We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Fascinating!

Great museum and love that his original house is incorporated into the museum! The photos really... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Schmidly6
,
White Lake, Michigan
via mobile
Fascinating

I enjoy photography and was fascinated by all the pictures taken by H. H, Bennett and to think he... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
judyg205
Read all 226 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Wisconsin Dells
from $18.24
More Info
from $29.99
More Info
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
168
47
8
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
168
47
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great museum history buff actual studio photography museum well worth the visit stand rock beautiful area great place to visit wi dells boat tour photographs historic equipment prints pioneer artifacts invention
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 226 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

As with all Wisconsin historical sites, this one was nicely done. Most of the museum is the original photography studio from the 1880's with associated equipment. Seems Mr. Bennett was a pioneer in the area of nature photography & invented equipment & techniques--probably of a lot of interest to some. I most enjoyed the pictures, absolutely stunning even today. A lot of Indian studies at a time when I thought we had pushed them all onto reservations. It was also interesting to learn how he used his pictures to promote the Dells as a destination (before the water parks!). Finally, DON'T MISS the upstairs gallery juxtaposing Bennett's original shots from late 1800's with contemporary shots of the same view. Small, nice gift shop.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank organlistener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HH_Bennett_Studio, Guest Relations Manager at H.H. Bennett Studio, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We appreciate the support and feedback and are glad you enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

Costumes supplied, neat settings. Fun photo shoot for family or a group of friends. Black and White, Sepia or Color prints available. A bit pricey, but a unique photo opportunity!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank CJBCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HH_Bennett_Studio, Guest Relations Manager at H.H. Bennett Studio, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

You may be thinking of our neighbors Old Abe's Old Time Portraits.
We are a historic photography studio and museum. We do offer a brand new Tintype Experience but it features historic methods and equipment with an original portrait struck on metal. Not the same experience you mention above!
Hopefully we'll see you next time, thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2018

Especially good after you have taken a boat tour. Very well done. Do know that it used to be free, now it is $10 a person. If you get a coupon book at hotels, you can get "buy one, get one free." Rest rooms and photos on second floor, accessed by elevator. Easy to miss when walking on Broadway, amid all the souvenir shops.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank klutzWestBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HH_Bennett_Studio, Guest Relations Manager at H.H. Bennett Studio, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Hi there! Thanks so much for your review and nice comments. Yes, we were free for one year (in 2016) due to a grant which was only for that year. As you say, there are a lot of admission incentives around the community too. We like to consider ourselves a "hidden gem" within the downtown area, we hope you think so too! Thanks for visiting and sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

This was a great first stop in the Dells area as it gave us a general overview of how the town became so popular as a vacation destination. We felt the ticket price was pricey though.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank MaryCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HH_Bennett_Studio, Guest Relations Manager at H.H. Bennett Studio, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Hi, thanks for your review! We appreciate the feedback. Our prices haven't increased in over 10 years so due to a variety of factors our admissions needed to increase slightly for this season. At only $10 per adult, we continue to be one of the least expensive and specifically most authentic experiences in the Dells area. We're glad you stopped in and hope to see you again. There are a variety of admission promotions and incentives that we are a part of in the community as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2018 via mobile

Located in the middle of town, it cost $10, $8 for seniors & takes about an hour to see all of it. It has many interesting photos of Wisconsin Dells before anyone was here except the Indians.

Such a beautiful area which makes me wonder if Mr. Bennett would have known that his photos and promotion of this area would have destroyed a good part of its beauty, would he have promoted it? Too bad the damn caused so much of the area to be flooded. At least you can see what this area used to be like by looking at his photos.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank DanMarCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HH_Bennett_Studio, Guest Relations Manager at H.H. Bennett Studio, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2018

Thank you for visiting! Mr. Bennett fought hard against the dam being built but it was completed in 1909 only after he died (in 1908). He was passionate about this area and capturing it in his photography. He was also a businessman and new progress was essential to success. We sometimes wonder how he would feel about how this area is now, but we'd like to believe he would be happy this area is still "on the map" and continues as a successful tourist destination today.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews