We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful classic motel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at Black Hawk Motel for three nights in a king budget room. The room was quite spacious and very clean. The bed was super comfortable, with new pillows (which are rare) and we slept well. Both pools were great and we had tons of fun swimming and jumping off the diving board. The owners were super friendly and quite helpful in suggesting restaurants and such. We will certainly stay here again in the future. We look forward to seeing the additions that are in the works.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mames77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for your review! It's always great to hear from our guests on their stay with us as we appreciate all reviews. We are especially fond of reviews when our guests stay in our two story building (rooms 1-10) which is the location of our King Budget rooms. Our two story building w/ the curved roof was cutting edge back in 1961 when it was built, however the exterior now shows it's edge and some guests and potential guests get turned off when this is the first piece of road candy that they see when they arrive. Many of our repeat guests love this building and the rooms, however many also prefer our poolside rooms or cottages. We're glad you had a nice peaceful and comfortable stay and you are looking forward to the additions as much as we are. I am sorry and excited to say that the master plan of the additon will involve removing this building during phase 2. However, there's still a few years to revisit us and stay in the King Budget room as this whole building has new carpet and other improvements. We hope to accommodate you again in the near future and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,244 - 1,250 of 1,679 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

I had such a great time staying with black Hawk Motel last weekend. It was my first time staying there. I was seaching for a good hotel to stay for my trip and I saw that this place has an excellent reviews ! I decided to try it and I was so happy that I made a really good decission! The staff were really nice and friendly. the room was awesome! I stayed in a Whirlpool Suite King Bed - Balcony The room was super clean! nice bathroom and comfy bed! I absolutely going to stay there again for my next trip! high reccomended!
Sarucha

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle_Sarucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our newly remodeled King Bed Whirlpool Suite w/ balcony. These have been very popular rooms since my parents coverted them into two rooms back in 1988 when we moved our arcade to the ground level and now they are more popular than ever. If you can ever get away during the spring and fall months we run a special on these rooms at $79 per night, or if you can only stay during the weekend the rates run a bit over $100 per night. I'll be sure and also pass your comments on to our staff and also our good friend "Chet the Tile Guy" who did all the tile work in your room. We hope to see you again soon and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

so old its NEW!!! By that I mean it brings me back to a much simpler time in life. When I would go on vacation with my parents, Aunts, Uncles and cousins and we would stay in these types of motels in the 70's. In Chicago there is a lounge near downtown called the Motel Bar that tries to bring back the aura of the classic motels in the hey day. Black Hawk Motel is very nostalgic to me and not run down, the property has been maintained very well. Actual keys for the room doors not electronic passes. I have not seen an actual key for a motel/hotel door in...years. Screen doors on your hotel room...REALLY?!?..and they operate perfect..just Classic! I will definitely return BUT next time I am trying to encourage any of my sisters and brother with their children. Just like we did back in the day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

We've had many of our guests tell us that we bring back memories of their childhood, before any of the chain hotels existed on every major exit. In fact, some of our guests have booked at the mega waterpark resorts and a day or two by us because they want their kids to have the "motel experience". Earlier this summer, I mentioned to a guest that we will eventually be changing over to electronic locks and he stated that doing this would take away from the "retro feel". My parents choose to put screen doors on all the rooms years ago in order to help keep the flys out and the cool air from the ac in...and they have held up well over time. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just stayed in a nice jacuzzi suite for the same as a plain Jane room would have cost at any major chain. Room was clean, cool, and very comfy. Parking right at the door. Was worried because ice machine was right outside our room but couldn't hear it even when I knew it was being used (my hubby). In a town where it looked like the majority of rooms were at hese types of places, felt nicely quaint!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CoachLissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and for choosing to stay with us over one of the many chains in the area. We're glad that you enjoyed one of our jacuzzi suites and found your stay to be a quiet one. We are located on a residential street, so we're off the main road, yet close enough for a short walk to the downtown area. We hope you can get away this fall sometime during Sunday thru Thursday as we offer our jacuzzi blowout which starts our jazuzzi suites at $69 per night, our upgrade to our balcony suites for $79. We hope to see you soon and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Small motel with great rooms and the staff at the front desk are nice and welcoming. Was pleasantly surprised with their good service. Both indoor and outdoor pools and two hot tubs. If you're not looking for a waterpark resort I will definitely recommend black hawk motel. They even gave us free passes for a waterpark at a different hotel which was great.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyatui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thanks so much for writing us a review. It makes our day to read that you had a great stay with us! We pride ourself on treating our guests like a customer and not a number and we enjoy all the wonderful people that we have met in this business. We have 75 units total, which consists of 30 different room types, so be sure and check our website for one of our many lodging options. Have a great rest of the summer and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Black hawk is the ONLY place we'll stay! It's amazingly clean, not only the rooms, pools but the grounds as well! The owners and staff make you feel like your visiting old friends. Perfect for just sitting by the pool relaxing or doing activities in the dells. So safe the kids can play on the grounds without fear, you can leave pool toys, coolers etc. outside of room! You'll never stay anywhere else again!

Room Tip: For families certain rooms are connecting, the room numbers 46-57 are right by the pool & play g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Hello Linda, It was great to see you and your family last week and also great to see that you have wrote us a review and also posted a photo. Glad that everyone had decent weather for getting some R & R by the outdoor pool. I always like when you come into our office to check in and say "honey...I am home". It's is great to hear that and see you and your family. Accommodating all of you and our many other repeat guests and the wonderful new guests that we meet, makes our job easy! Have a great rest of the summer and we'll have your table and chaise lounges by the pool reserved for you next summer. Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

It is much cheaper to go directly thru the motel for reservations. I just made short term reservations today (for tomorrow) and all the online 3rd party sites stated they were sold out and much more expensive. I called today, $70 a night for a room with 2 beds. I have stayed here several time in the past, and it is the only place that my son and I stay now. We do a yearly trip together to the Dells. No mom, just the two of us and this place is the best bang for your buck out there. The only complaint I have in 3 years, is we had a musty smelling a/c one time. My son swears he couldn't smell anything. Other than that, perfect. You will not be disappointed. I really look forward to going there tomorrow!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haug0099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you very much for writing us a review and more importantly, becoming one of our many valued repeat guests. Our budget friendly Queen and Twin motel room is a popular choice for 2-3 guests who want to save a bit, but still want two beds. Almost always the best rates can be found by booking directly with us as no high commission rates are factored into the room rate. Booking with us direct also will provide the best selection of room rates and availability. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again next summer! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#27 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
973 reviews
2 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
653 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#28 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $35 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing