We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Kids love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kids love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Cold rainy spring day about two years ago, we called to see if we could get a room with just a regular pool instead of the loud, over-priced resorts. Now, other than our winter trips, the BH is the only place we go. Love the cottages, pools, and that you can walk downtown. Add free golf and CV tickets if it rains, and you have a great deal. Place is always full, so book early. We hit the Dells 5 times a year and have stayed just about everywhere, but after 2 nights at the Wilderness this weekend, we are ready for the B H to open!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank bjm1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I believe this is Brian...thanks for taking the time to write us a great review! Sorry we were closed this past weekend and couldn't accommodate you and your family. Definitely have thoughts and plans of opening earlier than April. It's great to hear that you found us on a rainy spring day. Our indoor pool is open until 11:30 pm each night and we'll be having the complimentary Chula Vista Water Park passes again this year as well as the Dells Splash Pass and we hope to have the complimentary golf as well. We look forward to seeing you and your family again this year and have a great rest of the winter! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    241
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
839
391
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Me and a couple buddies stayed here on a motorcycle trip. Perfect layover. Very well kept classic motel. Price was awesome and the owner was really nice. Room was good. Everything really clean. What more can you ask for? I'd stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xOmegaManx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! It's great that you can get together w/ friends and take a bike ride and we're glad that you chose the Black Hawk as a stop over point. We have 30 different room types to choose from, from budget to large accommodations w/ kitchens. We hope to accommodate you again on your next road trip and if you would like the same room, please let us know...as all our rooms do have reserved parking. If there's inclement weather in the forcast for the evening, let us know if you would like to park your bikes inside our garage for the night. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our family had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stay! We have an 11yr old and a 4yr old and just loved the motel, they want to go back this summer. Its very clean and comfrotable w/ a retro feel. I loved the lawn chairs outside your door and window. Its peaceful, clean and comfortable what else would you ask for...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karla r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Karla,
We love hearing when our guests enjoy our Retro feel. Many guests tell us all the time that they love staying with us because of our Retro feel and they want their children to experiece a vacation the way that Mom and Dad did when they traveled as kids. We are Family Owned and Operated since 1945 and a regular repeat guest once wrote us a review and titled it "Retro meets Modern". Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and we look forward to accommodating you and your family again this summer! King regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We've been staying at the Black Hawk for several years now. We had the opportunity to stay at The Wilderness resort with my son's boy scout troop. I was worried that it would make me not want to stay at the Black Hawk anymore. The opposite turned out to be true! The whole time we were staying at the Wilderness, I was wishing we were back at the the Black Hawk where it is quiet, relaxed, not crowded, clean, friendly, and all of the other things you've been reading about. We spend every Father's Day weekend in the Dells with a large group and look forward to staying in our same "wing" of rooms. Every year, The Black Hawk surprises us with something new and improved. Last summer it was remodeled rooms and bathrooms. What will it be in 2013? Can't wait to find out! P.S. We stayed in the house on the property during our last trip in November. It was just as nice as the rest of the Black Hawk.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bethany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Bethany, Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write us an awesome review as it is very much appreciated! We appreciate even more all of your continued patronage with all of the Huber family and friends over the years! The Wilderness has some unbelievable waterparks and things to do. We offer a different type of lodging experience as the Black Hawk has been family owned and operated since 1945 and we are trying to preserve a piece of "True Americana" with yearly and modern upgrades. My parents had a few simple rules while running the Black Hawk for 44+ years...."always put money back into the business". This year, as every year we are doing the same. We're glad to hear you enjoyed staying in our two bedroom house recently and we'll look forward to seeing everyone this Father's Day weekend as we have your rooms reserved for you with your own reserved parking spots. Thanks again and have a great rest of the winter. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This past July was our third time staying at the Black Hawk Motel. It has become our yearly tradition! It is a mom & pop motel, a refreshing change of pace from the huge 'water park' hotels, and the couple who owns it are lovely. We get one of the small 'cabins' that have a jacuzzi bath. The room is very clean and the beds are heavenly. The pool is small but always sparkling clean. They have fresh coffee in the lobby all day and is it very good. You can walk downtown easily so you do not have to worry about parking. If you want great value and a clean room with friendly people, this is the place!

Room Tip: The little seperate 'cabins' with the jacuzzi tubs are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hello Julie, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Our jacuzzi rooms are some of the most popular of our 30 room types to choose from. Most of our cottages allow for extra privacy w/ no common walls, with reserved parking right by your door. We are just a short 6 block walk to the center of downtown Wisconsin Dells, yet all of the major attractions are within about a 5 mile radius of us. We truly enjoy welcoming all our many repeat guests back each year, as well as our first time guests! We look forward to seeing you again this summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Heights, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for week at the Black Hawk at the end of August and loved every minute of it! Our room fit our needs perfectly, the arcade was entertaining, the pools were clean, we were walking distance from downtown - absolutely no complaints. We will be back again and again and again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello Tracy, Thanks so much for taking a few minutes to write us a review and for choosing the Black Hawk and the Wisconsin Dells for your vacation spot. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you plan on returning and joining our many repeat guests. Check out our web site for our 30 different room types and if you would like to have the same room, just let us know. Thanks again and we look forward to accommodating you and your family again this summer and have great rest of the winter! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at the Black Hawk Motel more then a dozen times over the years and have been 100% satisfied every time. This hotel is great for children with both indoor and outdoor pools. The price is affordable and the rooms and grounds are always clean and well maintained. The front desk people are friendly, helpful, and treat you like family. It is an older hotel but very well maintained. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and large.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rockabilly3259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for your continued patronage over the years! We believe in keeping our rates reasonable, while providing our guests with a clean room and comfortable bed, great customer service and many amenities both on property and off. We glad you think we're the best value in the Dells and we look forward to hopefully seeing you in the spring. Have a great holiday season and thanks again! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#5 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#9 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#23 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#16 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Property: Black Hawk Motel
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing