We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We usually don't stay at motels, but did so based on TripAdvisor's recommendation. The outside looks a little dated, but the room was well kept and clean. I liked the variety of room options. Good location to downtown, but we drove and parked rather than walked there. Had nice amenities but we did not utilize because of time and rain. Looked at other options while driving through and we will stay at Black Hawk Motel again for future Wisconsin Dells visits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennidwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are glad that the word "Motel" didn't scare you off and you choose to stay with us based on the thoughts of the rest of the Trip Advisor community! Thank you so much for doing so and for also taking the time to write us a review! We actually offer 30 different room choices to choose from and we have rooms for the budget minded traveler, couples or family rooms that sleep from 2 - 10. It makes us feel great that you looked at other accommodation options while staying in the Wisconsin Dells and that you would return to the Black Hawk Motel. Thank you again and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    241
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
839
391
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We picked this place based on other trip advisor reviews. We were very pleased. It has the feel of a 1960's motel, and is extremely clean. The owners are very friendly. We used many of the coupons they gave us. It came with free passes to Chula Vista Waterpark, and it was mediocre, but since it was free, I won't complain.

Darin & Marj DeNeal

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shootist_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello Darin and Marj....Thank you for taking time to write us a quick review on Trip Advisor! Great to hear that you found us to be extremely clean, friendly and a good bargain. In today's tough economy we strive to provide a clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay...while offering many on site and off site amenties with great savings at area attractions and restaurants. We hope to accommodate you on your return trip to the Wisconsin Dells area...call us or book direct with us for choice accommodations. Have an outstanding rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Based on the reviews we read before we made our reservation, we weren't expecting a lot--and we were not disappointed! But the price was right and the location was fine, although it was a little further from downtown than other reviewers had indicated. As we were only there for one night, we didn't need much in the way of amenities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank touts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and we're glad to hear that you were not disappointed and found us to be reasonable. We have 30 different room types and some vary based on if they are a newly remodeled (which many are) and also size. I am not sure what room you had or your rate, especially if booking from a major online travel site...where we pay high commissions. Ultimate room choice and typically the best price can be found by booking directly from our web site or calling direct.. We realize each guests perscpective on location to downtown can be different. We are actually located 4 blocks east of downtown and 6 blocks east to the center of downtown...we also refer to being 10 blocks east of the river bridge for guests who know the area well. Thanks again and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at the Black Hawk for three nights last week for the first time since I was a child. I love the retro buildings as it takes me back to all the great times I had there as a kid. This is definitely where I will be staying for every trip from now on. I love the layout, the pools were so close to our rooms. Everything was super clean-and this is something I am picky about when I stay in a hotel. The rooms even smelled clean, and even though we left our do not disturb sign out one day, housekeeping still called our room to see if we needed anything...how great is that? The beds were comfortable (though I wish there were extra pillows in the room, although I am sure I could have just walked to the office and gotten one). There are so many different room types to choose from which is great when traveling with a group. The grounds, arcade, and pool areas are clean and well maintained. Every staff member we had an interaction with was incredibly friendly. The location is great, and you won't find a better price around the Dells during summer. Absolutely loved our stay and will be back, hopefully before summer ends!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate41012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello Kate, Thanks for going back to your childhood days and reliving them by returning to the Black Hawk! Our family has been helping build lifelong memories for many guests since 1945. We are family owned and operated and my wife and I are third generation operators. I as well, have many childhood memories of growing up in the business and you can learn more about our history at our Face Book page. My wife Tena and I and our entire staff pride ourselves in providing friendly customer service. Thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us a review and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was looking for everything I could get for an affordable price: playground, indoor Heated pool, outdoor pool, playground, passes to the waterpark everyday, convient parking, and a Super Clean Motel. We got all of these at Black Hawk. I read the reviews before I came because I was coming blind and it was everything the reviewers said it was. See you next year: My children had a blast. Get up early for the water park because it gets crowed later.

Room Tip: My room was right across from the indoor pool. It was quite by my room any and we came on a week da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 725Gl0ria_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello,...so happy to hear that our reviewers on Trip Advisor delivered to you as you found us to be everything they said we are! We provide many on site amentities with our heated indoor pool open until at least 11:30 pm each night, our heated outdoor pool with slides and diving board, our retro video pinball arcade, and our playground (plus we are adding another new one next week). All guests receive Free Chula Vista Water Park passes and unlimited Pinecrest Par 3 Golf and many discount offers on other attractions and restaurants. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our annual trips to The Dells always include staying at The Black Hawk. My sister and I took our kids - 4 total- Weds thru Friday of this past week. We stayed in room 20 - which sleeps six comfortably on three full beds (with great mattresses!) We LOVE this hotel because it brings us back to our childhood! They have managed to keep a retro feel from when our parents took us to the Dells, while still having all the modern amenities we need. Where else can you sit on your porch and chat with your neighbors while your children are within eyesight on the playground or in the pool? The rooms and grounds are immaculate (makes me wonder who is cleaning all night long?) The owners take good care of their guests and know the names of the annual "regulars." The price has always been right - and now they include waterpark passes! Can it get any better?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vorps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello Carla, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for your continued patronage to the Black Hawk! We have so many guests tell us that we bring back memories of when they were young and their parents would take them on the annual summer vacation. We pride ourselves on providing a clean and comfortable place to stay while helping family and friends build lifelong memories, all while keeping with our philosophy that we continue to put profits back into the business. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next week on your return trip to the Black Hawk. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Heights, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in room 3, on the first floor of the original building. The room was small but perfect for 3 people. The room was very clean and at least the bathroom has been updated recently. The pictures on their website for the Queen/Twin room are spot-on. At first we thought the maid was a little surly but she was actually very nice. During our stay, we witnessed windows being cleaned, the parking lot being cleaned, the laundry room and even the pool. Our only complaints are that the room needs more hooks to hang up towels/bathing suits and more outlets. The lack of outlets comes with the age of the building. Also, our ice machine didn't work very well but there are plenty of others.The price of the room comes with passes to the Chula Vista Resort Water Park, perfect for our 8 year old. There is a restaurant 1 block east and a Mobil station/Drug store 1 block west. If you are a later sleeper, the office opens around 7:10 for coffee but nothing fancy, just packets of powdered creamer, sugar and Equal. This motel is delightful and fabulous for people on a budget. There is a good reason that the Black Hawk is rated #1 in the area and #4 in the country.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWahlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello Wahler family, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for staying with us for five days while visiting the Wisconsin Dells. Our Queen and Twin rooms are perfect for a family on a budget and although small...they are actually quite popular with many of our regulars. Outside of the sink faucet in your bathroom...the entire bathroom is original...built in 1961...and obviously still in GREAT condition. My Dad looked into adding more outlets years ago to these rooms...however the cost didn't justify the upgrade. We will definitely consider adding more hooks to the bathroom and room area and we also have major plans for this building in the future. We apologize for the ice machine being out from time to time during your stay...as it was in need of being serviced. This is one of the reasons we have a total of four ice machines on the property...both for convenience to our guests and also in the event that one or more may break down. We actually have plumbing and electric in place to add a 5th ice machine which we may do in the future. Thank you again and we hope to accommodate you again in the future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#9 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#23 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#16 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Property: Black Hawk Motel
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing