We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Like it even better after staying at the Wilderness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like it even better after staying at the Wilderness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We've been staying at the Black Hawk for several years now. We had the opportunity to stay at The Wilderness resort with my son's boy scout troop. I was worried that it would make me not want to stay at the Black Hawk anymore. The opposite turned out to be true! The whole time we were staying at the Wilderness, I was wishing we were back at the the Black Hawk where it is quiet, relaxed, not crowded, clean, friendly, and all of the other things you've been reading about. We spend every Father's Day weekend in the Dells with a large group and look forward to staying in our same "wing" of rooms. Every year, The Black Hawk surprises us with something new and improved. Last summer it was remodeled rooms and bathrooms. What will it be in 2013? Can't wait to find out! P.S. We stayed in the house on the property during our last trip in November. It was just as nice as the rest of the Black Hawk.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bethany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Bethany, Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write us an awesome review as it is very much appreciated! We appreciate even more all of your continued patronage with all of the Huber family and friends over the years! The Wilderness has some unbelievable waterparks and things to do. We offer a different type of lodging experience as the Black Hawk has been family owned and operated since 1945 and we are trying to preserve a piece of "True Americana" with yearly and modern upgrades. My parents had a few simple rules while running the Black Hawk for 44+ years...."always put money back into the business". This year, as every year we are doing the same. We're glad to hear you enjoyed staying in our two bedroom house recently and we'll look forward to seeing everyone this Father's Day weekend as we have your rooms reserved for you with your own reserved parking spots. Thanks again and have a great rest of the winter. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    241
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
840
392
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This past July was our third time staying at the Black Hawk Motel. It has become our yearly tradition! It is a mom & pop motel, a refreshing change of pace from the huge 'water park' hotels, and the couple who owns it are lovely. We get one of the small 'cabins' that have a jacuzzi bath. The room is very clean and the beds are heavenly. The pool is small but always sparkling clean. They have fresh coffee in the lobby all day and is it very good. You can walk downtown easily so you do not have to worry about parking. If you want great value and a clean room with friendly people, this is the place!

Room Tip: The little seperate 'cabins' with the jacuzzi tubs are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hello Julie, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Our jacuzzi rooms are some of the most popular of our 30 room types to choose from. Most of our cottages allow for extra privacy w/ no common walls, with reserved parking right by your door. We are just a short 6 block walk to the center of downtown Wisconsin Dells, yet all of the major attractions are within about a 5 mile radius of us. We truly enjoy welcoming all our many repeat guests back each year, as well as our first time guests! We look forward to seeing you again this summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Heights, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for week at the Black Hawk at the end of August and loved every minute of it! Our room fit our needs perfectly, the arcade was entertaining, the pools were clean, we were walking distance from downtown - absolutely no complaints. We will be back again and again and again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello Tracy, Thanks so much for taking a few minutes to write us a review and for choosing the Black Hawk and the Wisconsin Dells for your vacation spot. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you plan on returning and joining our many repeat guests. Check out our web site for our 30 different room types and if you would like to have the same room, just let us know. Thanks again and we look forward to accommodating you and your family again this summer and have great rest of the winter! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at the Black Hawk Motel more then a dozen times over the years and have been 100% satisfied every time. This hotel is great for children with both indoor and outdoor pools. The price is affordable and the rooms and grounds are always clean and well maintained. The front desk people are friendly, helpful, and treat you like family. It is an older hotel but very well maintained. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and large.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rockabilly3259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for your continued patronage over the years! We believe in keeping our rates reasonable, while providing our guests with a clean room and comfortable bed, great customer service and many amenities both on property and off. We glad you think we're the best value in the Dells and we look forward to hopefully seeing you in the spring. Have a great holiday season and thanks again! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here overnight in October. We typically would stay in a larger hotel than this but the positive reviews about the motel made us decide to stay here, and those reviews were accurate. It was extremely clean and quiet. It is family owned and operated and the owner who checked us in to our room was friendly and helpful. When we went to our room the TV did not work, which the owner came to check immediately after we told him about it and promptly fixed the problem. We stayed in a room with two queen beds that had been updated last winter, and the bed was very comfortable. The motel is within walking distance of downtown Wisconsin Dells. We would strongly recommend the Black Hawk Motel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hello Cathy, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review in regards to your recent stay with us! We appreciate all of our reviews and love hearing when we have met our guests expectations. Our Two Queen Superior (which you stayed in) has been one of our most popular room types for many years and we've had countless compliments on our Sealy Plush Beds. Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and supporting our family owned business. We are family owned and operated since 1945 and my wife Tena and I are the Black Hawk's 3rd generation. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the near future! Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here and were pleasantly surprised the rooms have been updated/remodeled. We stayed in their two bedroom house and it was perfect. Had all of the amenities and was just a short walk away from the office area. Indoor pool and games for the cold season and outdoor area for the summer. The employees were very friendly. Also, the motel was about a mile away from the downtown area. We walked over a few times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rulby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for visiting us for a second time and joining our many repeat guests! At over 1300 sq. ft. our two bedroom house is one of our most requested room types. It has it's own fully equipped kitchen w/ fridge, freezer, ice maker, washer and dryer, and centeral air. Also included is a 16 x 24 deck w/ private charcoal grill. We are located on the east end of downtown, just a short 10 minute walk to the center of downtown. No matter spring, summer, or fall we offer plenty to do with our heated indoor and outdoor pools w/ slides and diving board, our retro arcade w/ billiard and pinball games, mulitple playgrounds for the kids. We are also just two blocks from Bowman Park and the public tennis courts are a 1/2 block from us. If families want to venture offsite, all of the great Wisconsin Dells attractions are just within a 5 mile radius of us and we include free water park passes to Chula Vista Water Parks for all registered guests. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again for the 2013 season. Have a great winter and holiday season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My children and I enjoyed four nights at the Black Hawk late this summer. Not wanting to stay in a huge, expensive, impersonal mall of a hotel, I chose this motel as it was reasonably priced, walking distance to the Dells downtown area, and family owed and operated. We were not disappointed. The owners were wonderful! This is what the Dells use to be when I was kid. The place was clean and well maintained. There were plenty of activities for the kids as well. They preferred the small pool at the motel to the large impersonal waterslide disneyland craziness as they found it easy to meet and play with other children. Before I was out of bed - they were swimming in the pool! We will return next summer. Regards, K Milwaukee, WIsconsin.

Room Tip: Go with the rooms with kitchenettes. Why go out to a crowded expensive restaurant for a bowl of cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank k w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are family owned and operated since 1945, Tena and I are 3rd generation and perhaps our young boys will want to continue on making us 4th generation? Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write us a review! Sounds like the kids really enjoyed our heated indoor and outdoor pools, along with our slides and diving board, and we also brought back memories for you when you were a kid. Our indoor pool is open until 11:30 pm each night and because of our guest reguests, we'll have earlier pool hours starting in 2013. We do have limited kitchenette units, however we offer 30 different room types to choose from. Thanks again and we look forward to accommodating you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#20 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Value Inn
All Star Value Inn
#2 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
3.9 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#11 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Property: Black Hawk Motel
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing