We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Indian Trail Motel(Wisconsin Dells)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Trail's End Motel(Wisconsin Dells)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ambers Inn & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starlite Motel(Wisconsin Dells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Field's Park Motel(Wisconsin Dells)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Hill Motel(Wisconsin Dells)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fitzgeralds Motel(Wisconsin Dells)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,678)
Filter reviews
1,678 results
Traveler rating
1,355
264
46
11
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,355
264
46
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolplace to staysplash passclose to downtownwaterpark passeschula vistadowntown dellsnoah's arkclean roomswhirlpool suitehot tubup to datethe main stripflat screen tvmini fridgecoffee makerfamily vacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,626 - 1,631 of 1,678 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2008

This was our second stay at the Blackhawk motel. We recommended this hotel to friends for an inexpensive stay in the Dells. Overall - we really liked this motel & plan on returning. Our kids are so used to big hotels so this was a trip to the 60's / 70's for them. On this trip, we went with some other families & they enjoyed the stay also. When you pull up, it looks kinda tired from the outside- (be ready for that) - but once you are in your room for a bit - you love the u shaped layout of the hotel with the pool in the middle. It's definitely a mom & pop motel - which in this case is a good thing. The rooms are clean & nice sized, the bed was very comfortable, and everything was tidy. The room had a faint lysol smell but we could open the screen door and the windows in front and the window in back. Because it is an older hotel - not everything is perfect. The lampshade was a bit overdue to be replaced, the chair had a tiny rip - but we didn't care. The pools were nice - we only did the inside pool because it was cool outside. The kiddie pool wasn't open yet. The people were friendly. Our favorite part was the chairs outside the rooms so we could enjoy some "grown up" time with friends in the night air when our children went to bed. If you are looking for a big waterpark hotel - check out the Wilderness, Kalahari, and Great Wolf. If you are looking for an inexpensive stay while you do the Dells activities - with just an old fashioned pool, stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank travlin-with-tots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We have stayed at the Dells many times and have tried several hotels. This is by far the BEST. For starters, everyone there is very friendly and helpful. The hotel has been around for generations, but unlike most that have been around that long, this hotel is kept up in superior condition.
We have stayed here several times before and have never had one complaint or problem. It seems that they go that extra mile to make sure that there will be no complaints.
This is by far the CLEANEST place we have ever stayed.
They have a nice pool, whirlpool and sauna - all extremely clean also. (We have also had fun playing pool in the game room).
The rooms are comfortable and roomy - we have a large teenage son, if it is comfortable for us, it can be comfortable for anyone. He likes the microwave, fridge and DVD player - all the comforts of home.
To sum it up this place is PERFECTION at an affordable price and take it from someone that has been staying in the Dells at least 4 times a year for many years-there are not too many places that compare.
The only complaint I have is that they are not open all year round so we have no choice but to stay somewhere less than perfect during a couple of our visits.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CustomerWhoCounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

I went here on vacation with my family (12yr old and 15yr old), and everyone loved it! The room was roomy, comfortable, and all of the rooms are close to the pool. I felt like I was at home! Everyone was nice and helpful at the desk, and the hotel and lobby were sparkling clean. The pools were nice, we only went to the outside one, but it was nice to have little water slides. The kids enjoyed it, and had a great time. One my favorite parts was that it was easy to find, it is right downtown, however our MapQuest directions were off about Kalahari, and we got lost. Some of the extra bonuses were things like a DVD player, a roomy room, comfy beds, and just great service! This is a must stay at.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank catlover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the motel for 3 nights to celebrate our first anniversary. We got the king whirlpool room, room 76, and we loved it! It was a blast from the past but everything was in great working order. I've never seen an AC unit that was so old that worked to well! The new bed was so comfy and it also seemed like the shower/tub/toilet and whirlpool were also pretty new. We loved our very large private deck outside our room. We ate dinner out there, drank and even did some sun bathing. The room had everything we needed including a nice bottle opener attached to the wall, it was very handy! The location was also great because it was close enough to town, but far enough from all the action so it was still quiet. The pools were great and very clean. We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cynnibun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

I just got back today from the Dells. My stay in the Black Hawk was above average in regard to the how neat and clean it was. Probably the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. It also seemed like it had been updated recently with new bedding, carpet and curtains.
The downside was the pool. I was traveling with a five year old and he was excited about the pool but the chemicals in it were overpowering. So my husband and son only got to use it once since it had to much chlorine in it and caused major red eye.
The hotel was close to a city park which was great to take my son to (It was one block away). The park has new play equipment. So that was nice. We even were able to catch a Memorial Day parade.
But the hotel is located a little way from the Dells Parkway which has a lot of the attractions for little kids and is kind of a pain to drive through the downtown Dells area.
So this is not the hotel for you if you are looking for a pool or to be close to the parkway.
But if you do want to be close to downtown it is about eight blocks away (could easily walk if you didn't have small children). If you want a clean hotel with a good bed this is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews