We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro style motel with contemporary features.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Retro style motel with contemporary features.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My family and I loved this motel! It looks and feels like it's the 50's, but has extremely clean rooms, new flooring, super cold air conditioning, flat screen tv, etc all for a value-friendly price. We spent lots of time enjoying both the indoor and outdoor pools, the kids loved the slides and diving board, and my wife and I liked having a hot tub available. We will definitely be coming back here next time we're in the Dells!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acmendol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed our Retro feel motel with our many in room modern day upgrades! Our Heated Indoor and Outdoor pools are always a big hit with our youngest guests and their parents and grandparents too! We hope to accommodate you and your family again next summer and please let us know if you would like to have the same room. Also,....be sure and check out our second hot tub located by our office. Many guests don't know about this hot tub as it's a bit more private...and a bit hotter. Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and have a great fall season. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    252
    42
    11
    2
See reviews for
907
404
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

So I picked this motel because of Trip Advisor. When we pulled in my boyfriend looked at me and said "Really, this is what you picked out of every place in the Dells?" Needless to say by the end of our stay he was convinced why this motel has such high ratings. The customer service is top notch. You don't see very many family owned motels in the dells. Most of them actually look like they are being monopolized my Mt. Olympus. Stroll through the dells and you will see white and blue motels everywhere. We stayed in a room that had just been remodeled. It was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. My boyfriend and I usually sleep with two pillows each and there were only two on the bed. We went to the front office and Brad gladly gave us two more. I can see why there are so many reviews about him. He really is a nice guy! On the wall there was a big picture of an expansion that they were thinking about doing. I told him right away that I thought the motel was perfect just the way it was! That's what makes people keep coming back! If I wanted to go stay at some big hotel I'd go one of the huge chains that have poor customer service where the people working there could care less if you came back or not. But that's not how it is at the motel. You can tell that they appreciate every guest that stays there. And that is why they're rated one of the best places to stay in the dells.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review and for choosing the Black Hawk for your accomodation needs while visiting the Wisconsin Dells area. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with! We strive on providing a clean, comfortable room and well maintained property, with many amenities and top notch customer service. We really do appreciate all of our guests and do our best to make sure they have the best possible stay. Many of our repeat guests we have known for years and grown to love like family. Thanks for your thoughts on our expansion plans and I promise that with our expansion...nothing will change as we'll never be like a resort or chain where our guests are nothing more than a number. We are family owned and operated since 1945 and I grew up in the business and I was taught how to treat our guests and we carry this on today. We hope to see you again soon and if you are able to join us again and would like the same room....please let us know and we will try and accommodate you! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have had our family reunion here for 15 plus years and we've always had great rooms, service and friendliness from the owners. They take great care in the rooms, grounds and amenities. Brad and Tena are always ready to assist with your questions.
A restaurant across the street, short walk to downtown and more restaurants. Pools are clean and fun. If you're looking for a clean, reasonably priced place to stay, this is it.
Thanks, Brad & Tena, Kathy S

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy4325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello Kathy! We always look forward to each Labor Day weekend as the summer is winding down and we get ready to welcome you and the rest of your family! It seems that every year your reunion seems to grow by a room or two. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable property with many amenities and top notch customer service. Thank you for taking the time to write us another review and have a great fall season and we look forward to seeing you and the rest of your family over Labor Day weekend 2014. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. The rooms are older but they have done a great job maintaining it. The price is outstanding and it's close to everything. They have a nice indoor and outdoor pool, an arcade room and playground. The room includes admission to a water park but we didn't take advantage of that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello Linda, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are glad to hear that you found us to be a great deal and our property to be well maintained. We have 30 different room types to choose from and many are newly remodeled and we have another wing of rooms which we are remodeling this winter. Sounds like you had an older room,...if you visit us again, please ask when booking your reservation and we'll be sure and accommodate you the best we can. Also the best rates are almost always found by booking directly thru our website or by giving us a call. Thanks again and have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeoville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I Have Stayed here Several Times With My Wife and 2 Girls 11 and 13 They loved the indoor and outdoor pools,and Hot tuband Sauna. Great spot just far enough from the "strip" for peace and Quite.
We used the outdoor BBQ Grill next to the pool it was awesome.Save some Money and Stay Here.
They Recommened some places to eat to us which were outstanding as well.We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: They have a 3 bed suite that was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyvpizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you so much taking the time to write us a review! It's always great to accommodate you and your family and room #21 is our two bedroom unit with 3 Queens. This room has been one of our most popular room choices for over 4 decades....as it offers privacy and is close to our heated pools, retro arcade and BBQ grill...plus it's newly remodeled! My wife Tena and I are born and raised in the Wisconsin Dells and we always encourage our guests to inquire with us where the best restaurants and must see attractions are. If it's a locals choice for breakfast, lunch, pizza or an old fashioned Wisconsin supper club.....we'll direct you in the right direction...and chances are...Trip Advisor backs up our recommendations. Thanks again and we hope to see you and your family again in the near future...until then...have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over Memorial Day weekend. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate much that weekend... was a bit chilly and even rainy. So we never did try the outdoor pool, but we definitely took advantage of the indoor pool, jacuzzi & sauna. Our boys loved the arcade room with pool table & juke box. Gave us plenty to do in our down time at the motel. The passes to Chula Vista were great, especially since it was rainy & cold... an indoor waterpark was perfect. Parking was excellent... always had the spot right in front of your room. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwenra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Black Hawk! It's great to hear that your kids enjoyed our heated indoor pool and retro arcade w/ pool table and juke box....as well as the complimentary Water Park Passes to Chula Vista Waterparks. All of our guest rooms have reserved parking at your door and this is a great convenience to our guests. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Went to the Dells for one night to see a concert. We made a reservation based on tripadvisor reviews. We want to thank everyone for being right on. Room was spotless and in really great shape for age of the Motel. Place was alive with Activity around the Pool and yes it was a throwback not only to the 70's but to the late 50'early 60's when used to go to Dells as a .young boy. It was a joy to stay here. We also made note that it was the only place in area with " NO VACANCEY". Great value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Charles, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on your recent one night stay with us. We are glad that you choose to stay at the Black Hawk and we are happy to hear that we reminded you of places you stayed at as a kid growing up. Back during a time before the hotel chains took over many of the motels that were across the country. We appreciate you noticing that we were the only place in town with "No Vacancy". As my Dad would teach me as a kid and reference the renting of rooms...."you can't rent them in November". Thank you again and we hope to accommodate you again in the future. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
896 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#13 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
936 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
131 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#7 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing