We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old, but maintained.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliffside Resort & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffside Resort & Suites
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old, but maintained.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

When I walked into the lobby at check in it was a big turn off because it was outdated and it smelled. But after check in I went to look at the pools witch were both great and complete with spas on the main terrace overlooking the hotel's 3 docks on the lake. One of the pools had a water slide! When I walked into the hallways it smelled. I got to my door and felt very secure because their locks are like FBI material. However, when I walked into the room I checked to make sure it was clean, but the toilet was dirty, the trash wasn't emptied, there was change left on the night table, and the room was not vacuumed :(. The bed looked cheap, completed with the ugly 1980's bedspread and uncomfortable sheets. It was definitely outdated, the only modern feature was the LCD TV. Nice balcony overlooking the lake. It wasn't clean though. No free breakfast. OK stay overall.

Room Tip: Get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    48
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
56
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
johnfl68
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This place was a great find..the only negative was the A/C did not do a great job (90+ outside might of been the reason) The view off the balcony was spectacular and the pool relaxing. Would stay again to avoid the waterpark hotels and for the relaxing location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnfl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

This place has good value for the price. I had to go to the Dells at the last minute and called the night before. I remembered the hotel from driving by on my way to another place nearby. It isn't the most modern place...the curtains and bedspread looked like my grandma's house about 1984. Still it was great to have a fridge, a microwave and a flat-screen TV. My room was small but it was immaculately clean which matters the most. The bed was comfy.

What really sells the place is the setting. The view is stunning and it was fun to go out and watch the water-ski show (for free). I didn't use the pool but the area looked well-maintained. There was a family gathering going on while I was there and they seemed to really enjoy themselves...kind of taking over the place.

I would stay here again. The family who owns it clearly takes a lot of pride in this place. I love that it's not in the middle of the Dells' craziness. It's quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dianitah525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

After becoming accustomed to vacationing on the river....we had to find a new place that offered a pool, whirlpool and a great view....since believe it or not, we do NOT want to go to Mt. Oympus....so after a thorough search, I found the Cliffside Resort....it was perfect....specatular view...docks for fishing and boat....great deck...indoor pool and outdoor pool with slide for guests to enjoy....even had an elevator.....very friendly staff....we shall return!

Room Tip: Balcony with a view is the only way to travel....you might even get to watch the Tommy Bartlet Ski S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gneepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We just returned from a couple of days at the Cliffside and found it to be a really nice older hotel with very clean comfortable rooms with nice amenities. The indoor pool and spa was nice as was the in room jacuzzi. During the season you could see the Tommy Bartlett ski show across the lake for free. Nice peolple, nice value. Close enough to everything and anything else you'd want to do in the Dells .

Room Tip: Always choose lakeside as the view is really cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

my boyfriend and i stayed at cliffside for a weekend getaway this winter. we had a jacuzzi lake view room, which was nice (i'm sure would be a wonderful view in the summer/fall) but as mentioned could use some updating. the room itself was well maintained though - clean. we didn't go in the indoor pool or hot tub, but they we'd felt the water and they were at very comfortable temperatures. we did enjoy the value card(s) that were included with our stay. we took advantage or discount bowling, food, and theme park tickets. we went up during a snow storm, so we needed the indoor activities to occupy our time - and there was plenty to do with the card they supplied / saved us some money.

the rooms were what we thought they would be - the bed was very comfortable (i like a soft bed though), the bathroom was also clean and supplied with plenty of towels for the shower/bath and jacuzzi. there was also a microfridge (dorm style - microwave on top and mini refrigerator on the bottom) and a flat screen TV.

location was nice - just behind the wilderness and over looking where they'd do the tommy bartlett show. nice location, but quiet as not in the middle of the downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spudyloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is a cute little resort. It reminds me more of a camp-y type place then an actual resort. It is a little on the older side, and could use some updating. The access to the lake is nice, plus there is a campfire set up down by the water. The outdoor pool was closed when we went, and we never tested out the indoor one.

Room Tip: The room with the whirlpool has a nice balcony with a nice view, and the whirlpool is a nice added a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k8lyn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#17 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
#4 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Resort & Suites

Property: Cliffside Resort & Suites
Address: 351 Canyon Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8467
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking beautiful Lake Delton, Cliffside Resort has been a relaxing getaway for over 30 years. All pools, indoor or outdoor, have panoramic views of the lake and the Tommy Bartlett Waterski Show. Our outdoor pool has a 60 foot water slide and floating polar bear. Suntan on our decks, fish off our docks, or enjoy an evening bonfire on the lake. Registered guests can also utilize our soothing sauna, workout in the exercise room, and play a game of billiards in the game room near the outdoor pool. The resort also offers picnic areas by the pool and on the lake for small and large group gatherings. Our rooms have balconies and standard amenities, including: 32 inch flat panel TVs, free WIFI, micro-fridges, hair dryer, coffee-maker, iron/board, and telephone. The room sizes range from 2 person Jacuzzi suites to 8 person family suites with handicap accessibility throughout the resort except for the lake front. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Resort And Suites
Cliffside Resort Wisconsin Dells
Cliffside Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cliffside Resort Suites Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing