We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsboro, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My mom and I, along with two cousins, stayed for three nights at the resort. We had standard double queen rooms with a private patio. The rooms were nice, beds were very comfortable and clean. The resort itself is a great place for those who want to get away from the traffic of the Dells. It has a private beach, with volleyball, kids play area, picnic tables and grills. There are boats and kayaks for the guests use, and a place to have a fire in the evenings. There are indoor and outdoor pools, and a spa and hot tub indoors. Property is well maintained and clean, very close to all major attractions, but you would never know given how quiet it was. We went the weekend after Labor Day, and it was wonderful. The deck is a great place to have coffee in the morning. Our only issue was that housekeeping didn't replenish our coffee/sugar on the second day, and seemed a little lax with their cleaning. A short trip to the office solved the coffee problem. I will definitely return. It is great if you like a little nature and quiet when you vacation!

Room Tip: We will definitely choose a lake view room next time, well worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    175
    60
    27
    19
See reviews for
338
104
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kaukauna
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our fourth stay at Sunset Bay and once again, it was great. We stayed in the two bedroom/one bath duplex unit and while it was not lakeside, the extra space was appreciated. We were able to park our truck and boat trailer close to our unit which made unloading and loading super easy. The unit itself was nicely decorated and included a full kitchen and a private deck. The grounds are well maintained and the boat dock allowed us to keep our boat in the water during our stay. I booked my reservation online but at check-in, staff was very professional and offered coupons for local attractions. I'm already checking my calendar for next years stay!

Room Tip: Check out the website for really detailed information on the different room types.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjschroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed the resort. There was so much to do at the resort. Even after going to explore the Dells the kids still had things to get into back at the resort. The private beach with canoeing, volley ball, the pool and splash pad, the grills. I mean it had the works. The room was clean and we did not end up cooking but there was a small kitchen space. The people were really nice and it was very family friendly. The only thing that I did not like was the pull out couch. That thing was so uncomfortable it took about a week to get my back in order. But the actual beds were comfortable. Our 1 BR slept 5 of us (but because I was left on the sofabed in the living room I cannot say comfortably). But everyone else reported they had a great night.
They also had a snack bar. The resort was off to the side but still close enough to everything (a few minutes away)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank proud_mommy824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was the second time my husband, son and I stayed at Sunset Bay. It is the perfect little spot for us. The pools are great and the beach is fun. I love that we can bring our own food. It was so relaxing to grill out every evening. The other guests were pleasant and everyone was very courteous. Our room was clean and quiet. The only problem is that our visit was too short!

It would be nice if the check-in time was a little earlier. With a 3 p.m. check-in, and 10 a.m. checkout, you really only get one full day there if you are staying two nights.

Regardless, we will be back next year!

Room Tip: We love the beachfront rooms. Definitely worth the few extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jb_milwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Booked this hotel for a wedding. Had a 50 room block for Sunday and an additional group of rooms for the wedding party that were arriving on Saturday. When we arrived they did not have our reservation for any of the wedding party or for my parents who made their reservation seperately. Not once did they apologize for this. After 45 minutes of working to at least get a room that would allow people to have a roof over their head we were able to check in and look at having to move the following day to the rooms we had originally booked. One saving grace is that the conference room we had was at least reserved for us on Saturday giving us a place to be while the issues were worked out. Not once during the weekend did they stop and ask how we were doing and if everyting was fine. It was more of a hassle to have them lock the conference room while we were gone. The resort overall is in a great location and the rooms are average. Now today I checked my credit card and have noticed that I was overcharged compared to the receipt I had been given upon check in. Waiting to hear my resolution on that as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnBaker, Owner at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We feel absolutely terrible about what happened on Saturday but thought we had made you all happy. We were able to get you all in rooms and even gave you an option of a different resort for Saturday evening.
Jessica, (the bride) and I, and Sue had talked dozens of times regarding the rooms she reserved for everybody and we had sent her confirmations of the reservations numerous times. I don't know how she or I could have not noticed that we only had the rooms reserved on Sunday and none for Saturday.
I am so sorry for everything but really thought everyone was happy with the way it all worked out.
Sincerely,
Dawn Baker
Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was looking at the last minute for a quite place to take my family (2 adults, 3 kids (10, 5, 4) before school started. I was initially looking for a cabin but found most places did not give enough information online to search without calling...and I did not have time to call. After some plans changed I settled on Sunset Bay.

The beach was my personal favorite. My girls played for hours in the sand and lake. Their favorite was the indoor pool and slide. We were there for 4 days and was able to take advantage of all their amenities at no extra cost (like kayaks, grills, picnic tables).

It was so relaxing but if you want or need to be near the Dells main area it is nearby.

I'd love to come back with more family and show them what a wonderful place and time we had.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnBaker, Owner at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for such a nice review. We really appreciate it your comments and look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely,
Dawn Baker
Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed 8/20 - 8/23 with my retired parents & my brother. So for 4 adults, I was really looking for a 2 bedroom suite type room, and when looking at room layout & reviews on Trip Advisor, Bakers Sunset Bay really stood out. We were looked at the 'L' room layout, but wasn't available, so we chose the very similar 'C' room. Very glad we stayed here, the room layout was great for us and we really enjoyed our stay. We were in Room 304, which looks out over the lake & had a great view, with 4 picnic tables & grills right outside our door. That made for one of the many pluses I give to Bakers, as well as the one slight drawback for staying in the 'C' rooms - you *will* have other people right outside your room, and while no one was ever overly loud, I did hear people at the picnic tables talking until *well* after midnight one night. If you prefer more peace & privacy, you would be better off to select a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor if wanting lakeside view. Don't know if we'll ever get back to the Dells, but if we do, we'll be coming back to stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to use the resort property map to help identify room location. Rooms on the 1st floor lake s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewi3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnBaker, Owner at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for the great review. I'm sure potential guests will appreciate your comments and suggestions. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely,
Dawn Baker
Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#5 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#23 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#9 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Black Hawk Motel
Black Hawk Motel
#1 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 1,499 reviews
1.7 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#11 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 2,266 reviews
2.4 mi away
All Star Value Inn
All Star Value Inn
#2 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker's Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Property: Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Address: 921 Canyon Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#11 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baker's Sunset Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lakeside resort in Wisconsin Dells. Open year round. Peaceful and relaxing, and just minutes from all the Dells' activities. Family owned and operated, large sandy beach, free Kayaks and rowboats, nightly bonfires with entertainment, indoor pool with water slides, outdoor pool and activity pool. Brand new Canyon Condo's sleep up to 12 people with full kitchen, fireplace and 3 bedroom and 3 bath! Many packages to choose from. Downhill ski package, Romance package, Waterpark packages are just a few. You'll enjoy your stay at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Baker's Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker`s Sunset Bay Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Bakers Sunset Bay Hotel
Hotel Bakers Sunset Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing