We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for your Buck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Hutsonville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bang for your Buck”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Reasonably priced, very clean, nice amenities, helpful Owners/Front Desk.

The room was large and the bed was new and very good. The morning continental breakfast leaves much to be desired, but the price of this room makes up for any negative associated with food.

Room Tip: These are outdoor corridor rooms with all the good and bad that follows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newark1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad you found us to be a great value and "bang for your buck" with a clean room and comfortable bed. All our rooms are exterior corridors and offer reserved parking by your door. I am not sure if you confused us with another place before booking, because we do not offer or advertise a continental breakfast, just coffee or tea in the office all day long. It is something we have considered for the future though. Next year in 2014, we will be offering in-room coffee in all our guest rooms. We hope to accommodate you again! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    253
    43
    11
    2
See reviews for
914
405
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Blackhawk from Oct 16 through 18, 2013 (my wife and two boys in one room and my in-laws in another room). Another great visit to a classic Wisconsin Dells motel. Very friendly owners, clean rooms, comfy beds, clean heated pool, old school arcade room, nice location. They have made recent renovations and they have plans to expand in 2014. It is comforting to see classic Dells motels like this continue to thrive in an age where the old school "mom and pop" lodgings and attractions continue to be razed in order to make even more room for the big corporate waterparks. But...we did get free waterpark passes to one of the big parks (Chula Vista) with our Blackhawk stay, which we took advantage of and had a great time. This family from Coon Rapids, MN highly recommends the Blackhawk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hello Kevin, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us as we truly appreciate it! We also really appreciate you supporting our (and all) family owned business. We have always believed in putting profits back into our business as we try and preserve the Black Hawk as a piece of classic Wisconsin Dells and a piece of True Americana. Sounds like you and your family had a great stay with us and had time to enjoy our heated indoor pool, retro arcade and the Chula Vista Water Parks. Thanks again and we hope to see you and your family again soon, hopefully when our expansion is complete. Have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMAHAWK
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This motel is just off the Main Street which means less traffic noise. It's an older motel but very nicely updated. The rooms are very clean. After spending the day running around we came back to our room to relax for awhile before going out for dinner. However we received a phone call that required us to leave for home right away. Even though we used the room we received a full refund less the taxes from the owner. We will be back the next time were in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RONALD E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello Ronald, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your short stay with us! We are happy to hear you found our property to be quiet, clean and well maintained. We are definitely an older property, but have lived by the belief of pumping the profits back into the business. We are sorry that you had to cut your stay with us short and hope to see you again in the near future. We would love to hear how you like our Sealy Plush Beds! Have a great fall and winter season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The room was quite large and very clean, which was very nice (#15), the bathroom was new and spotless clean, good amenities, flatscreen, kitchenette, good beds, friendly service. A included breakfast would make it perfect. Overall I really can recommend the Black Hawk Motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller10437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Room #15 is our one of our Two Queen Superior rooms and has been a popular room choice for over four decades...and now it's completely renovated and as popular as ever. Sounds like you had a nice stay with us during this warm October of 2013. Thank you so much for taking the time write us a quick review and for recommmending the Black Hawk Motel. We hope your travels bring you back to the Black Hawk someday. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here with a large group of friends over the Columbus day weekend and found this family owned motel just delightful. The management is genuinely friendly and accommodating. The facilities are all well kept, clean and comfortable. (our group used 17 rooms so I got to see a lot of the place). With all the different room layouts you'll be sure to find something to suit you at a price that is a good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jc1stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello Juanita, It was a true pleasure to accommodate you and the rest of your Meet Up group this past weekend! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be a delightful place. We do have 30 different room types to choose from and they consist of budget, to family to whirlpool suites. Be sure and check our web site for detailed room descriptions and additional photos. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we look forward to accommodating you and your Meet Up group in 2014. Next year...we'll be providing in-room coffee in all our guest rooms. However, we'll still have the fresh hot java going in our office all day as well. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

After a long day of riding my motorcycle I ended up at the welcome center on the south side of the Dells. I asked the attendant if she could suggest a motel with a whirlpool for one night. She not only knew which ones had whirlpools but she actually called several and got pricing and availability for me.
The Black Hawk stood out at half the price of the others. She said it was very clean and gave it a high recommendation. I was not disappointed. A great location on the edge of town. Quiet yet close enough to walk to stores, pubs, restaurants, and all the other tourist traps down town.
I could go through a list of things that were good but suffice it to say that there would be nothing on the list that I could find to complain about. A very homey feeling.
The game room had a pool table and 2 REAL PINBALL MACHINES as well as some of the newer digital stuff the kids like. The pool area was nice but the whirlpool could have been hotter for my liking. HINT - there is a 2nd whirlpool and sauna in a separate small room next to the office - hot, well maintained and a blessing after my long day of riding.
No, it didn't have a free breakfast, but I knew that up front and what I saved In $$ left me with more than enough for a great breakfast at the Kilbourn Broadway Grill which was just a short walk from the motel.
I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoryBikeRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us! We take complaints and concerns very seriously, however we are estatic that you had nothing to complain about. Sounds like you had a relaxing stay after traveling to the Wisconsin Dells area. In regards to our second hot tub located by our office, I do keep it hotter than the one by our indoor pool. In fact, we have had complaints on it before for being to hot, (which I have turned down), but I figure we have both options for our guests with having two hot tubs. Pat & Glen from Starworlds Arcade in Delkalb, IL do a great job of stocking our retro arcade with great games, in fact I requested a pinball...and they delivered two! Have a great day and we hope to see you again soon! Safe travels, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great hotel! Definitely a little bit old school but everything is cared-for well and the prices are great. Assigned parking is nice, beds were comfy, and the location is close enough to town to walk but far enough away that this place stays nice and quiet. I will stay here again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam123454321710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Adam, Thank you for taking the time to write us a quick review on your recent stay with us...we sincerely appreciate it! We feel we are a bit of old school also...but with many of todays modern amenities. Many of our guests enjoy that we are in a quiet location, yet close enough to the downtown Wisconsin Dells area. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
899 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
937 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
133 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#6 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing