We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Carson, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family stay”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We found the ad for the Black Hawk in a vacation guide book in Door County. I called them and they were so nice and pleasant. The room was quaint, a little old fashioned charm! I loved it. They had a parking spot in front of our door which was great. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very kind. We had a great time with other vacationers at the pool and got good advice from the owners on where to eat. The 2/1 card was why we stayed an extra night. For the price we couldn't of asked for anything as nice as we got. It was great. I wish we could have found such a place in Door County! Bless these folks, they work awfully hard!

Room Tip: We had a bottom room by the road and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monjoy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
We are sorry to hear that you didn't find choice accommodations while vacationing in Door County, however we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Black Hawk Motel. Each room reserved gets a free Dells Fun Card, we're glad that you were able to save some of your hard earned money and spend an extra day with us. Glad to hear that our advertising is working and you loved staying in one of our budget rooms in our two story building. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and also for our blessings. This business gets to be a grind sometimes with the long hours, but the wonderful folks we meet make it worth it all. My Mother use to say that "after so many years this business gets in your blood"....she was right and WE LOVE IT! Thanks again and have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    247
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
855
398
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Just got back from our 2 night stay. I booked this motel on the bases of the reviews on this site- yep, lived up to what others said. Very very clean rooms, new comfy beds, shower was awesome and not to mention affordable. We will be coming back again -for sure!!


tip* If your "PICKY" about hair shampoo, I'd suggest bringing your own.
(They do provide a body/hair combo shampoo )

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Hi Jenhani,
Thanks for telling others about your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and your family. All our rooms have high pressure water saving shower heads and we started offering them for sale after being asked numerous times..."where did you get that shower head?" We have found that the hair/body soap n shampoo combination that we use has been a great money saver over the years and we are able to keep our room rates lower because of it. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future, until then, have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

On a recent four day get away to the Wisconsin Dells, me and my family decided to stay at the Black Hawk Motel.

The Good: The Black Hawk Motel is clean and economical. The property is close to downtown Wisconsin Dells; walking distance for most...however the six block walk might be a challenge for the elderly or those with physical limitations. Our room had a nice mattress; microwave; and refrigerator. The motel staff was nice, and we were provided with a "fun card" for discounts on area attractions and restaurants...the fun card came in handy and provided us with savings during our stay. There are also two pools on the property, one indoors and one outdoors; also there is a game room and sauna; vending machines and ice machines; and a game room available on the property. Parking is free and provides easy access to the motel rooms. And HIGH SPEED INTERNET service is provided...FREE.

The Bad: This was my 3rd trip to the Dells, and though the Black Hawk Motel met my expectations, it did not exceed my expectations. The room I stayed in was a tad bit musty and damp...it had the scent of a motel. The area had been experiencing some unusually wet weather, so I chalked up the dampness to the environment.

The Verdict: My guess is that many on Trip Advisor rate accommodations based on price more so than amenities; in which case the Black Hawk Motel rates good as it relates to price. However, I feel that it is important to not confuse price and value. The Black Hawk Motel is not a bad value, however the accommodations are average. Nothing special, nothing fancy...just a good value while spending time in the Dells. I usually prefer to not stay at motels when I travel, but decided to give the Black Hawk Motel a try because of the high ratings it has received on Trip advisor. I have stayed in better accommodations while in the Dells area, however my expectations were met, and I would recommend the Black Hawk Motel for families looking for an economical accommodations in the Wisconsin Dells area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReservoirDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Hi ReservoirDog...
Thanks for taking the time to write a fine review on your recent stay with us and we are glad that we met your expectations. Being in business is tough and this is a tough business as it's hard to meet and exceed everyone's expectations, and as an independent in today's world it's a battle to not fall victim to a chain hotel or one of the big mega waterpark resorts. I believe TripAdvisor's ratings take into consideration value, cleanliness, sleep quality and service. There are many other fine places to stay in the Dells area which are also ranked high on TA...some have waterfront views, waterparks, seems like we all offer a different lodging option. We are glad that we provided you and your family with a clean room, with good value during your recent visit to the Wisconsin Dells. We're glad to hear that you would recommend us to anyone looking for a economical lodging option. We do remodel rooms every winter and are always looking at upgrading amenties or offering more attraction savings every year. We hope to accommodate you at another time. Thanks again and have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Stayed with my Mom, Brother and Nephews. Cottages worked great for separate space, the indoor pool & whirpool was great since it was chilly. Very Clean, Updated - would go back again. Very relaxing unlike the huge hotels

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinbob05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our very popular cottages and also had time to enjoy our heated indoor pool during some cold days and nights earlier this June. Our indoor pool is open until 11:30 pm everynight as is our game room. Thanks for writing a review and we hope to accommodate you and your family again. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Loved the room..it had a microwave and fridge! Extremely clean! Close enough to walk to downtown attractions. Pools were well kept and game room was fun..no broken games. Staff was helpful and accommodating. Family friendly atmosphere. No coffee maker in room, but fresh coffee available all day in the office. Only complaint was that I had the do not disturb sign on the door and housekeeping guy knocked on the door, but we were dressed and just about ready to venture out for the day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you for writing a review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay! It sounds like you had time to enjoy our Retro 80's video pinball arcade. Our arcade is brought to us by Pat and Glen from Starworlds Arcade in Dekalb, IL. They do a great job of keeping our games up and running and have been known to make the 3.5 hour drive within a day to fix any games that may break down. We apologize for having a team member knock on your door with your DND sign hanging, this was a first or second day of training so we we're still working on the policy with our team member. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the near future and have a happy 4th!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this "old school" motel with recent updates. Our room (21) had 3 queen beds, so our family of 4 and 2 grandparents could stay together. Beds were pretty comfy, room had flat screen tvs and a refrigerator which came in handy. There is a big travel mart type store just around the corner, for snacks, beer, water, etc. Parking at your door is handy, and the pools and grounds are very well maintained. Our kids (4 and 7) had a great time!! We ordered Pizza Pub pizza one day for lunch and enjoyed it at one of the tables by the playground. This place is close enough to downtown you could walk if you had a stroller or older/no children. We drove and parked on a side street, our street parking was cheap. With the indoor pool we were able to swim early in the morning and not worry about the weather. We would defintely consider staying here if we come back to the Dells again. Remember to bring your own shampoo. They do have soap bars. My only complaint, in the back bedroom of room 21 the walls were very thin. We could hear word for word the people who came home at 1am. For the most part though, this was a pretty quite stay and we would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked room #21 which we did a complete remodel on this past winter/spring. We apologize for your neighbors in room #22 because of less soundproofing in the back bedroom of room #21. Thanks for bringing this to our attention and we'll address this next time we open up walls. We actually opened up the walls of rooms 21 and 22 so our electrician could add some lighting in room 22. When we did this, we removed the 3/8" paneling and on each side of the wallsand didn't put it back on before dry walling, which I wish we would have now as it would have made for better soundproofing. We'll try and rent room 22 to guests who we think will be early to bed for more quiet night sleep. We hope to accommodate you and your family again in the future and hope you used the 10% off Pizza Pub coupon that we have in our office. Thanks again and have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We went for my partners birthday and this was the best motel we've stayed at! The price was great staff was awesome location was amazing. We were able to go for walks to the shopping area downtown ect. Will recommend to everyone! I'm going to stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gooddarkwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel & Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you plan to return to stay with us again! Be sure and check our web site and view our 29 different room types to find what accommodations that may work best for you. We are just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells and 6 blocks to the center of downtown and offer RESERVED PARKING at your door so no need to look for a parking space close to your room when returning from a long day at the waterparks. Thanks again and have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Inn & Suites
All Star Inn & Suites
#2 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel & Suites

Property: Black Hawk Motel & Suites
Address: 720 Race St, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms NOW NEWLY RENOVATED. Receive FREE Wet and Dry Parks! All guests receive FREE Waterpark pass admission to Noah's Ark - America's Largest Waterpark (Memorial Day - Labor Day) & Kalahari Indoor (dry) Theme Park (all year). Choose from 29 different room types, from budget to family, suites and whirlpools rooms, kitchenettes and vacation homes. Plush Beds, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, hairdryer, and reserved parking for all rooms. Heated Indoor pool w/ slide & hot tub, sauna open until 11:30 pm each night. Heated outdoor pool w/ slides, 2 playgrounds, grills, coin operated laundry, and Retro Arcade w/ Billiards, Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man and other classic games. Located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Receive multiple coupons for area attractions and restaurants. We are family owned & operated since 1945, we look forward to accommodating you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Black Hawk Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing