We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,827)
Filter reviews
1,827 results
Traveler rating
1,488
280
46
11
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,488
280
46
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool lawn chairs place to stay splash pass close to downtown kalahari indoor theme park noah's ark downtown dells chula vista clean rooms free water park passes hot tub whirlpool suite up to date fridge and microwave the main strip coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
1,393 - 1,398 of 1,827 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I had such a great time staying with black Hawk Motel last weekend. It was my first time staying there. I was seaching for a good hotel to stay for my trip and I saw that this place has an excellent reviews ! I decided to try it and I was so happy that I made a really good decission! The staff were really nice and friendly. the room was awesome! I stayed in a Whirlpool Suite King Bed - Balcony The room was super clean! nice bathroom and comfy bed! I absolutely going to stay there again for my next trip! high reccomended!
Sarucha

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle_Sarucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our newly remodeled King Bed Whirlpool Suite w/ balcony. These have been very popular rooms since my parents coverted them into two rooms back in 1988 when we moved our arcade to the ground level and now they are more popular than ever. If you can ever get away during the spring and fall months we run a special on these rooms at $79 per night, or if you can only stay during the weekend the rates run a bit over $100 per night. I'll be sure and also pass your comments on to our staff and also our good friend "Chet the Tile Guy" who did all the tile work in your room. We hope to see you again soon and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

so old its NEW!!! By that I mean it brings me back to a much simpler time in life. When I would go on vacation with my parents, Aunts, Uncles and cousins and we would stay in these types of motels in the 70's. In Chicago there is a lounge near downtown called the Motel Bar that tries to bring back the aura of the classic motels in the hey day. Black Hawk Motel is very nostalgic to me and not run down, the property has been maintained very well. Actual keys for the room doors not electronic passes. I have not seen an actual key for a motel/hotel door in...years. Screen doors on your hotel room...REALLY?!?..and they operate perfect..just Classic! I will definitely return BUT next time I am trying to encourage any of my sisters and brother with their children. Just like we did back in the day.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

We've had many of our guests tell us that we bring back memories of their childhood, before any of the chain hotels existed on every major exit. In fact, some of our guests have booked at the mega waterpark resorts and a day or two by us because they want their kids to have the "motel experience". Earlier this summer, I mentioned to a guest that we will eventually be changing over to electronic locks and he stated that doing this would take away from the "retro feel". My parents choose to put screen doors on all the rooms years ago in order to help keep the flys out and the cool air from the ac in...and they have held up well over time. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just stayed in a nice jacuzzi suite for the same as a plain Jane room would have cost at any major chain. Room was clean, cool, and very comfy. Parking right at the door. Was worried because ice machine was right outside our room but couldn't hear it even when I knew it was being used (my hubby). In a town where it looked like the majority of rooms were at hese types of places, felt nicely quaint!

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank CoachLissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and for choosing to stay with us over one of the many chains in the area. We're glad that you enjoyed one of our jacuzzi suites and found your stay to be a quiet one. We are located on a residential street, so we're off the main road, yet close enough for a short walk to the downtown area. We hope you can get away this fall sometime during Sunday thru Thursday as we offer our jacuzzi blowout which starts our jazuzzi suites at $69 per night, our upgrade to our balcony suites for $79. We hope to see you soon and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Small motel with great rooms and the staff at the front desk are nice and welcoming. Was pleasantly surprised with their good service. Both indoor and outdoor pools and two hot tubs. If you're not looking for a waterpark resort I will definitely recommend black hawk motel. They even gave us free passes for a waterpark at a different hotel which was great.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyatui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thanks so much for writing us a review. It makes our day to read that you had a great stay with us! We pride ourself on treating our guests like a customer and not a number and we enjoy all the wonderful people that we have met in this business. We have 75 units total, which consists of 30 different room types, so be sure and check our website for one of our many lodging options. Have a great rest of the summer and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Black hawk is the ONLY place we'll stay! It's amazingly clean, not only the rooms, pools but the grounds as well! The owners and staff make you feel like your visiting old friends. Perfect for just sitting by the pool relaxing or doing activities in the dells. So safe the kids can play on the grounds without fear, you can leave pool toys, coolers etc. outside of room! You'll never stay anywhere else again!

Room tip: For families certain rooms are connecting, the room numbers 46-57 are right by the pool & play ground.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Hello Linda, It was great to see you and your family last week and also great to see that you have wrote us a review and also posted a photo. Glad that everyone had decent weather for getting some R & R by the outdoor pool. I always like when you come into our office to check in and say "honey...I am home". It's is great to hear that and see you and your family. Accommodating all of you and our many other repeat guests and the wonderful new guests that we meet, makes our job easy! Have a great rest of the summer and we'll have your table and chaise lounges by the pool reserved for you next summer. Sincerely, Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews