We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My family and I have stayed there (cabin 69 and the house) two times now and love it! So clean & they have nice little indoor and outdoor pools. Another nice feature is being able to walk to a nice parks 2 blocks down and just a few minutes from everything! Hoping to go back this June.ll

Room Tip: A nice family place to stay
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hello Gina, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stays with us! Cottage 69 and our house are two of the most popular of the 30 different room types that we offer...both are also individual units w/ no common walls for added privacy. We look forward to accommodating you and your family again this summer as sunny days are ahead as this winter freeze will soon turn to spring. Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,655)
There are newer reviews for Black Hawk Motel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Awesome time here! The staff were great, super clean and close to downtown! we stayed in a suite and they were super cool. Had flowers delivered to my room by the manager without my wife knowing and he also brought us some super cool coffee mugs to keep. I could not be happier with this place! The only place i will ever stay in the dells. Can not wait to go back!!! I actually went summer of 2012 but just now got my trip advisor account set up.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kurt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Hello Kurt, Great to hear that you have your Trip Advisor account set up and we would like to Thank You for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing The Black Hawk as your Honeymoon destination! Looks like you stayed in room #75, our king bed whirlpool suite w/ private balcony. Our rooms 75 and 76 have been very popular rooms for many years and are now more popular than ever as we just did a major remodel on these rooms in the spring of 2012. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps for your anniversary, summer vacation or just a quick spring or fall getaway...until then, have a great winter and holiday season! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

When we go up to the Dells, we always stay at the Blackhawk! (at least when I remember to make reservations in advance! DOH!) The owners and staff and friendly and just plain wonderful! The room is always clean and comfortable with little extra amenities that are always welcome. Even when the place is crowded, the noise level is kept down, which we appreciate! We come to get away and relax, not deal with crazies - we have enough of that at home! The pool and whirlpool are nice after a long day of hiking, sightseeing, and enjoying the Dells "amusements". The motel is in a great location - close to everything. It's our home away from home when in the Dells!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boykerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and more importantly...Thank you for your continued patronage, we truly appreciate it! We have always believed in providing a clean, comfortable room, at a reasonable rate with friendly customer service and adding extras like complimentary discount cards and FREE Water Park Passes for all registered guests. We believe in treating our guests the way that we would wanted to be treated. We hope to see you again for our 2014 season and have a great winter and holiday season! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband typically is not a fan of motels. He doesn't have the great memories I do while growing up in the 60s and 70s of going to one. After reviewing the great reviews online, he gave it a shot. Service was great, the king jacuzzi suite was done beautifully and pretty quiet. He said he would stay there again which is a big compliment of this site. Enjoyed talking to the staff members who truly know what it is to take care of their guests. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Hello Julie, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and Thank you as well to you and your husband for giving our MOTEL a try! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again for our 2014 season. My wife Tena and I and our entire staff strive to take care of all our guests and provide each and every one of them a comfortable stay. Have a great winter and thanks again! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Haven't stayed here in almost 20 years and it's still great place to stay! We stayed in cabins 70 and 71. Our 2 kids had there own room and me and wife had other room with kitchen. Great rooms. Kitchen was great having in our room... Eating out every meal gets pricey and being able to cook meals in our room was great! We stayed Sun. through Wed. and we pretty much had place to ourselves. Indoor pool was nice. We had a blast staying here!! My entire family will be trying to get back here again next year!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbill76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us! Our kitchenette unit with 2 Queens is very popular room choice and when rented with the adjoining 2 Queen Deluxe provides even more space and privacy. We glad that you were able to stay with us this past October, a great time to visit as it's our offseason. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you again and have a great winter season! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Took a road trip with my mom, two sisters and 13-year old niece. We ended up in the Dells for one night. I had read the reviews of this motel on Trip Advisor so I booked a cottage (#67) which had 2 rooms that included 3 queen sized beds and a sofa-sleeper.

Let's just say that the last time I stayed with my family in the Dells was when I was 15. This motel brought back memories of that time. Maybe it was just the "motel" experience, but it was just so nice to pull the car up to your front door, unpack and begin to unwind.

Staff was super friendly--we wanted to extra towels, pillows and needed to borrow a wine opener--all happily given to us when we stopped in the office. One of my sisters volunteered to be the "coffee gopher" and went to the office to get our coffee in the morning (she went 3 times). Was it a pain? Probably a little for her...but it actually really added to the fun and the "going back in time" experience when everything wasn't just at our fingertips. (Suggestion: If you're going to be there awhile and love coffee, bring a thermos or big cups to fill.)

The cottage was clean, the beds were comfortable, it was very quiet at night and we all felt very safe and cozy all together in our retro cottage. And for 5 people, a bill of $150 couldn't be beat. Did I mention we received 5 free passes to the waterpark? We took a short drive to Chula Vista and watched my niece have a blast for an hour or so before dinner. That was just an added bonus...we weren't there to go to a waterpark.

If you're tired of these enormous, impersonal, multi-story hotels--book a room or cottage here and you'll see why their back-to-the-basics approach(friendly, clean and quiet) is so appealing.

Room Tip: Cottage 67 was very quiet and you could easily sleep up to 8 people in it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Diana, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a detailed review on your recent stay with us. Cottage #67 is a popular unit as it provides privacy with the second bedroom and is an individual unit with no common walls. Sounds like everyone had a great time and we agree that the complimentary water park passes for all registered guests make for a great deal. I appreciate the title of your review as it describes the Black Hawk well. I and my family have always believed in providing a clean, comfortable, quiet place to stay at a reasonable rate w/ many added amentities....and we are family owned and operated since 1945. Next year, all our rooms will have in-room coffee makers so you won't have to come to the office for morning or afternoon coffee. However, we'll always have coffee fresh and hot in our office, (as we do now) for those looking for a back to basics experience of fresh coffee from a commercial BUNN coffee maker, or anyone who wants to check in the morning and say Hi. Thanks again for staying with us and for your review, as we very much appreciate it! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Blackhawk over the weekend with our in-laws. I tried to keep the price in mind when giving the rating but I did have two minor complaints. But the price expecially for a weekend stay is fantastic. The rooms were very clean and comfortable beds. Bathroom is a little small but not bad and you do get free chula water park passes with the stay. My complaints are that when we checked in no one told us they had complementary breakfast and I've seen it listed on some of the other reviews. 2) the heat and AC is a little difficult to get used to on your first night when you are trying to change back and forth. 3) While the pool was heat and felt great the number of people drinking around the pool while being very loud and Obnoxious made me and my two kids very uncomfortable. It got even worse the grown adults decided they had to go down the slide between my 10 and 12 year old kids. While the hotel cant control people staying there they can control drinking at the pool or at least monitor it if your going to allow it. One of the people even dropped his bottle in the pool at one point and had to fish it out. Lucky the bottle didnt break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Hello Wes, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Great to hear that you found your room to be not only clean with comfortable beds, but also a fantastic value. In regards to your few issues...we DO NOT offer a complimentary breakfast or do we advertise anywhere that we do. A past reviewer mentioned we have one and we do not as they must have been confused with another place they had considered booking. Our heat / AC systems are constructed to where both can not be ran at the same time, which keeps utility costs lower. Sounds like you and your family stayed with us over Harvest Fest Weekend. Also known as Wisconsin Dells on Tap. We apologize as we are short staffed this past weekend, but would have appreciated you letting us know of any obnoxious guests and I personally apologize for their disrepectful behavior. Although we were sold out for this Friday and Saturday, it's one weekend that we enjoy seeing come and go,...just because many guests are here this weekend to drink. We do allow drinking...but do not cater towards it and try to monitor it and I again do apologize for your family being uncomfortable, while at the pool. Happy to hear that your pool water was warm and comfortable. Thanks again and we hope that you have a great fall and winter season. Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
968 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#24 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
717 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#59 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $60 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing