We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality & Inexpensive alternative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Blackhawk motel was clean, quiet, & well maintained. The photos on their website accurately reflected what you received upon arrival. The staff was friendly and willing to accommodate. Staying at the this motel as an alternative to the larger hotels in the Dells was wonderful. Just a few blocks away from the main tourist strip. You definitely get your moneys worth. I had no problems asking for and obtaining extra towels and pillows. There was always fresh coffee in the main office. They also provided free water park passes for Chula Vista just for staying. Everything you could need. The only thing missing was a continental breakfast but otherwise 9/10 and I would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are ground floor making them very elderly & handicap accessible. And they did...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Nadia,...Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review as we learned that you found us to be a clean and well maintained property...at a great price! Sounds like you received good customer service and also enjoyed our coffee. Thanks also for your thoughts on a continental breakfast (which we currently do not offer) as we have thoughts of adding one for our guests....however...with 75 rooms we need ample space to provide seating for 60-100. This is currently something we do not have, however are looking into different options to renovate our office / home to obtain this space. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,652)
There are newer reviews for Black Hawk Motel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,652 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, after we checked out of the big house we rented for our extended family reunion. The Black Hawk was perfect. So, so clean. Seems the rooms have been renovated and have very comfortable beds. Love the classic tile work in the bathrooms. The retro vibe is much appreciated. Our room was perfect for my husband, son and I...a queen bed and a twin. Fabulous indoor and outdoor pools. The game room is a hit -- love all the classic retro games. We left plenty of quarters behind! Convenient to all Dells locations. The free water park pass is such a deal! And the Splash pass was a nice way to save money at different locations. Great hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaraine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Lisa, Thank you for your review and for choosing the Black Hawk. We love to hear that our guests appreciate our retro vibe and it carries into our classic arcade as well. Here guests can find the classics like Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man, Cenitipede, Billiards and more. Glad you like our budget room type of the Queen and Twin. This is a popular room and helps guests stay on a budget, but still has all the same room amenities. Thanks so much and we hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My siblings and I stayed in cottage #74. This was the perfect place for us to stay. It's walking distance to the downtown area. The place was extremely clean and being a hotel housekeeper myself, I was very impressed with the cleaniness here!! The Chula Vista water park passes were an extra bonus. We will definitely be staying here again next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello Heidi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! One of our many goals to achieve with each guest is to provide them with a clean and comfortable room and we love hearing that we have done so...and especially when our guest is a housekeeper! Unit #74 is one of our most popular units and books up quickly as it provides a full kitchen. We look forward to accommodating you and your family next summer! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The owners/managers of the place, Brad and his wife, are wonderful, warm and friendly people. They make you feel welcomed and they make you feel like they have known you forever. After reading all of the great reviews prior to staying at the Black Hawk Motel in the Dells, I was a little disappointed with my stay. Room 19 had a very unpleasant odor, unidentifiable stains in the carpet and one of the bed spreads had a suspicious looking stain on the inside of the cover. A clean motel room is very important to me. However, I have to believe with all of the great reviews this motel get and it get a lot of great reviews, not all of the rooms have the aforementioned concerns that room 19 has. I wish I could have rated this motel higher, as room 19 is very large, spacious and has a great view of the outside pool area and the assigned parking is awesome!

Room Tip: If the aforementioned things listed above are corrected, room 19 is a great room to stay in.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank t h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and for your kind words toward I and my wife Tena. We are sorry that you were a bit disappointed in your stay with us and we apologize for the issues you experienced. We are not sure what the unpleasant odor was in your room...may have been a disinfectant used to mask left over odors in the room when guests decide to do a bit to much cooking in the room. We do have our own carpet cleaning machine and we clean our carpets 1-2 times each season, before we have them done professionally at the end of our season. I will admit that during our busy, height of the season, when we are near or at full occupancy...our carpets may get neglected as time doesn't allow and all stains are spot treated as needed in an effort to remove them. We have cleaned this room since your check out. As far as the stain on the bedspread, we would have been glad to change it for you as it may have been a clean permanant stain as we sometimes have to use our spare bedspreads. We wish you would have brought these issues to our attention as we could have did our best to correct them while you were still a guest with us. We are happy to hear that you loved your reserved parking spot right in front of your door! Thanks again and have a nice rest of the summer. Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Me and my family always stayed at the Black Hawk motel for our family vacations. Plus this was the second time for me taking my girlfriend. We always have a great relaxing time swimming in their nice indoor and outdoor pools. The rooms are always super clean, and very comfortable to stay in. The staff there is always friendly and really helpful with any questions you may have.Its a real good location for walking to all the down town activities. This will always be our motel of choice when staying in the dells.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Hello Kevin,....Thank you for your awesome review as we very much appreciate it! However,...what we really appreciate is your continued years of patronage with you and your family and now your spouse. Glad you enjoy our indoor and outdoor pools and you always find our rooms to be super clean and comfortable. Perhaps next time on your visit with us..you'll want to try one of our king balcony jacuzzi suites? Thanks again and have a great rest of the suumer! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

we had the most amazing time here as usual the only place we will stay in the dells very clean and nice place to say would recommend it to anyone going to the dells !!! We plan to stay at the Black Hawk every time we go back to the Dells!! great room rates and very clean .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angedukat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and your continued years of patronage! We strive on providing a clean and well maintained property at a great value. We really enjoy seeing our numerous repeat guests each season and meeting new guests as well. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you and your family on your next return trip to the Dells. Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

After a long drive through highway construction , it was nice to arrive at this motel and get the rest we needed before heading out to the water park(s) the next few days. The motel is a very short drive away from most of the big waterparks and the town's downtown area. Beds were super comfy there was a TV, microwave and fridge. My daughter still had energy in the evening to take in the pool (both indoor and outdoor) and make some new friends. Staff were helpful in their recommendations for dining. We had waterpark passes for Chula Vista which has both in and outdoor waterpark areas and geared more for younger kids. We received as discount on our Noah's Ark passes too and had a great time . Quiet friendly place. I will be recommending-great value!!

Room Tip: left our towels and bathing suits out to dry all nite no problem. Car is parked in front of room
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Colleen, Thank you so very much for taking the time to write us a review! Sounds like you had a few well rested nights of sleep after having fun each day in the Water Park Capital of the World. We are glad that you enjoyed our pools as well and found our property to be friendly and safe with reserved parking at your door and all for a great value. We look forward to accommodating you next time you are in the Dells. Thanks again and have a great rest of the summer. Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
968 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#24 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
717 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#59 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $59 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing