and the rooms are great. All of the rooms we have stayed in have been remodeled in the past few years. They are large enough to be comfortable, and offer the amenities necessary to make it a nice place to stay. The pools are great for the kids. The game room is fun for all. What puts it over the top are the coupons and water park passes. You won't find a better bargain anywhere! We will be back again and again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main horse shoe are very convenient to access the pool and game room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hello Brad, We always like to hear that our guests feel we are always a great deal! All our guests receive FREE Chula Vista Indoor and Outdoor waterparks everyday of their stay, plus day of check out. New this year...we also now include FREE Noah's Ark Water park passes for all registered guests. Another great savings is the complimentary Dells Splash Pass for each room reserved. It's a great savings coupon book for area attractions, restaurants and more. Our main horseshoe section is our most popular section being close to our pools and main playground. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and have a great summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    228
    39
    10
    2
See reviews for
791
374
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

As always, a great stay at the Blackhawk. Clean "roomy" room, comfy bed, good amenities (micowave, fridge, coffee maker in room - indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, game room), and a good rate. Pretty quiet location (with the exception of the the kids in the room next to us!) and close to downtown restaurants and attractions. Some freebies come with room (Splash Pass 2 for 1 drinks and attractions, coupon book and Chula Vista Waterpark bands) and the owners and staff are always helpful, friendly and very pleasant! We definitely recommend staying here! We'll be back in the fall!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boykerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and more importantly for your continued patronage to The Black Hawk! We very much appreciate it! Sorry to hear that you had a noisy family in the room next door...please let us know in the future if there is ever a noise issue. Glad to hear that you enjoy the extras we include with all reserved rooms. The Dells Super Splash pass is a great savings book and my family and I use it often throughout the year. Thank you again and have a great summer....we look forward to seeing you in the fall! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Definitely will be back. We've stayed at quite a few different places in the dells and this is definitely better than a few of the more expensive places. Very clean room, comfy beds and the kids love the arcade/pool :) It also was nice having the patio chairs outside the room where we were able to visit with other guests and not be stuck indoors

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Melissa...It makes our day to hear that you will definitely be back at the Black Hawk! We strive in providing a clean, comfortable room, with free waterpark passes and top notch customer service....all at a reasonable price. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were there on April 26th. The price for a Saturday Night, One bedroom, 3 bed room was outstanding. The room itself was good sized, excellent bedding and water pressure. The indoor pool was good sized with the most warmest Hot-Tub ever. The owners/ staff are great people. This will be my choice to stay whenever I am in the dells. The location is nice, (at the end of Downtown) near the attractions, but far away from the traffic. I used to stay at the Best Western a 1 1/2 mile west, but the service has gone down a lot since they opened the new field house and they have more guests than staff can handle.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwong29371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We are happy to hear that you found us a great place to stay! Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and we are sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience west of here. Please let us know if you should ever have a problem or issue while staying at the Black Hawk. Glad you liked our whirlpool...we actually have two with the one by the office, I keep the temperature turned up a bit. Thanks again and lets hope the Brewers keep playing well this season and make a push for the World Series! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Me and two friends went to the Dells for my bachelorette party over night trip. We booked at Black Hawk based on the excellent reviews and the fact that they had the option of three separate beds. I was not expecting too much since the exterior seems a bit dated when you first pull in, however I sure was surprised! When I checked in, we received a complimentary splash pass (we had been driving around the dells all afternoon looking for a place to purchase one) The gentleman who checked me in was very friendly. He called me by name and even recommended a taxi service when I mentioned we were in town to drink and didn't want to drive. He handed me my room key and I was off to my room. Upon walking into my room, I noticed how nicely done the updates to the room were. If I had any complaints about the room at all, it would be that it could use an extra mirror. (three girls prepping for a night out and only two mirrors was a challenge, but not a deal breaker, ha) The bathroom had excellent tile work that I noticed right away, plenty of clean towels as well! Me and the ladies decided we would check out the indoor pool across the driveway from our room, and we were very impressed. Another awesome shower, a sauna, hot tub spa, and a decent sized indoor pool were located in the building and also a 80's themed arcade with all working machines! Outside was a very clean safe looking play set that my three year old son would have loved! (had he been there) We went for a quick swim, and set back to our room to prep for our night on the town. Although we could have walked downtown (only a few blocks away) we called the taxi service recommended at check in and he arrived at the hotel within minutes. We would have walked if the weather was a bit better, but what do you expect in WI in April? The night out was great, but the night sleep I got on the bed was out of this world! The beds they have are nicer than any hotel/motel I have ever stayed at. We awoke in the morning with plenty of time for a quick swim. We returned to our room, got our stuff together and I went to check out, The gentleman behind the counter must have been the owner and same man from the day before, because when I walked in He called me by name and asked me how our night out was. Very Very Friendly! I was very pleased with my stay! This is by far the best budget motel I have ever stayed at, and I am looking forward to returning in the summer time!

Room Tip: Dont forget a towel! They dont offer any in the pool areas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello Carissa, It sure sounds like your Bachelorette party was a huge success and Thank You for choosing the Black Hawk for your accommodation needs and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write us a detailed review on your stay with us! Our room with 3 full beds has been a very popular room choice for many years and we recently remodeled this room type with the tile work by our good friend...Chet "The Tile" Guy. He also of course did our shower and bathroom in our indoor pool area and has did all of our newly remodeled rooms. None of his tile jobs here at the Black Hawk are the same and he continues to amaze us, year after year. It's great to hear that the taxi service I recommended gave you quick service. If spring ever decides to get and stay here...walking at night will be much more comfortable. Thanks again and we look forward to hopefully accommodating you again with your son so he can check our playgrounds, protected with the best possible surface made....recycled rubber. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Over all very happy. we only stayed 1 night, so other then check-in didn't need any services. room was very clean and as advertised online. only draw back is ice maker in our area wasn't working so had to go to other complex for ice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hello Ricky, We are delighted to hear that you had a "Happy Stay"! We believe in providing a clean room with a honest room description and no extra hidden fees, such as extra amenity, resort or booking fees. We sincerely apologize for one of our four ice machines being out of order. It was brought to our attention that we had a cracked water filter, a result of the unseasonably cold spring that we have had. We hope to see you again this summer, with guaranteed warmer weather. Thank you and have a great day! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have stayed at this motel 3 times. The price and location are great. The owners are friendly and can give you great advice on places to eat and see. How many motels have you stayed in where the owners actually care about your visit? Stay often and you'll never be disappointed! Remember when you traveled in the 60's and 70's and got to park outside the motel door....didn't have to lug your suitcases miles to your room!

Room Tip: All the rooms have comfortable beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjojlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
I take pride in reading your review because you crushed it with your statement that the owners actually care about your visit. This statement is 110% fact as I and my wife Tena and our entire staff truly to care about our guests and want them to have a pleasant, comfortable experience at a reasonable value. All of this with top notch customer service, as we believe in treating our guests the same way we would want to be treated. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and more importantly for your continued patronage to the Black Hawk. We hope to see you again soon! Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#20 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#10 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#13 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#37 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Property: Black Hawk Motel
Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing