We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The staff was terrific, the motel was good. The location is at the East end of Downtown, easy walk to everything, far enough away from the traffic. Beds were great, water pressure was good. The only flaw albeit a small one is, there are no coffee makers in the room, but in the lobby there is from 700 to 1100 pm. I will be back .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwong29371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Great to hear that you found us to be a hidden gem! We are located just 4 blocks east of downtown Wisconsin Dells, far enough...yet close enough to all the area attractions and restaurants. We hope to see you for our 2014 season, as we'll be adding in room coffee to all our guest rooms, however we'll definitely still have a fresh cup of coffee available made right from our Bunn coffee maker. Have a great fall season and thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    228
    39
    10
    2
See reviews for
791
374
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Durand, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This reminded us of our favorite motel in Green Bay, which is why we chose it. Clean, comfortable, quiet and cozy. There is an old fashioned feel with modern amenities, and you can drive right to your door. It's close to downtown and rates are very reasonable. Enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luey410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Great to hear that you experienced a clean, comfortable, cozy and quiet stay with us. In fact,...we hope to become your favorite place to stay in Wisconsin Dells! We believe in providing all of the above with top notch customer service added...all while keeping our rates reasonable. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at the Black Hawk Motel is Wisconsin Dells on August 6th. I was passing through the area and wanted to stay in a non chain motel. The room had a character of it's own and made a simple but nice impression. I would defintiely stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to book ahead in this tourist area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesky68124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hello Bluesky68124....We are so glad that you didn't pass us up when you were just passing thru the Wisconsin Dells area this past summer! Thank you for taking the time to write us a quick review and for choosing to stay at a non-chain hotel and for supporting a family owned and operated business. Great to hear that you would stay with us again....and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

You are not just one of a thousand guests staying in one of a thousand rooms at the Black Hawk Motel. It's a classic motel with excellent service and always clean. Make your reservation with absolute confidence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hello Adam, Thank you for having confidence in us and for your patronage. We truly care about all of our guests and want them to have the absolute best possible lodging experience possible. This is one of the many reasons we continue to pump profits back into the business each off season and strive for high levels of customer service. Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again for our 2014 season....and until then, have a great fall and winter season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went there with my husband,mother in law and our baby.It was very clean,nice,there is indoor and outdoor pool,jacuzzi,separate whirlpool room and sauna . And free passes to the water park.2-3 blocks from the down town.You can't find better place to stay.Free coffee all day.Great value.Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielavalkanova1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We are estatic that you found us to be a great place to stay at! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us. Sounds like you took time to enjoy our pools and complimentary water park wristbands to Chula Vista Waterparks. We hope to see you during our 2014 season...we'll be adding complimentary in room coffee to all our guest rooms, but we'll still have coffee in our office all day as well. Have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a great hotel for budget minded travellers specially if you are traveling with kids. Very close to all downtown attractions ( 5 minutes walk) . Room was very clean as well as the bed linens. Here are some of the things that can be improved to make it a more pleasant experience: carpets need some cleaning and shampooing, the wifi needs to be upgraded( shouldn't expect guest to upgrade to paid higher speed internet). Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doming R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We are glad you found your stay with us to be value for your money. We strive our best to provide the best experience for all of our guests, however...we know there is always room to improve, and we strive to do so. We apologize that the carpet in your room was in need of a cleaning. We do have our own carpet shampoo machine and many of our rooms have been done once or twice this year by our staff, however sounds like your room may not have been done yet. At the end of our season...in 3 weeks, we also always have our carpets cleaned professionally. In regards to our WI-FI, we are seriously thinking of updating it...even though we are under a contract. We do may a monthly service fee for the network to be monitored and a reboot of the access points may have been needed. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

First of all, the Black Hawk is not a 5 star hotel, so please do not go with that expectation. That having been said however, more expensive hotels could learn many lessons here at the Black Hawk.
I had a problem with my reservation (our plans had changed) and had to alter our reservation dates. Thus, we ended up staying in our cottage for two nights and another room for the third night. The owner could not have been more gracious and helpful. When we checked in, he not only remembered me from my emails, but apologized again for our having to move. (The fault was all mine!) And he assured us that our new room would be ready as soon as possible so we could move before we went out for the day, or, he said, if that didn't work for us, we could pack our suitcases and he would move them over for us! He couldn't have been more accommodating, and I appreciated it!
The Black Hawk was in a perfect location for us. While our teens took the car and went to the water parks, my husband and I walked the few blocks to downtown. It was a lovely and stress free way to get around.
The motel grounds are immaculate, and the game room is fun! The pools looked nice, as did the children's play areas. Over all, our experience was fabulous...because the owners made it so.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sewhandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We couldn't agree more that we are not a a 5 star property and we want all our future and potential guests to know this. I am glad that the move to the 2nd room for you and your family during your stay was an easy one. During the peak summer, many guests stay an extra night or two and we always do our best to accommodate them, this includes a late check out in their current room, until their new room is ready. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future and have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#20 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#10 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#13 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#37 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Property: Black Hawk Motel
Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing