We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Reviews were right, very nice stay at an amazing price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Reviews were right, very nice stay at an amazing price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Read all of the previous reviews and had to try it. What a nice place to stay. Very clean and comfortable. Had a microwave and a refrigerator. An outdoor and indoor pool. Nothing fancy, just a good nights rest. Best deal in the Dells.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyd43ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hello, Thank you for listening to the rest of the Trip Advisor community by reading our reviews and choosing to stay with us! We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay, in a clean room at an amazing price....all while getting the best deal in the Dells. All our registered guests also receive Free Chula Vista Water Park passes each day of their stay, plus their day of check out. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    237
    40
    10
    2
See reviews for
830
380
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon 8 years ago and this place just keeps getting better and better. I wish more places were like this but I guess thats why we keep coming back to Black Hawk and to the Dells. The staff couldn't be nicer and they go beyond expectations to make sure you feel at home. The location is great too, its just down the street from the boardwalk!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayws2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome review! We simply believe in pumping the profits back into our business...and we believe if we choose not to, you wouldn't think that we keep getting better and better. We also want to thank you for your continued patronage over the years and for your continued support. Have a great fall and winter season and we look forward to seeing you in the future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great costumer service, Rooms are outdated but very clean not a single mold spot in the bathroom! Pool and sauna are great, super clean and private. We didnt visit the otdoor pool, but
we will visit again for sure! needs more activities for little kids.

Room Tip: not close from atractions, but close enough from shopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveleroIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing to stay with us! It sounds like we accommodated you in one of our rooms that is still on our remodel list as many of our rooms have been recently completely renovated. Guests should check our website for detailed room descriptions and photos. Thanks again for your review and it makes our day to learn that your room was clean and our property was clean and you received great customer service. Thanks again and have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOVES PARK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We looked for a place to stay for our 25th Anniversary and remembered this motel. This motel I was brought to when I was 6 or 7 by my grand parents. I am 45 years old now. We came back here 5 years ago and the place is as I remembered it with the addition of the game room and indoor pool. It is so clean that you can literally eat off of the floors in my opinion. The staff has always been more than accommodating. Being only a block and a half away from the Downtown Shopping Strip you need not drive there and pay for parking. If you really need the hustle and bustle of a water park they now include Chula vista passes with your stay. We always enjoy our time here and cannot say enough about the owners and the accommodations. If you want a good clean place to stay for a reasonable price look no further Black Hawk Motel is the place to stay!!! We have been coming here come here at least once a year for the past 5 years or more. We will continue to come for the wonderful family style tradition we are accustomed to!! Try it and see for yourself!!! You will Love this place!!!

Room Tip: Always look for the managers special!!!!! Whirlpool rooms with or without a balcony!! Excellent rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCOTT E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello Scott! First of all...I, Tena and our entire staff would like to stay CONGRATULATIONS on 25 years of marriage and Thank you for your continued patronage over this time. Sounds like you and Michelle had a great getaway and enjoyed some much needed R & R. Our whirlpool suites are some of our most popular rooms for many years and they are very popular in the spring and fall seasons when we run our Manager's Special. This special makes our whirlpool suites a great deal at $69 or $79 per night Sunday thru Thursday nights. Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and have a great fall season. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neshkoro, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great stay!! We have gone there for our family reunions for the past several years. Love it - clean, very accommodating, friendly, and a good value. Left some items there after our last stay there and they were so helpful by sending them to me. We will be going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora12173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for your continued patronage each summer,...it's very much appreciated! We are happy that we were able to accommodate everyone this year and we love the photo of the kids in front of Chief Black Hawk! This is a very popular photo spot for many of our guests. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again next year! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My family and I loved this motel! It looks and feels like it's the 50's, but has extremely clean rooms, new flooring, super cold air conditioning, flat screen tv, etc all for a value-friendly price. We spent lots of time enjoying both the indoor and outdoor pools, the kids loved the slides and diving board, and my wife and I liked having a hot tub available. We will definitely be coming back here next time we're in the Dells!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acmendol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed our Retro feel motel with our many in room modern day upgrades! Our Heated Indoor and Outdoor pools are always a big hit with our youngest guests and their parents and grandparents too! We hope to accommodate you and your family again next summer and please let us know if you would like to have the same room. Also,....be sure and check out our second hot tub located by our office. Many guests don't know about this hot tub as it's a bit more private...and a bit hotter. Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and have a great fall season. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

So I picked this motel because of Trip Advisor. When we pulled in my boyfriend looked at me and said "Really, this is what you picked out of every place in the Dells?" Needless to say by the end of our stay he was convinced why this motel has such high ratings. The customer service is top notch. You don't see very many family owned motels in the dells. Most of them actually look like they are being monopolized my Mt. Olympus. Stroll through the dells and you will see white and blue motels everywhere. We stayed in a room that had just been remodeled. It was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. My boyfriend and I usually sleep with two pillows each and there were only two on the bed. We went to the front office and Brad gladly gave us two more. I can see why there are so many reviews about him. He really is a nice guy! On the wall there was a big picture of an expansion that they were thinking about doing. I told him right away that I thought the motel was perfect just the way it was! That's what makes people keep coming back! If I wanted to go stay at some big hotel I'd go one of the huge chains that have poor customer service where the people working there could care less if you came back or not. But that's not how it is at the motel. You can tell that they appreciate every guest that stays there. And that is why they're rated one of the best places to stay in the dells.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review and for choosing the Black Hawk for your accomodation needs while visiting the Wisconsin Dells area. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with! We strive on providing a clean, comfortable room and well maintained property, with many amenities and top notch customer service. We really do appreciate all of our guests and do our best to make sure they have the best possible stay. Many of our repeat guests we have known for years and grown to love like family. Thanks for your thoughts on our expansion plans and I promise that with our expansion...nothing will change as we'll never be like a resort or chain where our guests are nothing more than a number. We are family owned and operated since 1945 and I grew up in the business and I was taught how to treat our guests and we carry this on today. We hope to see you again soon and if you are able to join us again and would like the same room....please let us know and we will try and accommodate you! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#5 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#9 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#18 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#17 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Property: Black Hawk Motel
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing