We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
“Will go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place has a great location in the Dells. Plenty of fun stuff for the kids. The room was clean and recently remodeled. The retro game room was awesome. Both swimming pools were nice as were the 2 hot tubs. Did not use the sauna. Our room had 2 lawn chairs out front for chillin'. The place had a vintage feel but satisfied our "pickiness". Parking was right in front of our room. Next time I will use the outdoor barbecue and stay longer. Room 58 with two full beds was big enough and had lots of windows.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Daniel, Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write us a review. One of our goals we always like to hear from our guests is that they will visit us again. We look forward to accommodating you and your family again as you join our list of many repeat guests. Room #58 has been a popular room choice since 1961 and all our rooms have reserved parking at the door and require a parking permit. Our retro arcade has been a hit for many years...a place where guests can enjoy the games of today...from yesterday. Thanks again and have a great summer. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    228
    39
    10
    2
See reviews for
791
374
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our 3rd year at the Black Hawk. 4 adults and 2 kids. We stayed in the 2 bedroom house, which was awesome!! It is spacious and open, which our 9-month-old grandson loved. We love the feel of the Black Hawk. It's a wonderful place to have a relaxing vacation. Indoor/outdoor pools are warm & clean. Kiddie pool is perfect. Friendly staff. Quiet rooms. Walking distance to downtown. Well-maintained. Free water park passes. Game room. We intend on visiting the Black Hawk every summer & making it a family tradition. It is our home in the Dells!
The Hess Family

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hello Deb...Thank you again for visiting us this year and for taking the time to write us a review! Sounds like our two bedroom house worked out great for the family. It's over 1300 sq. feet and may be our most popular room we have as it books up fast each year. Happy that you noted our pools not only being clean,...but also warm as we believe in heating our pool water to a comfortable temperature, which makes for a more enjoyable swim for our guests. Thank again and Thank you also for following us on Face Book. We hope to accommodate you and your family again next summer. Have a great summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have stayed at Black hawk in the past and loved it and stayed there again our kids love the pools and all the room to play!!! We also got to cook out on the grill!!! Nice and comfortable beds!! Clean room!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hello Kristen,...We accommodate many families each year and we have plenty to do to keep the kids busy....from our heated indoor and outdoor pools, mulitple playgrounds, retro arcade, dvd / cd players in all rooms and FREE Water Park Wristbands for all registered guests. Also...our grill on site are very popular as well. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for being one of our many repeat guests. We look forward to accommodating you and your family again in the near future. Kind regards,...Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had tried to stay at the Black Hawk Motel a couple of years ago, but had to cancel our trip a few days before our arrival due to a death in the family. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating regarding the matter. It was great to see such a high level of customer support and I vowed that the next time we went to the Dells, we would for sure be booking a room here.

We finally got that chance this year and it was a great experience. The location was close enough to the downtown that we could just walk and the rooms were very clean and inviting. Not to mention, it was a great price! We will definitely be staying at the Black Hawk Motel the next time we come to the Dells.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ercaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, as we very much appreciate it! We are happy that you had a chance to finally visit us and I believe I remember talking w/ you when you had to unfortunately cancel a few years ago and then I spoke with you at check out time. We love when our guests have a great experience! We are experiencing more guests commenting on our proximity to downtown and how close we are, which is only a short 4 block walk to the start of downtown Wisconsin Dells. We hope to have the chance to accommodate you and your family again in the future. Thank you and have a great day! Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Thank you so much for having such a clean well kept motel, it is absolutely wonderful. After a 5 hour drive it was so refreshing to walk into a room that was so clean and nice. I can certainly see that your family takes great pride in your motel. I will certainly recommend it to all my friends and family and I will come back next time I am in the Dells. Staff and owners are both friendly and very helpful no request went unanswered!!! Thank you again for the great stay!!!!

Jeri Hunt

Room Tip: If you want a clean room with plenty for family to do this is your place!!!! I would give it 10 star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Jeri, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing the Black Hawk Motel on your recent visit to the Wisconsin Dells. We are family owned and operated since 1945 and have always believed in putting profits back into the business. As a youth...I seen the pride my Parents took in operating the business and this pride was installed in myself and now in my wife and staff as we are the 3rd generation to operate the Black Hawk. To learn more about our history...visit our Face Book page link from our home page and start at 02/01/2013. Thanks again for your wonderful review and for letting your friends and family know about us....we truly appreciate it as it helps this family run business compete agaisnt the large mega resort and the cookie cutter chain hotels of today. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was last minute in reserving a hotel room for the weekend of fathers day for the All-Star basketball games and Black Hawk Motel was available. It's not your big resort with a water park, but, it is close to down town and the fieldhouse and you don't have to fight the horrible traffic - the staff was very nice and accomodating, the rooms were VERY clean -small, but clean. I would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMBryson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you found us to be right for the money and very clean! We are located just 9 blocks east of Just A Game Fieldhouse with a straight shot down Washington Ave. Sounds like you had one of our budget rooms because you said your room was small. We do have 30 different room types from over 1300 sq. feet to small budget rooms. During peak times rooms reserved thru third party travel sites may be obligated to budget rooms due to high commissions we pay. The best rates can always be found by booking directly thru us. We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and that you would stay with us again! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Five different families from our baseball club stayed for two nights. We all agreed how nice everything was and would come back again. The kids went back and forth between the indoor and outdoor pools after a day of tournament. Parents were able to relax and socialize poolside and still be able to watch the kids. While at the pool, another guest commented that him and his family have been coming here for 20 years.

Rooms were really clean and comfortable with plenty of room for family of 4. We had an adjoining room with another family so that worked well. Small fridge and microwave was helpful. Little patio seating outside your room was nice so you can enjoy the evening while the kids slept.

We will certainly be back, enjoyed the retro charm it has! Way better than a recent stay we had at one of the resorts.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double queen room, #34, which was adjoined to #35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmdraeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We appreciate your review and for choosing the Black Hawk as your home base for your recent tournament weekend! Great to hear that the kids enjoyed our heated indoor and outdoor pools while the parents enjoyed conversation together. We do have a retro feel to our property with all rooms have exterior entrances and reserved parking at your door. All rooms also include a fridge, microwave and table and two chairs outside each room. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future and found it fitting that your team name is the BLACKHAWKS! Thanks again, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#20 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#10 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#13 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#37 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Property: Black Hawk Motel
Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing