We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I wish I had come here sooner. I'm staying an extra day.The best motel ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wish I had come here sooner. I'm staying an extra day.The best motel ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My daughter and I are in town this weekend for a chess tournament so we were originally planning on staying one night but have decided to extend our stay for tomorrow night too. DOnt let looks fool you. They took a traditional motel and gave it modern updates while keeping its classic appeal.
Upon walking into the room it had that "new furniture smell" and was spotless! The beds were comfy with fluffy pillows there wad a table (which unfortunately many motels lack these days)so my daughter and I could practice for her tournament. The water pressure in the shower was awesome and thete are lawn chairs outside for each room (just too bad the weather this spring is not cooperating and it was too cold outside to enjoy them)
The room also had a fridge and microwave. We were right across from the indoor pool (outdoor one was closed for the season) and the pool was clean large and included a hot tub, sauna, shower room and adjacent to a game room with a pool table.
The room came with complimentary passes to the Chula Vista waterpark for all the days we are staying- including the day of checkout and a 2 for 1 passcard good for certain restaurants and attractions. The room has 2 queen beds and was only $70 per night!
With all the ammenities and the room's condition it was the best money I've ever spent on a motel room. Their prices are attractive to tourists and not overpriced like so many other places are in the area. I respect that they offer great rooms and facilities but don't take advantage of your wallet.
From now on this is the ONLY place we will stay at when we come to the Dells!
The only negative was there is no cover on the toilet seat and with the shelf above the toilet it is easy for things to fall into it. But that certainly is not a "make or break" matter. If you stay at a resort you are overpaying and missing out on treasures like here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickybaird75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hello,
Thank you so much for taking time out of your stay to write us a review. We're happy to hear that your stay with us is the best money that you have ever spent on a motel room. We have always believed in providing a clean, comfortable room w/ mulitiple amenities at a reasonable price....in a classic motel with modern upgrades.We hope you found time to enjoy the warm water in our indoor pool, which is open until 11:30 pm each night. Hopefully you did well in the tournament this weekend and we look forward to accommodating you on your next trip to the Wisconsin Dells area. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    241
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
840
392
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This motel does not disappoint- we had a great anniversary getaway. The Balcony King Jacuzzi suite was better than I could have hoped! The bed was extremely comfortable and I am picky and really love my bed at home. The room was clean and warm, temps were not kind for their opening weekend in the Dells! The pictures do not do it justice, I only wish the weather was better so we could have enjoyed the actual balcony area! We both kept saying how awesome it would be in the summer, we are already hoping to bring our teen daughters up this summer for a stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellamills33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
It sounds like the cold climate didn't stop you from having a great anniversary weekend! I sincerely want to say "Thank You" for choosing to spend your special weekend with us and for taking the time to write us a review. Our whirlpool king balcony suites are two of our most popular rooms and the balcony is always a big hit when the weather permits. Thanks again for joining us on our opening weekend and we look forward to hopefully seeing you this summer when our outdoor pool is crystal clear, surrounded by flowers and our diving board is in full use and Chief Black Hawk is uncovered. BTW...my best friend, Mr. Elsen is a high school teacher in Janesville....perhaps your daughters know him? Thanks again and enjoy the warmer weather..which is finally in the forecast. Kind regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Black Hawk Motel is a fabulous throw back to the motels of the '70's. My family and I spent 2 nights and the beds were very comfortable, the rooms extremely clean (yes, I even checked the mattresses), and the staff was very nice. With passes to one of the waterparks included with our stay it was very budget friendly. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hello Lee,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and joining us for our opening weekend in 2013! We very much appreciate that you choose to stay with us and that you will be recommending us to friends and family. Our family business has built our reputation on cleanliness, but we have always believed in keeping our room rates reasonable, with budget friendly rates, while providing extra room amentities...both on site and off. Thanks again and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at Black Hawk, got a great deal through hotels.ca. Great motel, great area. Staff was good, rooms were small but perfect for the 2 of us as we didn't spend much time in the room. The pool and hot tub were good. We never used our free passes to the watersides as we didn't have enough time. I would recommend this place to anyone that is going to The Dells. My boyfriend and myself also liked the fact that you had a balcony with a few chairs and that u could see your car as it was right outside your room.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrystal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the Wisconsin Dells. Sounds like you had one of our budget rooms w/ a Queen bed. During the peak summer months most of our rooms available on the major travel sites w/ one bed are our budget rooms and are a bit smaller...but still have all the amenities of our largest rooms. Check out website for our 30 different room types and detailed room descriptions. We're glad you enjoyed our pools and our indoor is open until 11:30 pm each night and all our rooms have reserved parking right by your door and we're also just a short walk to the downtown Wisconsin Dells area. We hope to accommodate you again this summer and new this year is a complimentary Dells Splash Pass for each room reserved which gets you a buy one get one free admission to Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park, plus other great savings. Thanks again and have a great spring season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Cold rainy spring day about two years ago, we called to see if we could get a room with just a regular pool instead of the loud, over-priced resorts. Now, other than our winter trips, the BH is the only place we go. Love the cottages, pools, and that you can walk downtown. Add free golf and CV tickets if it rains, and you have a great deal. Place is always full, so book early. We hit the Dells 5 times a year and have stayed just about everywhere, but after 2 nights at the Wilderness this weekend, we are ready for the B H to open!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank bjm1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I believe this is Brian...thanks for taking the time to write us a great review! Sorry we were closed this past weekend and couldn't accommodate you and your family. Definitely have thoughts and plans of opening earlier than April. It's great to hear that you found us on a rainy spring day. Our indoor pool is open until 11:30 pm each night and we'll be having the complimentary Chula Vista Water Park passes again this year as well as the Dells Splash Pass and we hope to have the complimentary golf as well. We look forward to seeing you and your family again this year and have a great rest of the winter! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Me and a couple buddies stayed here on a motorcycle trip. Perfect layover. Very well kept classic motel. Price was awesome and the owner was really nice. Room was good. Everything really clean. What more can you ask for? I'd stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xOmegaManx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! It's great that you can get together w/ friends and take a bike ride and we're glad that you chose the Black Hawk as a stop over point. We have 30 different room types to choose from, from budget to large accommodations w/ kitchens. We hope to accommodate you again on your next road trip and if you would like the same room, please let us know...as all our rooms do have reserved parking. If there's inclement weather in the forcast for the evening, let us know if you would like to park your bikes inside our garage for the night. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our family had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stay! We have an 11yr old and a 4yr old and just loved the motel, they want to go back this summer. Its very clean and comfrotable w/ a retro feel. I loved the lawn chairs outside your door and window. Its peaceful, clean and comfortable what else would you ask for...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karla r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Karla,
We love hearing when our guests enjoy our Retro feel. Many guests tell us all the time that they love staying with us because of our Retro feel and they want their children to experiece a vacation the way that Mom and Dad did when they traveled as kids. We are Family Owned and Operated since 1945 and a regular repeat guest once wrote us a review and titled it "Retro meets Modern". Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and we look forward to accommodating you and your family again this summer! King regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#19 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#16 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Value Inn
All Star Value Inn
#2 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
3.9 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#11 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Property: Black Hawk Motel
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing