We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The suite was perfect, very, very clean. Next to the kiddie pool, which was perfect for us. The Beach area was clean, with fine sand, and play ground equipment was old and worn, but with no big deal. The indoor pool was clean, on the smaller side, more than 20 people and it feels cramped. The snack shop is nice, but the hours are limited, All the people working there are very friendly and helpful with great advice and wonderful directions to everywhere we needed to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    175
    60
    27
    19
See reviews for
338
104
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a delightful stay a year ago, in the Canyon suites, and therefore decided to come here again for a family vacation. The three suites we rented were much smaller, and dank and humid. One had a noisy pipe running through the windowless bedroom. The front office staff were extremely nice and helpful. Housekeeping was worse than the average two star international hotel. In none of our three suites was there daily housekeeping: we all came back at night day 1 to find our dirty towels on the floor, garbage not emptied. The poeple next door washed their own floor! Even when housekeeping showed up, they didn't do much: I found a dirty pair of underwear behind the living room TV, left by a prior customer. In the bedroom by the bed: chicken bones and dried bacon. Ick. At these prices (and they're not inexpensive), I expect a clean room! I doubt we will come here again, which is a shame cocsidering how much we enjoyed the quiet, the lake, and the people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our first vacation without extra friends or the camper. After a complete search of what was offered in the Dells area we chose Bakers and what a great choice it was. We had a mini- suite with a deck that looked out at Lake Delton. My two daughters and I used the free kayaks each morning we were there. The view was beautiful each morning and night from our deck. The location of Baker's is also great easy to get to and away from all the hustle and bustle of downtown but easy driving to get to any Dells attraction. We will be back again!!

Room Tip: Take a third floor room, floors tend to creak and might be noisy if you were below one on the 2nd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Geofson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival of the resort,my fiancé and I stayed at another hotel the day before, and needless to say the 10 dollars more it cost to stay at bakers made it feel like we went from camping to a 5 star hotel.
The hotel staff were very friendly and were actually how hotel receptionist should be. By this I mean asking them what's a good place to eat or any recommendations on what to do they were filled with options and seemed knowledgeable, unlike these other hotel chains that hire foreigners who haven't don't have a clue. The staff also let us check in 3 hrs early so that was a big +. When we got to our room it was very clean and the bed was amazing compared to the one from last night , sheets are soft and smelled fresh .the rooms also are very very quiet well constructed that's for sure. The resort itself has 2 heated pools one outdoor and indoor also a sauna and hottub. It also has a kids pool as well. The resort is beachside and offers kayaks and rowboats at NO CHARGE which to rent from one of the boat shops down the road it's a hefty charge for a kayak for a few hrs . All in all bakers is the best place I've stayed at in the dells and with there amazing deals and offers I recommend it to anyone, you will be glad you did, this I promise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilmer4qb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I would have rated the room very good if the following accommodations existed. Complimentary breakfast. Faster internet. Clean room, I literally wiped dust from the headboards in the room and the patio was disgusting. I didn't feel comfortable going out. Also I was there for three nights and only received service to my room once (1). Not good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim_Avery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our second year staying at Baker's. We have 3 daughters, ages 11, 8, and 5, and they thoroughly enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools, and the enormous sand beach. It's only a 5 to 10 minute drive to almost any attraction in the Dells. There's a nice loop to run around the lake, which is about 5 miles. There are walking paths along Canyon Road, where our family took walks each day. Next time we come to the Dells, we'll almost certainly stay here again!

We ordered pizza (and their own grape and orange pop) from Moose Jaw (our family's favorite so far), and dined outside on one of their patio areas, which was a nice change from the various restaurants.

We spent 2 nights listening to Campfire Kevin play guitar and sing around the campfire. My daughter's highlight was being able to play the tambourine along with the music, I think that's the biggest reason she wants to come back!

My only gripe is that most of the outlets in our room were completely worn out, and would not hold a plug. We had to plug our phones, ipods, etc into the two outlets we found that actually worked. Hopefully they'll get that fixed up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Wyatt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was our first time in the Dells, and while I knew it was a tourist destination, I had no idea to what magnitude. The best way I can explain it is as a family version of Las Vegas. On the strip, you'll find tourist trap after tourist trap. Baker's, while conveniently located close to the action, is a quaint family resort the gets you away from the hustle and bustle.

Traveling with our two Yorkies limited where we could stay, and this resort was very pet friendly. There is a $10 charge per dog for each night, but I am sure we would pay that for boarding at home.

Our room was comfortable and clean. There was a bit of an unusual odor, but this may be because we were staying in a designated dog room. Our room was furnished with two queen beds, a refrigerator, microwave and deck. The resort sits in beautiful Lake Delton and offers a nice sand beach, but there are also two pools, one inside and one outside. There is also a great walking/running trail right out front where you can get some exercise for you and the dogs.

If you're looking for a reasonably priced, quiet, pet friendly place in the Dells, this would be a great place. Now that we've done the Dells, I don't know if there's a need to go back, but if we did, we'd definitely stay at Baker's again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madsandconsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#5 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 877 reviews
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#23 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#9 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Black Hawk Motel
Black Hawk Motel
#1 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 1,499 reviews
1.7 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#11 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 2,266 reviews
2.4 mi away
All Star Value Inn
All Star Value Inn
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker's Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Property: Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Address: 921 Canyon Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#11 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baker's Sunset Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lakeside resort in Wisconsin Dells. Open year round. Peaceful and relaxing, and just minutes from all the Dells' activities. Family owned and operated, large sandy beach, free Kayaks and rowboats, nightly bonfires with entertainment, indoor pool with water slides, outdoor pool and activity pool. Brand new Canyon Condo's sleep up to 12 people with full kitchen, fireplace and 3 bedroom and 3 bath! Many packages to choose from. Downhill ski package, Romance package, Waterpark packages are just a few. You'll enjoy your stay at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Baker's Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker`s Sunset Bay Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Bakers Sunset Bay Hotel
Hotel Bakers Sunset Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing