We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Spring business stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spring business stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Black Hawk Motel for one night on a short business trip to the Dells. We've always been pleased with our clean room and grounds as well as the friendly staff. You will notice some of this years new changes from the moment you check in. You now can book on line and that makes checking in quicker than ever.

It's also been really interesting watching the Black Hawks face book page the past few months as the owners have been telling the history of the the busines and the family over the past 63 years. We will be back this season for sure.

Patrick

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun2playarcadegames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Hey Pat...it's always great to see you each spring when you make your business trip to the Dells. Thanks once again for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us a review. We are excited about our method of booking reservations and after 68 years in business is a welcomed change as it's giving our many repeat and new guests another option of how to book with us and will allow us even more ways to accommodate our guests as our planned expansion nears. We're glad that you have enjoyed our history of the Black Hawk and my family on Face Book. I started on February 1st, 2013 and it's been memorable looking at the photos and posting stories. Thanks again and have a great summer! Kind regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,182
    236
    39
    10
    2
See reviews for
825
379
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed in a Queen room and a 3-bed Double room. Both rooms were recently remodeled. They had very nice beds, and the bathrooms were clean. It was the quietest motel I've ever slept at - though we were there off peek, and it was a weekend where it snowed. Both rooms also would have had plenty of room for a roll away bed. The hotel is slightly off the busy touristy parts, so it's nice and quiet. The front desk will call you a shuttle to go to the casino, if you want.

Both rooms, however, we had a little trouble getting the room temperature right. Both rooms had dials that said, high and low, and there was really no indication of if you were in the 60s or 70s as far as temp - so after a hour, we decided it was still to cold, and cranked it up a bit.

Room Tip: The recently remodeled Queen rooms were $5 more than the regular rooms when I stayed there, but well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigereye79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing your weekend getaway at the Black Hawk. We don't usually see snow in April...but it seems like spring doesn't want to arrive this year. Rooms 19 and 20 are our rooms with the 3 Double (full) beds and have been a very popular room choice for over 30 years and our Queen Poolside rooms are now all newly remodeled and have been one of our most requested room types for years. We agree that some of our rooms don't actually have a temperture setting on the therostat dial, they have a number setting and we'll look into possibly improving this setting...possibly with a sign which relates the number to the temperture. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to accommodate you once again in the near future. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have nothing but good to say about this motel. It is not only clean and a great price with modern updates, but conveniently located in downtown Wisconsin Dells. If looking for a place to stay in the Dells again, I will definitely consider Black Hawk Motel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christie59884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Christie, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us, as both your review and patronage is truly appreciated! We have many newly renovated rooms and even our rooms which are not the most recently renovated, like all rooms still offer: a clean room, w/ a comfortable bed at a great price! When you plan to return to the Dells, please check our web site for detailed room information on our 30 different room types. Kind regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stay at black hawk every year and always have a pleasant experience. The owners are so nice, and the rooms are spotless. The beds are new and very comfortable. The indoor and outdoor pool areas are always clean and well kept.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lv2trvlwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write us a review and more importantly for your continued patronage each year. We appreciate your comments regarding my wife Tena and I. We have a simple recipe that we believe in and that is treating others the way that we would want to be treated, after all...life is to short, so why not be nice? We agree that our Sealy Encore Plush Beds are VERY comfortable and after purchasing new beds for all our rooms, we soon found our selfs purchasing the same new beds for each bedroom in our home. Thanks again for visiting this year and have a great summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were so happy with our stay! Best Value and I was so impressed with the rooms.
Clean. We kept. Updated. Everyone was so friendly.
You get free water park passes and a Splash Pass. What more could you want?
Oh and the beds were awesome.
Thank You Black Hawk for making our weekend!

Room Tip: Call them direct. Lots of options
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Jenny, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing to spend your weekend getaway at the Black Hawk! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be a great bargain. The FREE Water Park Wristbands to Chula Vista's Water Parks and the FREE Dells Splash Pass allow for a great way to extend the fun at no extra charge. The Splash Pass is great buy one get one FREE Discount Card which includes Mt. Olympus Theme park and Wild Fun Zone. We do have 30 different room types to choose from and the best rate and preferred room type is usually always found by calling us direct. Thanks for telling others about us and we hope to accommodate you and your family again in the near future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

From the time of arrival to departure we always felt welcomed. The check in was smooth and offered to help with directions or help with anything during our stay. We had the king budget room that was so clean. Bed was nice and comfortable. The indoor pool was very nice. This motel is a 70's classic that they keep updated. My only complaint is I wish it wasn't so popular!!!

Room Tip: There is no bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auctioneerDePere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for becoming one of our many repeat guests! We truly appreciate your continued patronage and the fact that you choose to stay at our classic motel. We continually believe in putting money back into the business and we're glad that you found your King Budget room clean and comfortable and well as our indoor pool, which is always kept warm and open until 11:30 pm each night. Thank you again have a great summer....we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My daughter and I are in town this weekend for a chess tournament so we were originally planning on staying one night but have decided to extend our stay for tomorrow night too. DOnt let looks fool you. They took a traditional motel and gave it modern updates while keeping its classic appeal.
Upon walking into the room it had that "new furniture smell" and was spotless! The beds were comfy with fluffy pillows there wad a table (which unfortunately many motels lack these days)so my daughter and I could practice for her tournament. The water pressure in the shower was awesome and thete are lawn chairs outside for each room (just too bad the weather this spring is not cooperating and it was too cold outside to enjoy them)
The room also had a fridge and microwave. We were right across from the indoor pool (outdoor one was closed for the season) and the pool was clean large and included a hot tub, sauna, shower room and adjacent to a game room with a pool table.
The room came with complimentary passes to the Chula Vista waterpark for all the days we are staying- including the day of checkout and a 2 for 1 passcard good for certain restaurants and attractions. The room has 2 queen beds and was only $70 per night!
With all the ammenities and the room's condition it was the best money I've ever spent on a motel room. Their prices are attractive to tourists and not overpriced like so many other places are in the area. I respect that they offer great rooms and facilities but don't take advantage of your wallet.
From now on this is the ONLY place we will stay at when we come to the Dells!
The only negative was there is no cover on the toilet seat and with the shelf above the toilet it is easy for things to fall into it. But that certainly is not a "make or break" matter. If you stay at a resort you are overpaying and missing out on treasures like here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickybaird75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hello,
Thank you so much for taking time out of your stay to write us a review. We're happy to hear that your stay with us is the best money that you have ever spent on a motel room. We have always believed in providing a clean, comfortable room w/ mulitiple amenities at a reasonable price....in a classic motel with modern upgrades.We hope you found time to enjoy the warm water in our indoor pool, which is open until 11:30 pm each night. Hopefully you did well in the tournament this weekend and we look forward to accommodating you on your next trip to the Wisconsin Dells area. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#5 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#10 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#19 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#37 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Property: Black Hawk Motel
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing