We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed the resort. There was so much to do at the resort. Even after going to explore the Dells the kids still had things to get into back at the resort. The private beach with canoeing, volley ball, the pool and splash pad, the grills. I mean it had the works. The room was clean and we did not end up cooking but there was a small kitchen space. The people were really nice and it was very family friendly. The only thing that I did not like was the pull out couch. That thing was so uncomfortable it took about a week to get my back in order. But the actual beds were comfortable. Our 1 BR slept 5 of us (but because I was left on the sofabed in the living room I cannot say comfortably). But everyone else reported they had a great night.
They also had a snack bar. The resort was off to the side but still close enough to everything (a few minutes away)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proud_mommy824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 595 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was the second time my husband, son and I stayed at Sunset Bay. It is the perfect little spot for us. The pools are great and the beach is fun. I love that we can bring our own food. It was so relaxing to grill out every evening. The other guests were pleasant and everyone was very courteous. Our room was clean and quiet. The only problem is that our visit was too short!

It would be nice if the check-in time was a little earlier. With a 3 p.m. check-in, and 10 a.m. checkout, you really only get one full day there if you are staying two nights.

Regardless, we will be back next year!

Room Tip: We love the beachfront rooms. Definitely worth the few extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb_milwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Booked this hotel for a wedding. Had a 50 room block for Sunday and an additional group of rooms for the wedding party that were arriving on Saturday. When we arrived they did not have our reservation for any of the wedding party or for my parents who made their reservation seperately. Not once did they apologize for this. After 45 minutes of working to at least get a room that would allow people to have a roof over their head we were able to check in and look at having to move the following day to the rooms we had originally booked. One saving grace is that the conference room we had was at least reserved for us on Saturday giving us a place to be while the issues were worked out. Not once during the weekend did they stop and ask how we were doing and if everyting was fine. It was more of a hassle to have them lock the conference room while we were gone. The resort overall is in a great location and the rooms are average. Now today I checked my credit card and have noticed that I was overcharged compared to the receipt I had been given upon check in. Waiting to hear my resolution on that as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnBaker, Owner at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

We feel absolutely terrible about what happened on Saturday but thought we had made you all happy. We were able to get you all in rooms and even gave you an option of a different resort for Saturday evening.
Jessica, (the bride) and I, and Sue had talked dozens of times regarding the rooms she reserved for everybody and we had sent her confirmations of the reservations numerous times. I don't know how she or I could have not noticed that we only had the rooms reserved on Sunday and none for Saturday.
I am so sorry for everything but really thought everyone was happy with the way it all worked out.
Sincerely,
Dawn Baker
Owner / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was looking at the last minute for a quite place to take my family (2 adults, 3 kids (10, 5, 4) before school started. I was initially looking for a cabin but found most places did not give enough information online to search without calling...and I did not have time to call. After some plans changed I settled on Sunset Bay.

The beach was my personal favorite. My girls played for hours in the sand and lake. Their favorite was the indoor pool and slide. We were there for 4 days and was able to take advantage of all their amenities at no extra cost (like kayaks, grills, picnic tables).

It was so relaxing but if you want or need to be near the Dells main area it is nearby.

I'd love to come back with more family and show them what a wonderful place and time we had.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnBaker, Owner at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for such a nice review. We really appreciate it your comments and look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely,
Dawn Baker
Owner / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed 8/20 - 8/23 with my retired parents & my brother. So for 4 adults, I was really looking for a 2 bedroom suite type room, and when looking at room layout & reviews on Trip Advisor, Bakers Sunset Bay really stood out. We were looked at the 'L' room layout, but wasn't available, so we chose the very similar 'C' room. Very glad we stayed here, the room layout was great for us and we really enjoyed our stay. We were in Room 304, which looks out over the lake & had a great view, with 4 picnic tables & grills right outside our door. That made for one of the many pluses I give to Bakers, as well as the one slight drawback for staying in the 'C' rooms - you *will* have other people right outside your room, and while no one was ever overly loud, I did hear people at the picnic tables talking until *well* after midnight one night. If you prefer more peace & privacy, you would be better off to select a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor if wanting lakeside view. Don't know if we'll ever get back to the Dells, but if we do, we'll be coming back to stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to use the resort property map to help identify room location. Rooms on the 1st floor lake s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewi3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnBaker, Owner at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for the great review. I'm sure potential guests will appreciate your comments and suggestions. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely,
Dawn Baker
Owner / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a lakeside room with a beautiful view from our balcony . The room was very clean and spacious. Baker's offers a nice variety of outside entertainment for their guest of all ages. You can tell that they take great pride with this resort. We look forward to being returning guests in the future. Thank you Baker's!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 432 with a nice view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harleygrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnBaker, Manager at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you very much for the nice review. Our maintenance staff is awesome and they take such pride in the resort. We couldn't do it without their dedication to detail!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was pretty happy with Bakers Sunset Bay. When we first arrived to the room, there was food in the sink which threw me off, but overall the stay was good. We had a room which was lakeside with a balcony and the view was great. Bakers provides their guests with a variety of activities; volleyball, ping pong, swimming of course and an arcade. I was ecstatic that we got to use the kayaks and boats at no additional cost. The staff was friendly and the stay was great. The hotel is great for families and couples. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: The hotel has a lot of activity on the beach and lake side late into the night, so if you like a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jgirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
1.3 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#28 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
324 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#27 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
726 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#11 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker's Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Address: 921 Canyon Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#11 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $93 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baker's Sunset Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lakeside resort in Wisconsin Dells. Open year round. Peaceful and relaxing, and just minutes from all the Dells' activities. Family owned and operated, large sandy beach, free Kayaks and rowboats, nightly bonfires with entertainment, indoor pool with water slides, outdoor pool and activity pool. Brand new Canyon Condo's sleep up to 12 people with full kitchen, fireplace and 3 bedroom and 3 bath! Many packages to choose from. Downhill ski package, Romance package, Waterpark packages are just a few. You'll enjoy your stay at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Baker's Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker`s Sunset Bay Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Bakers Sunset Bay Hotel
Hotel Bakers Sunset Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing