We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a well kept, clean, family run motel. We stayed in May 2013, before the summer rush. Indoor pool and hot tub are very nice and clean. Rooms updated and clean. Definitely a great price and a great place to stay. We will stay there again when in the Dells. Andy & Carol, Fort Worth, TX

Room Tip: Ask for a newly remolded room, they are almost finished, May 2013
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hello Andy and Carol, Thanks for choosing the Black Hawk while visiting from the great state of Texas! We appreciate your review and your patronage. We are family owned and operated since 1945. My parents took over operations of the Black Hawk in 1959 as 2nd generation and my wife and I took over operations in 2003, as 3rd generation. If you are interested you can learn some of our history on our Face Book page. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! We have many rooms that are newly remodeled and visit our website for detailed room descriptions of our 30 different room types. Our next remodeled block will be ready this week. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    237
    40
    10
    2
See reviews for
830
380
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson wi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my husbands birthday. The hot tub room we stayed in was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. We very much enjoyed the large hot tub. The only issues we had was the wireless internet was not working and the owners were right on it to fix it. He even gave us a discount because of this, which we did not expect as the rooms we're so reasonable. He also followed up with a call to let us know what he did and thanked us for staying with them. We truly appreciated the personal touch they offered us.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello Susan, Thank you again for choosing the Black Hawk as your birthday celebration destination and for taking the time to write us a review! I also appreciated letting us know that the Wi-Fi was not working during part of your stay. We are always concerned with all issues that our guests may experience and try our best to make the situation right. I was curious w/ the issue you experienced w/ your Wi-Fi because we just upgraded our speed by 10 times what we have currently had in past years. Turns out that the system needed to be rebooted and our company that monitors all activity were able to reboot the network. We're glad you enjoyed your room and the hot tub. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and perhaps you'll want to try our king whirlpool balcony suites. These rooms have whirlpools that are even larger and have custom tiled walk in showers. Thanks again and have a great spring! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This motel is very clean and the staff was great. We have stayed here twice in the last 6 months. The property was always clean and well maintained. The staff is very helpful and polite. We have only stayed during the off season so it has been very quiet. The motel is only about 5 blocks from downtown, so we were able to walk there. (We actually walked all the way to Pirate's Cove) They also give you Chula Vista water park passes which is a good bonus.

Room Tip: Some units are remodeled
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello Amanda,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for becoming one of our many repeat guests! We are happy to hear that you find us to be a great Wisconsin Dells Value. All registered guests recieve FREE Chula Vista Water Park passes and a FREE Dells Splash Pass for each room reserved. We have a total of 30 different room types to choose from, many are newly remodeled...and we are working on many right now. Anyone who would like a specific room can visit our website for detailed room descriptions and photos. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and for your review,...have a outstanding spring and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have been staying here for years and years, from golf trips with friends to staying with family from grand parents and kids. from Brad and his wife (owners) and their staff,, everything is neat, clean, and well maintained. Excellent value for the money and they always go out of their way to make you feel at home!!!!

Room Tip: many different options from small rooms to cabins for larger families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Chuck, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and more importantly for your many years of continued patronage! Accommodating great people like you, Barb, the rest of your family and the numerous other guests that visit the Black Hawk is one of the most rewarding benefits of operating our family business. On your next golf trip, keep in mind that we also now offer the Camp Wawbeek golf card at a 25% discount ($15) and it offers two for one greens fees for Trapper's Turn, Cold Water Canyon, Devil's Head, Spring Brook and many other great courses in centeral Wisconsin. Thanks again and have a great summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Black Hawk Motel for one night on a short business trip to the Dells. We've always been pleased with our clean room and grounds as well as the friendly staff. You will notice some of this years new changes from the moment you check in. You now can book on line and that makes checking in quicker than ever.

It's also been really interesting watching the Black Hawks face book page the past few months as the owners have been telling the history of the the busines and the family over the past 63 years. We will be back this season for sure.

Patrick

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun2playarcadegames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Hey Pat...it's always great to see you each spring when you make your business trip to the Dells. Thanks once again for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us a review. We are excited about our method of booking reservations and after 68 years in business is a welcomed change as it's giving our many repeat and new guests another option of how to book with us and will allow us even more ways to accommodate our guests as our planned expansion nears. We're glad that you have enjoyed our history of the Black Hawk and my family on Face Book. I started on February 1st, 2013 and it's been memorable looking at the photos and posting stories. Thanks again and have a great summer! Kind regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed in a Queen room and a 3-bed Double room. Both rooms were recently remodeled. They had very nice beds, and the bathrooms were clean. It was the quietest motel I've ever slept at - though we were there off peek, and it was a weekend where it snowed. Both rooms also would have had plenty of room for a roll away bed. The hotel is slightly off the busy touristy parts, so it's nice and quiet. The front desk will call you a shuttle to go to the casino, if you want.

Both rooms, however, we had a little trouble getting the room temperature right. Both rooms had dials that said, high and low, and there was really no indication of if you were in the 60s or 70s as far as temp - so after a hour, we decided it was still to cold, and cranked it up a bit.

Room Tip: The recently remodeled Queen rooms were $5 more than the regular rooms when I stayed there, but well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigereye79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing your weekend getaway at the Black Hawk. We don't usually see snow in April...but it seems like spring doesn't want to arrive this year. Rooms 19 and 20 are our rooms with the 3 Double (full) beds and have been a very popular room choice for over 30 years and our Queen Poolside rooms are now all newly remodeled and have been one of our most requested room types for years. We agree that some of our rooms don't actually have a temperture setting on the therostat dial, they have a number setting and we'll look into possibly improving this setting...possibly with a sign which relates the number to the temperture. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to accommodate you once again in the near future. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have nothing but good to say about this motel. It is not only clean and a great price with modern updates, but conveniently located in downtown Wisconsin Dells. If looking for a place to stay in the Dells again, I will definitely consider Black Hawk Motel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christie59884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Christie, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us, as both your review and patronage is truly appreciated! We have many newly renovated rooms and even our rooms which are not the most recently renovated, like all rooms still offer: a clean room, w/ a comfortable bed at a great price! When you plan to return to the Dells, please check our web site for detailed room information on our 30 different room types. Kind regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#5 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#9 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#18 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#17 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Property: Black Hawk Motel
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing