We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, but very quiet and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Trail Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Indian Trail Motel
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Tomahawk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dated, but very quiet and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here due to the positive ratings we found on this site. We were not disappointed. The motel was very close to downtown, but in a very quiet location. The rooms were dated, but extremely clean and quiet. We didn't hear another neighbor all night. The staff was friendly. I appreciated the fact that we could just back up to our door and take our items out of our cooler and keep cold in the mini fridge provided in the room. We didn't try out the pools or wi-fi (couldn't get on with my chromebook), so I cannot comment on them. We have stayed in other big name hotels in the Dells and had horrible luck with noise and rude staff. We will definitely go back to Indian Trails.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndianTrailOwner, Owner at Indian Trail Motel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Rachael T

Better late than never. We wanted to let you know that we appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us at the Indian Trail Motel. We work very hard to make your stay comfortable. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope to seein you soon.

Ed, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    96
    18
    15
    10
See reviews for
140
92
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
426 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 487 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent two nights recently at the Indian Trail Motel. My Mom booked three rooms for our party of nine (family reunion). We got a package deal where four tickets to Noah's Ark were included with each room; considering tickets to Noah's cost $40 each I felt like it was a good deal.

The motel is in a great location: an easy walk to downtown (four or five blocks), a good restaurant next door, a convenience store across the street, and woods behind the motel that gives it a country feel. The motel rooms are arranged in three or four different strips; and our strip was set back a ways from the road, which was nice. We could pull right up outside our room door and park. There were two chairs sitting outside each room; many guests seemed to enjoy sitting outside on these (a few of them were smoking).

The room was very basic, with extremely dated decor.....like out of the 1970s. But the room was absolutely spotless, and much cleaner than some other chain hotels we've stayed in. Our room had two queen sized beds, cable TV, microwave, dorm fridge. a small table with chairs, a nightstand, and desk. The room was good sized; we had plenty of space (two adults and three kids in one room). The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was tiny, as was the shower. It's apparent (and sad) that we as Americans have gotten much bigger in size since the motel was first built. The sink is outside the bathroom. The air conditioner was a window unit, but worked great for cooling the room down quickly.

The motel's lobby is hooked on to a large house (the owner's, I'd imagine). When we first checked in, we had to ring a doorbell on the desk since no one was in the lobby. The manager (owner?) came immediately to check us in. She was very friendly and helpful during our stay. She's the only one I ever saw manning the desk.

There's an outdoor pool (heated), indoor pool, hot tub (perfect temperature), and sauna. We enjoyed both pools and the hot tub. We also enjoyed the ping pong table outside, and the shuffleboard. You can get gear for both games in the lobby. I also saw a volleyball net in the back yard. There was a swing set out front, and picnic tables and grills in the back.

A big surprise were the nature trails on the property. There were two or three short trails behind the motel, going into the woods. They're short; walking on all trails equals maybe 1/4 to 1/2 mile. It was so nice though being able to go on a stroll through the woods.

I would absolutely stay again at Indian Trail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kren250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndianTrailOwner, Owner at Indian Trail Motel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Kren250

Better late than never. We wanted to let you know that we appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us at the Indian Trail Motel. We work very hard to make your stay comfortable. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope to seeing you soon.

Ed, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel because we were given two nights as a gift from my aunt for a thank you for taking care of her. The motel is just that. A motel. It has outdated décor and the room was clean. The swimming pool was nice as well as the hot tub. It was in close proximity to downtown but not close enough to walk. There was a restaurant right next door and we had good food there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndianTrailOwner, Owner at Indian Trail Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Julie55901

Better late than never. We wanted to let you know that we appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us at the Indian Trail Motel. Come back and give us another try as we have remolded most of the rooms and added more amenities to each room. We work very hard to make your stay comfortable. We have fixed those issues and hope you would give us another chance. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope to seeing you soon.

Ed, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just stayed there on the 21st of this month and I was very pleased with how clean the room and pools were. Yes, the rooms are dated but who cares your only there mainly to sleep. Anna the owner was very friendly and accommodating. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndianTrailOwner, Owner at Indian Trail Motel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Dawn G

Better late than never. We wanted to let you know that we appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us at the Indian Trail Motel. We work very hard to make your stay comfortable. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope to seeing you soon.

Ed, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We choose this place because of its location close to Downtown and the price. We had a jacuzzi room, which was huge! The decor was a little dated but it was very clean and spacious. We even had our own deck. The Tv was a newer flat screen. The channel choice was adequate for the amount we watch TV on vacay. The only downside to the room was the pillows. They were pretty flat and we forgot to bring out own but it didn't wreck out stay.

The hotel itself it a lot bigger than I anticipated. It feels like you are in the Country but you are only a dr blocks from town. Very quaint!

We only used the outdoor pool. It was the perfect temp for cooling off. They also have ping pong, bags, and some other games you can enjoy.

I would totally stay here again. I felt we got a lot for our money and the staff was very nice and quite helpful. We enjoyed the coupons and fun card we received as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emm05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndianTrailOwner, Owner at Indian Trail Motel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Emm05

Better late than never. We wanted to let you know that we appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us at the Indian Trail Motel. We work very hard to make your stay comfortable. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope to seeing you soon.

Ed, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We picked the Indian Trail Motel from other reviews and also the price. I do agree that the rooms are clean, but they do need updating very badly! The bed was horribly hard, paint chipping off the walls in the bathroom, older tv with not a very good selection of channels. The room itself was very small. We chose a room with a king bed. Maybe there are bigger rooms, but this is what we got. Never did get connected to the wifi. Called the front desk more than once and no one ever seemed to be there to answer. I guess all in all we won't be staying here again. Sounds like a lot of complaining, but when your through shopping and doing the attractions you want a nice room to be able to go back and relax in and this is not what we got. I guess if your looking to save money on a room and have more for spending in the Dells this would be the place for you. Will try another motel next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndianTrailOwner, Owner at Indian Trail Motel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Lori S

Better late than never. We wanted to let you know that we appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us at the Indian Trail Motel. We work very hard to make your stay comfortable. We have fixed those issues and hope you would give us another chance. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope to seeing you soon.

Ed, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice management, clean rooms, close to "downtown". Outdoor and indoor pools maintained well, games, grills, nature and they also make bonfire on Saturdays! I suggest calling them when you want to reserve the room they might have a better price than the online websites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndianTrailOwner, Owner at Indian Trail Motel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Keivan M

Better late than never. We wanted to let you know that we appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us at the Indian Trail Motel. We work very hard to make your stay comfortable. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope to seeing you soon.

Ed, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#10 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#19 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#36 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 822 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Hawk Motel
Black Hawk Motel
#1 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Trail Motel

Property: Indian Trail Motel
Address: 1013 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#6 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Indian Trail Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the Best rates and Great Hospitality in Wisconsin Dells with deals on many Attractions. Located on 12 beautiful acres of wooded area, yet within walking distance to Downtown Dells. Check us out on TripAdvisor as we are in the top 10 Best Resorts in Wisconsin Dells. Indian Trail Motel is a great place for your next Wisconsin Dells Lodging place. We are one of the most pleasant, unique, and peaceful places to stay in the Dells. We take pride in our work and strive to make sure you will enjoy your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Indian Trail Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Trail Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Indian Trail Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing