We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Clean Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Clean Place”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My husband and I were unable to find lodging in our original destination, Madison, due to a conference and unexpectedly had to find a new place. Yelp listed good reviews for Black Hawke Motel (we did not know about Tripadvisor yet and have since been using this.) The place was easy to find, clean, and welcoming. It was also very reasonably priced. After having gotten bedbugs from my job as a social worker three years ago and spending a very stressful and expensive year eradicating them, a place with no bugs is extremely high on my list and mostly what I use these search sites to research for. This place passed my initial bed inspection and there were no bug bites in the morning! These days, no matter how high or low priced the place, that is hard to find. Plus, my husband loved the hot tub.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anamorphosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
We're glad you discovered the Black Hawk and also Trip Advisor....your online source to get the truth about lodging, dining, attractions and on line forums. Bed bugs are a serious issue in the lodging industry across the whole country, awareness and action are keys for a lodging operator. We take the issue serious and do all we can to keep them out. We glad to hear that you also enjoyed our whirlpool, we actually have two on the property. Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    257
    44
    11
    2
See reviews for
932
410
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
rolling meadows illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Rooms are clean and fresh smelling, Nice peaceful surroundings .. The staff was even sweeping the grounds in the rain.Take advantage of the Dells fun card they give you, saved me 50 bucks on attractions.Went after Labor day so there were no lines anywhere. Slept like a baby on the great beds. This place deserves their #1 rating. Next visit got to stay longer so many thing we didn't do. Don't spend a ton on mega resorts. stay here you will be glad you did. . P.S that dart game in the game room is addictive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orioles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, WI
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

For anyone that has visited the Dells there are a ton of motels in the area that are decked out in bad decor and old furnishings. This is a happy medium between the expensive resorts and the flea bag motels. If you are expecting the Ritz Carlton, then you shouldn't stay here.

We stayed here during our one year anniversary weekend. Previously we had looked at other resorts and really did not want to end up spending $500 just for a place to sleep. The Black Hawk is not the "knock your socks" off type of place, but it has the basic necessities that you need for a short trip. I felt that it was a good value for the money and it was clean.

The rooms are pretty basic and there are not a lot of extras. I do wish that they would upgrade to flat screen tvs though. There was a small pool area and although I never swam in it there were always people and children lounging/swimming. Each room has a couple of lawn chairs and small table that are provided. A lot of people just sat outside during the evening in their chairs. Noise was not a problem like I thought it might be.

Overall, we were happy with our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doxikittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We met our kids and grandchild (2.5 yo) for a quick vacation. It was perfect, they have an outdoor and indoor pool just in case of bad weather. The rooms are very clean and everybody was overly nice. What a fun weekend! We didn't want to stay at a mega hotel and this was perfect for us. Ma and Pa place with everybody having fun!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billstephens55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My wife, toddler and I stayed at the Black Hawk Motel late August. I've been coming to the Dells since the mid 70's as a child, and this place brings me back to 1984". Everything about this property is in tip top shape and clean, clean, clean! There are no musty smells, cigarette burns, and broken tiles that you might expect to find in an old school motel of this sort. They have manged to keep things current while not loosing the nostalgic charm of this place. From the quaint pool to the game room equipped with Donkey Kong, Pin Ball, and Mrs. Pacman I was taken back. Truly a gem.

If you are a corporate sales puke and find solace in staying at the Hilton Garden or Mariott Courtyard, you may not get it. But if you're like many Americans who long to remember what if felt like yesteryear, I think you will love the Black Hawk.

Room Tip: Away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This motel is not fancy by any means BUT it is clean and pleasant and friendly. My husband and two children can spend the night for around $60 a night. We live in SD but travel home to NY three times a year. Our favorite night of the two 1/2 trip is our stay at the Dells. In any season! It's become a family tradition for us. We always look forward to our time there. An extra bonus is that there's a great italian restaurant in town. Carvelli's 505 Broadway

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in August 2011. There were 2 adults and 1 child in a room with a king bed and a rollaway. We were quite comfortable. The room was very clean. The bathroom had a good amount of room. My daughter enjoyed the indoor pool especially the small slide.

The motel is a motor inn with exterior hallways and entrances. We liked the location. It was a nice 5 or 6 block walk downtown. It was close enough to walk there easily and far enough to be quiet. The rate was very reasonable as well.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LissaJ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
935 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#16 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
948 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
136 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing