We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Definately worth staying” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Clintonville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definately worth staying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I can not say enough good things about the Black Hawk! Just as the other reviews say the outside is a bit worry some, however as soon as you open the door to your room you will be very pleasantly surprised!
We stayed in a ground level whirlpool suite. The room was very clean and modern. We had a refrigerator & microwave in the room. There were even mirrors above the bed.
We only had a small problem on the first night. For some reason there was not enough hot water to fill the whirlpool and have the water be at a comfortable temperature. I called the front desk the next morning and the owner was very appoligitic. We immediately had someone come out to look at the water heater. By the following night we had more than enough hot water. At the end of our stay the owner again appologized for the water situation and refunded us more than generously for the inconvience.
This is a definate must stay while you are in the Dells. You get free tickets to the Chula Vista water park and will save a great deal of money.
Thank you Black Hawk!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hello Tina, It sounds like you had an enjoyable stay with us this fall! We're glad that we diagnosed the problem we were having w/ our hot water heaters in the section you stayed in. Thank you so much for bringing it to our attention and for being so understanding, things are so much easier when a guest is easy to work with. We've have learned that maintenance issues will arise, sometimes w/o warning and our guests are an extension of our staff when they alert us of maintenace issues, and we really appreciate the help. We glad you enjoyed your whirlpool room on the ground floor and we do have plans to spruce up our curb appeal, however we feel the interior of the rooms is more important at this time. We hope you can stay with us again, perhaps in one of our king whirlpool balcony suites, these rooms are brand new and an upgrade from our ground floor whirlpool rooms. They still have mirrors above the bed and a semi private 11 x 14 sundeck, custom tiled shower, 37" flat screen tv and just as all our rooms...reserved parking. Thanks so much for taking time to write us a review and we hope to see you during the 2013 season! Kind regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,187
    237
    40
    10
    2
See reviews for
831
380
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed October 27, 2012 just days before the end of the season & it was great. We got what I think they called a "Kitchenette". It had a living room, decent sized bathroom, vanity outside of bathroom with microwave & mini fridge & then 2 seperate bedrooms with queen beds. The room had 3 TVs, 3 DVD players, 3 ACs & 3 heaters. The carpet was a little stained up & a spot on the ottoman (room 69) but it was fine being end of season & assuming a deep clean may happen in the off-season. We didn't have time to use the pool but it looked fun. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Jennifer, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We were glad that we could accommodate you on our final Saturday of an outstanding 2012 season. The room you rented was our last available and it sounds like it worked out great. It's room #69 which is known as our two bedroom cottage w/ front room. It's one of our most popular of our 30 different room types. We hope that you'll be able to visit us next summer when our heated outdoor pool is open and the Dells is in full operation. We'll also have Free Water Park passes for the 2013 season as well. Thanks again and have a great winter! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Although small, the rooms are in great shape and VERY clean. Bathroom had new, high-end cabinets, counters, and fixtures. Pool and arcade are very clean as well. Noise from adjacent rooms tended to be excessive, but what-the-heck, you just cannot beat the price! Overall a great place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itineraryWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing to stay with us. We have 30 different room types to choose from and they vary from small budget rooms to family units over 1300 sq. ft and sleep anywhere from 2 to 10 guests. It sounds like you had a budget room because your room was small. We are happy to hear we provided you a VERY clean, well maintained room at an unbeatable price. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the near future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Blackhawk on our way to Chicago on the recommendation of friends who were also staying there. We loved it ! Very quiet, very clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. We sat by the indoor pool on a cold night and watched our kids swim. We also enjoyed the game room that had some fun retro games. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 44Kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for choosing the Black Hawk as your stop over spot on your recent trip to Chicago. Our indoor pool and retro arcade is open until 11:30 pm (or later) each night. We appreciate all our reviews and hearing that we provided our guests with a quiet, clean, comfortable and reasonable place to stay. Thank for taking the time to write us a review and we hope you'll join us again in the near future..rather it be a one night stopover, or a two week stay with us...we sincerely appreciate accommodating our guests on any room nights. Have a great fall season and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We loved the Black Hawk Motel - super clean, cozy beds and pillows. friendly front desk. The pool is wonderful and my kids loved the slide. Coffee pots in the rooms would make it even better. Walls are kind of thin, we had some noisy neighbors which the owner took care of right away. Hot tub is HOT, which is a bonus. Free use of the Chula Vista was great! We also stayed at the Wilderness Resort that same weekend and their hot tubs were luke warm, it was crazy -busy with long lines. We polled our kids after our getaway and they loved this hotel over the big waterpark hotel - which says a lot. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sistawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
It makes us feel great that we can compete with the water park hotels. Back in the late 90's when the Dells was experiencing it's water park boom, my Mother said...."as long as we provide a clean room, at a reasonable price...we'll be able to survive". I can still hear her saying this and this is one of the many simple rules we live by. Now, over a decade later it's an even tougher economy and we are happy to provide families and couples w/ an affordable vacation / getaway. I apologize for your noisy neighbors, that was a situation where the parents were gone and they left their 12-13 year old daughter in charge of the rest of the kids....and that didn't go to well when it came to keeping the younger kids quiet, however the parents soon came home and were respectful, which I appreciated. Glad you enjoyed our HOT hot tub. If you tried the one by the office, I keep this one hotter (103 degrees)and have actually had complaints on it being to hot, however our hot tub by the indoor pool is a bit cooler. Thanks for writing us a review and we look forward to seeing you and your family in the future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Black Hawk is incredible! We stayed two nights and were amazed at how cool this motel is! A great retro up-to-date motel experience. The beds are amazing and probably the most comfortable we have ever had in any hotel or motel! This place is immaculate - the bath was so clean it sparkled. REALLY!
We stayed in the two story building that faces the mainstreet and loved it. We were on the second floor and had a patio with chairs and a table. This building's retro architecture is a true gem and we had a curved ceiling in our room matching the rooftop shape. It is the first building you see when you enter the motel and really catches your eye! We will definately stay in this section of the motel from now on! We watched the world go by from our patio! The street is really quiet after the evening too. This building is away from the pool area too - so much more quiet as well.
We cannot say enough about the staff, charm and quality you get here. Thank you Black Hawk! See you next summer and save our room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Fran, Thank you for providing the Trip Advisor community feedback concerning your recent stay with us! While reading your review, it didn't take long to learn that you are totally into retro, which is awesome! We get alot of feedback from our guests about our two story building w/ the curved roof (rooms 1-10). Some guests appreciate it's retro look, while others feel it dates the entire property. We have mixed feelings about it and wish we could just pick it up and move it across the street...however, not sure it that's in the plans. This section of the motel is some of our budget rooms and they all have the same great comfortable beds as our poolside rooms. We look forward to accommodating you again next summer and let us know if you would like the same room. Have a happy holiday season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This motel was such a nice surprise! We weren't expecting such a spacious, clean room with our own mini fridge and microwave, plus friendly and accommodating staff. The price was excellent as well! We did not have a chance to use the pools, but they looked great. The motel is a bit older, but very well-kept. It is on a quiet side street, but still close to the excitement. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Jena, Thanks much for your review! We always like hearing when our guests have been surprised! We have heard it numerous times...some of our guests are a bit leary because we are in fact a MOTEL. We are happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and spacious and you would stay with us again! We hope you are able to return to the Dells again when the waterparks and all the Dells has to offer is in full swing. Thanks again and we hope to accommodate you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#9 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#19 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#16 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Property: Black Hawk Motel
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing