We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Super clean room and great location. We stayed in suite 74 which my children 6 and 9 described as our own little house. We used the indoor pool also clean and perfect. Obviously this property is maintained to a high standard and the owners are very friendly and welcoming. The location is great as it is close to downtown. The free waterpark passes to Chula Vista (best indoor waterpark in my opinion) saved us some money. You park right in front of your room not in a giant parking lot and it feels like a residential neighbourhood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerE16QU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're happy that you found us to be an excellant value! Unit #74 is our two bedroom kitchenette w/ 3 full beds, queen sofa sleeper and complete kitchen and it's one of our most popular of our 30 different room types to choose from. We do carry very high standards here at the Black Hawk, especially seeing that we are family owned and operated since 1945. We agree that Chula Vista is a great water park for families w/ younger children and all guests receive free complimentary water park passes with their stay. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    241
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
840
392
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great prices, coupons, nice room and friendly staff. Location is great for walking and attractions are not far if you are driving. I have been staying at the Blackhawk for 20 years and have never had a bad experiance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristynCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and more importantly...for your 20+ years of continued patronage! We always strive to provide a clean, comfortable room, friendly customer service and a great value. All registered guests do receive complimentary Chula Vista Water Park passes and we always have great money savings coupons for the Dells area attractions and restaurants, like 25% to Noah's Ark and the complimentary Dells Splash Pass which is a buy one get one free discount card. Thank you again for your review and have a great fall season. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very clean room and bathroom. Quiet location. The owner was extremely friendly and accommodating. Indoor pool was well kept and great that it was open until 11:00 pm. It's nice to stay in a place that the owners really care about. Close enough to the old Dells strip so that you can walk. The free waterpark passes were great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Trent, We love that you loved our Mom and Pop motel and you are correct...we do truly care about our establishment. However,...being family owned and operated, makes it easy to care about, and especially our guests. Great to hear that you enjoyed our location and the free water park passes, as well as your clean room. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you for our 2014 season. Until then, have a great fall and winter season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed there this weekend from Friday October 4 to Sunday 6. had to rooms and every body was happy with the stay because the motel was clean ,the rooms was big, clean and comfortable .just couple of blocks from downtown dell and you get a free water park pass for you stay which save as some money. I would definitely stay there again for my next trip .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amour P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and thank you for choosing the Black Hawk on your recent stay to Wisconsin Dells! It makes our day when we hear that everyone was happy with their stay. All our registered guests do receive complimentary Water Park Passes to Chula Vista Waterparks. This is a great savings for families as the regular admission price to the park varies between $29.99 - $34.99. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The staff was terrific, the motel was good. The location is at the East end of Downtown, easy walk to everything, far enough away from the traffic. Beds were great, water pressure was good. The only flaw albeit a small one is, there are no coffee makers in the room, but in the lobby there is from 700 to 1100 pm. I will be back .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwong29371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Great to hear that you found us to be a hidden gem! We are located just 4 blocks east of downtown Wisconsin Dells, far enough...yet close enough to all the area attractions and restaurants. We hope to see you for our 2014 season, as we'll be adding in room coffee to all our guest rooms, however we'll definitely still have a fresh cup of coffee available made right from our Bunn coffee maker. Have a great fall season and thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durand, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This reminded us of our favorite motel in Green Bay, which is why we chose it. Clean, comfortable, quiet and cozy. There is an old fashioned feel with modern amenities, and you can drive right to your door. It's close to downtown and rates are very reasonable. Enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luey410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Great to hear that you experienced a clean, comfortable, cozy and quiet stay with us. In fact,...we hope to become your favorite place to stay in Wisconsin Dells! We believe in providing all of the above with top notch customer service added...all while keeping our rates reasonable. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at the Black Hawk Motel is Wisconsin Dells on August 6th. I was passing through the area and wanted to stay in a non chain motel. The room had a character of it's own and made a simple but nice impression. I would defintiely stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to book ahead in this tourist area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesky68124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hello Bluesky68124....We are so glad that you didn't pass us up when you were just passing thru the Wisconsin Dells area this past summer! Thank you for taking the time to write us a quick review and for choosing to stay at a non-chain hotel and for supporting a family owned and operated business. Great to hear that you would stay with us again....and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#19 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Value Inn
All Star Value Inn
#2 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
3.9 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#11 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Property: Black Hawk Motel
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing