We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cannot be beat, for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cannot be beat, for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Although small, the rooms are in great shape and VERY clean. Bathroom had new, high-end cabinets, counters, and fixtures. Pool and arcade are very clean as well. Noise from adjacent rooms tended to be excessive, but what-the-heck, you just cannot beat the price! Overall a great place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itineraryWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing to stay with us. We have 30 different room types to choose from and they vary from small budget rooms to family units over 1300 sq. ft and sleep anywhere from 2 to 10 guests. It sounds like you had a budget room because your room was small. We are happy to hear we provided you a VERY clean, well maintained room at an unbeatable price. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the near future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    241
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
840
392
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Blackhawk on our way to Chicago on the recommendation of friends who were also staying there. We loved it ! Very quiet, very clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. We sat by the indoor pool on a cold night and watched our kids swim. We also enjoyed the game room that had some fun retro games. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 44Kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for choosing the Black Hawk as your stop over spot on your recent trip to Chicago. Our indoor pool and retro arcade is open until 11:30 pm (or later) each night. We appreciate all our reviews and hearing that we provided our guests with a quiet, clean, comfortable and reasonable place to stay. Thank for taking the time to write us a review and we hope you'll join us again in the near future..rather it be a one night stopover, or a two week stay with us...we sincerely appreciate accommodating our guests on any room nights. Have a great fall season and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We loved the Black Hawk Motel - super clean, cozy beds and pillows. friendly front desk. The pool is wonderful and my kids loved the slide. Coffee pots in the rooms would make it even better. Walls are kind of thin, we had some noisy neighbors which the owner took care of right away. Hot tub is HOT, which is a bonus. Free use of the Chula Vista was great! We also stayed at the Wilderness Resort that same weekend and their hot tubs were luke warm, it was crazy -busy with long lines. We polled our kids after our getaway and they loved this hotel over the big waterpark hotel - which says a lot. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sistawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
It makes us feel great that we can compete with the water park hotels. Back in the late 90's when the Dells was experiencing it's water park boom, my Mother said...."as long as we provide a clean room, at a reasonable price...we'll be able to survive". I can still hear her saying this and this is one of the many simple rules we live by. Now, over a decade later it's an even tougher economy and we are happy to provide families and couples w/ an affordable vacation / getaway. I apologize for your noisy neighbors, that was a situation where the parents were gone and they left their 12-13 year old daughter in charge of the rest of the kids....and that didn't go to well when it came to keeping the younger kids quiet, however the parents soon came home and were respectful, which I appreciated. Glad you enjoyed our HOT hot tub. If you tried the one by the office, I keep this one hotter (103 degrees)and have actually had complaints on it being to hot, however our hot tub by the indoor pool is a bit cooler. Thanks for writing us a review and we look forward to seeing you and your family in the future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Black Hawk is incredible! We stayed two nights and were amazed at how cool this motel is! A great retro up-to-date motel experience. The beds are amazing and probably the most comfortable we have ever had in any hotel or motel! This place is immaculate - the bath was so clean it sparkled. REALLY!
We stayed in the two story building that faces the mainstreet and loved it. We were on the second floor and had a patio with chairs and a table. This building's retro architecture is a true gem and we had a curved ceiling in our room matching the rooftop shape. It is the first building you see when you enter the motel and really catches your eye! We will definately stay in this section of the motel from now on! We watched the world go by from our patio! The street is really quiet after the evening too. This building is away from the pool area too - so much more quiet as well.
We cannot say enough about the staff, charm and quality you get here. Thank you Black Hawk! See you next summer and save our room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Fran, Thank you for providing the Trip Advisor community feedback concerning your recent stay with us! While reading your review, it didn't take long to learn that you are totally into retro, which is awesome! We get alot of feedback from our guests about our two story building w/ the curved roof (rooms 1-10). Some guests appreciate it's retro look, while others feel it dates the entire property. We have mixed feelings about it and wish we could just pick it up and move it across the street...however, not sure it that's in the plans. This section of the motel is some of our budget rooms and they all have the same great comfortable beds as our poolside rooms. We look forward to accommodating you again next summer and let us know if you would like the same room. Have a happy holiday season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This motel was such a nice surprise! We weren't expecting such a spacious, clean room with our own mini fridge and microwave, plus friendly and accommodating staff. The price was excellent as well! We did not have a chance to use the pools, but they looked great. The motel is a bit older, but very well-kept. It is on a quiet side street, but still close to the excitement. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Jena, Thanks much for your review! We always like hearing when our guests have been surprised! We have heard it numerous times...some of our guests are a bit leary because we are in fact a MOTEL. We are happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and spacious and you would stay with us again! We hope you are able to return to the Dells again when the waterparks and all the Dells has to offer is in full swing. Thanks again and we hope to accommodate you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, WI
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The prices are amazing and the rooms are clean. Having a mini-fridge is a bonus as well. However, if you are "spoiled" by hotel and resort settings, this may not be for you. The rooms are very basic and quite small. The beds were not the most comfortable. We had a whirlpool suite with a giant whirlpool, so large that by the time it was half-full, the hot water was gone. For a family on a budget who will be out and about doing tourist activities, this would be perfect. For a couple who want a romantic weekend away from it all, we found it a bit lacking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2FoodJunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback concerning your recent stay with us. We appreciate all reviews we receive and realize that our guests may have different preferences or opinions. Many nice lodging options in the Dells, from water front to B&B's and Spa's...perhaps some more romantic that others? We're glad you found us to be a great value with a clean room. I believe you were in one of our whirlpool rooms on the ground floor as we did have an issue w/ the hot water heaters earlier this month, we apolgize for that. We are glad you thought your whirlpool was large enough, but actually our whirlpool suites w/ balcony have even larger whirlpools and are also larger and newer rooms. Thanks again for your review and for staying with us. Have a great fall and winter season and we hope to accommodate you at another time, perhaps when your not looking for a romantic getaway. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay,On
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

in september of this year me,my wife and our son,my brother and wife came for a vacation to Wisconsin Dells Black Hawk Motel,And it was a great experience,there was no words to describe how beautifull wonderfull our stay was,we loved the motel and we will come again,rooms where nice and clean,the owner was very nice,helpfull in every possible way,we strongly recommend this motel to visitors,good job to the owner,thank you-Gaetano,Barb,Joey-Thunder Bay,On.Canada

Room Tip: from my experience,all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaetano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Gaetano, A sincere THANK YOU to you and your entire family for traveling to vacation to the Wisconsin Dells Area and choosing Black Hawk Motel. It was very much a pleasure to accommodate all of you. September is a great time to visit the Dells as there's still plenty to do. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and your compliments that we are the best motel you have ever stayed at....wow! We hope to see you and your family again soon, perhaps during the summer months when the Dells is in full operation? Thanks again and have a great winter / holiday season. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#19 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#16 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Value Inn
All Star Value Inn
#2 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
3.9 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#11 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Property: Black Hawk Motel
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Dual Water Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (summer) & Chula Vista's Indoor & Outdoor Water parks (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms. Sealy Encore Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants and FREE Admission to the Haunted Mansion. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing