We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,806)
Filter reviews
1,806 results
Traveler rating
1,467
280
46
11
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,467
280
46
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poollawn chairsplace to staysplash passwalking distance to downtownchula vistanoah's arkdowntown dellsclean roomsfree water park passeshot tubwhirlpool suiteup to datethe main stripfridge and microwavecoffee makerfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
1,464 - 1,469 of 1,806 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

After reading the reviews we decide to stay here. We were not disapointed. This hotel is so clean!! Many larger Hotel chains should take note of how clean this motel is. They work very hard to keep everything updated and fresh. Check in was a breeze. Room was cold at first but the wall unit had it nice and toasty real quick. This motel is a 70's throwback that will bring back memories.. They just do a wonderful job maintaining everything! Great price and your hotel chains can't do a job like this. If you want clean comforable and affordable this is the place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auctioneerDePere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

WOW! Thank you for your stellar review, as it's very much appreciated! We, as well as many other fine independent motels in the area just try and compete with the chains and the huge mega waterpark resorts. We are family owned and operated since 1945 and as the waterpark resorts were being built in the mid to late 90's my Mother said that "as long as we provide a clean room, at a reasonable price with a pool, we'll be able to survive." We plan on being here for decades to come and my wife and I are hopeful our boys will someday take over....but as my Mother said during her final weeks is that their heart will have to be in it. We'll never sell out to a Mt. Olympus or other developer and with that in mind we continue to believe in putting money back into the business, which in return has greatly increased our business. Check our website for many or our newly remodeled rooms included in our 30 different room types. Thank you again we hope to see you again soon!!!
Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Great hotel, spotless room - we stayed in #72, across the road from the office, quiet, new jacuzzi, mirror on ceiling, did I say it was very clean?! Microwave, fridge, indoor heated pool very nice... gives you a Dells Fun Card with 2for1 deals on some things around. Owners very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muafa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Sounds like you really enjoyed your recent stay with us! Room #72 is our king bed whirlpool suite on the ground floor and has been a popular choice since we converted it over from a kitchenette a few years ago. We hope that you can return again soon and perhaps try one of our newly renovated whirlpool rooms with private balcony that overlook our outdoor pool. These are room 75 and 76 and have been popular choices for many years and they now come with 37" Flat screen TV and custom tile shower work installed by our good friend...Chet "The Tile Guy". Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again in the near future! Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We have our annual girls weekend at Black Hawk every spring. The owners are always very nice. The rooms are a good size and very clean. It looks like they are renovating some of the rooms to keep them up to date. The indoor pool is a good size and is very comfortable in temp. there is a mini fridge, microwave, blow dryer, and DVD player in the room. It's a great value!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lv2trvlwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

It is great to hear that we provide your accommodations for your annual girls spring getaway to the Dells! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing Black Hawk Motel. We do heat our indoor pool to a comfortable temp as I believe our guests are paying for a heated indoor pool....and ours is open until 11:30 pm each night. Yes, we are renovating more rooms this year, Whirlpool suite / king bed balcony, Two Queen Superior, Queen Poolside / Northside, Adjoining 1 Queen and 1 Full and some budget rooms. Have a great summer and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed at Black Hawk with our sports team that was playing at JustAGame Fieldhouse. I booked this place based on reviews from travelocity and just like many before us, we were not disappointed. Reasonably priced, great location, VERY CLEAN and comfortable beds!

Some in the group were a bit skeptical of an older, "motel" but everyone was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed the stay. Our family booked the 2 bedroom house which worked out great to have a gathering space for our larger group hangout. They have a variety of rooms and cabins to meet anyones needs.

Indoor pool area and game room very nice as well.

The group talked about coming back to the area later in summer for a more relaxing weekend without basketball and we look forward to the wonderful hospitality of Brad and his wife again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KETEWISCONSIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay and we're also pleasantly suprised seeing that we are an older motel. However, we are family owned and operated since 1945 and we are constantly putting money back into the business, as we plan on being here decades from now. Our two bedroom house is one of our most requested of our 30 different room types. At over 1300 sq. feet it makes for an ideal gathering spot for sports teams and familys as well. It's 16x24 deck with grill also make our two bedroom house even more popular during the summer months.
Thank you again for choosing Black Hawk Motel as your lodging choice and we look forward to accommodating you in the future!
Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This Motel is a good value for your dollar. It has a surprisingly large indoor pool with hot tub and sauna, a yard with play equipment for children, etc. The rooms are clean and up to date. Ours came with a fridge and microwave. It didn't have a coffee pot, but there was complimentary coffee in the office. Our only complaint is when the fridge kicked on and off it was rather loud and might cause light sleepers some problems, but could be unplugged if not being used. We also liked the sitting space outside the front door. Overall, we were satisfied with the experience and will stay there again when in The Dells.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

We're glad we provided you with a clean room at a reasonable price! Thank you for your review and telling others about our property. Our indoor pool area is open until 11:30 pm each night and it's exterior entrance so it's not attached to any rooms. Sorry about the loud refrigerator in your room, I would have been able change it out for you, but sounds like you just unplugged it. We do have some fridges over a decade old and the one in your room may be nearing it's last days? Thank you again for choosing Black Hawk Motel and we hope to see you again in the near future. Have a great week! Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews