We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Hotel”
Reviewed February 8, 2008

We loved this motel! It was perfect for our 4 yo daughter and 15 month son. As a child of the 70's, it was just like it stepped out of my memory from childhood family road trips. It was incredibly clean and well maintained. The family who owns and maintains the motel was wonderful! The rooms are generous in size, awesomely clean, interesting decor (right down to the wall ac unit that works great), and many amenities for the kids. Although we were less then impressed with the overall experience of the Dells, the Black Hawk Motel was wonderful. During our stay we also enjoyed the drive in theater and horse back riding, both just miles from the location of this motel. Very recommened! Wish we could take this motel along with us for our upcoming family vacation. Thanks Black Hawk!

  • Liked — 70's theme and the outstanding cleanliness
  • Disliked — It's in the Wisconsin Dells - not a huge fan of this area
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyroadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    253
    43
    11
    2
See reviews for
910
405
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

I've stayed here twice, once in May 2006, and more recently in September 2007. Both times the place was quite nice and, though some of the furnishings are slightly outdated, a very quaint little family-run motel.

The rooms are quite large, featuring a wall-mounted air conditioning unit, a fridge and a microwave, as well as a DVD player. TV has plenty of channels, though the remote had no way to change channels other than using an up/down button, which gets tedious with the large selection of channels.

There's a playground central to the U-shaped building, as well as an enclosed pool and arcade, and a rooftop patio. The location is far enough away from the main strip of the Dells as to be quiet, and close enough that many of the town's shops are within walking distance.

All in all, I quite enjoyed the time I've spent in the Dells, and a large part of that is thanks to the Black Hawk Motel. I sound like a commercial, but I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — Location, rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of wireless internet access
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Black Hawk for 2 nights while in the Dells. We booked hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and were a bit disappointed. This motel does not reflect the #1 or #2 ranking out of all of the places in the Dells. It is a basic motel that is outdated. We would not stay here again and would pay a bit more for a nicer room.

Pros- Cheap rate. Quiet room.

Cons- Strong musty smell. Damp, dirty carpet.

  • Liked — low rate, quiet room in our section of the motel
  • Disliked — strong musty odor, and damp, dirty carpet
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MnAlicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2008
Thanks for your comments. We would of been happy to move you to another room if there was any problem what so ever. Our room rates do not portray someone we are not, and be assured that we are always putting money back into the place. I bet that you stayed in a room on the hill as you said the room was outdated, with paneling I assume? We have remodeled 8 rooms during the winter of 2008, to put it simply, we are getting rid of the paneling around here and after a very busy 2008 season, we have purchased our own carpet extractor to clean the carpet as needed. We are just to busy to wait to clean the carpet until late October when we close each year. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

This hotel is ok in terms of location, cleanliness and value. The people who work at the front desk are very nice and helpful. I'd think twice about going to the Dells in the first place, though. It's hayday was clearly 1978, and there hasn't been one upgrade in the whole town since. You can easily tell each establishment is desperate for your money, and customer service is not valued. If you're looking for a quality family destination, keep looking. The Dells is not going to give you a decent getaway with quality people.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The town it was in
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Was not able to get a room at the Chula Vista, so did some research,,,, BH did not disappoint,, we just stayed one night,,, it was exceptionally clean,, nice fluffy towels,, TV with DVD player (bring your kid's movies),, indoor and outdoor pool ,, very clean,,, small play area for the kiddies,, plentiful ice
For this class motel,, excellent,, we paid about $60 for room with two queen beds.

Stay here then get some discount coupons for the big resorts, come back here at the end of the day,, chill out by the pool,, the kids can keep going,going,,

  • Liked — clean clean clean
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank rboett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

I booked 3 nights at this motel after reading the reviews on this site.

All the positive comments I read were true-- clean room, safe, and it has a great pool with a diving board and slide.

We purchased 3 tickets for Mt. Olympus from the front desk for $22 each and then bought an observer's pass for my wife who doesn't go on any rides for $8 at the park.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank on_the_road_from_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Booked this motel after reading good reviews on tripadvisor and was not disappointed. It was in a good location at the end of the strip, so was therefore a little quieter. Rooms were bigger than expected - had adjoining queen rooms which was convenient for us with our teenagers. Rooms were clean and tidy with daily maid service. Nice indoor, outdoor pools, hot tubs and saunas. Wanted a motel which did not have its own waterpark so we could choose which of the others to go to. We were very pleased with our choice and were glad we had not picked one of the others which were on the strip and therefore looked noisy. We would definately stay again when we return.

  • Liked — Large, clean rooms on a budget
  • Disliked — no tea and coffee facilities in the room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosentim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
899 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#13 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
937 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
133 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#6 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing