We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK this time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Christmas Mountain Village
Ranked #29 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
River Falls, WI
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just OK this time.”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

As a Bluegreen Owner, we have visited this resort several times, at different times of year.
When traveling over our spring break, it was VERY disappointing this time.
We booked a townhome, and stayed 4 nights. Upon check in, we were assigned a cabin (an upgraded cabin) right next to the units they were doing construction on. There was not even a place to park in front of the cabin, there were trucks and boards and tools all over. I am not one to complain, but the scene in front of this particular cabin, and all the cabins in that row, was ridiculous. There is construction 'stuff' everywhere. And I mean EVERYWHERE. There were several times we were coming in or going out, and had to scoot around trucks, or wait and let the construction guys through.
So, I immediately went back to the check in to let them know this was not acceptable, and asked to be moved to a different unit, one that was not right next to all the construction.

YES...........I get that these resorts need to have construction. I have stayed at so many hotels in my time, so I get it. And I also get it that sometimes you can't get moved, and it just plain sucks. Yep, I get that too.
However, EVERY other time there is construction either at the resort, or even in the area, which may affect the overall experience at the resort, I have either found this info on the website, or was personally notified. This was not done in this case. Nope. Nothing. Not even at check in.

So, when I asked to be moved, at check in, the gal behind the desk seemed nice, but very annoyed. She spoke with her manager, and did get us moved to a 'un' renovated unit. Which was great, I was very appreciative. But the customer service piece was lacking. No apology, no asking if there was anything else they could do, they feel bad that we were unhappy....nothing. NOTHING. Yes, I was unhappy, but seriously, a little customer service helps in these types of situations. I asked if they typically notify people about the resort construction, and she just shook her head, like what I was asking was ridiculous.

OK, enough about that. We were just fine, we got moved, and the un-renovated 3 bedroom townhome was just fine for us. We were happy to be away from all the construction.

Our Unit: The unit itself is the same as we would have expected, everything was in working order. A little dated, but nothing to complain about.
Check In/Check Out: I would like to point this out, for those of you that have never stayed here before. Check in time is 4:00pm and check out time is 10:00am. Typical check in times are 3:00pm and typical check out times are either 11am or noon. So this may throw you off a bit, it always does us.....!!! If I could make a suggestion to the resort itself it's to change these times to streamline it a bit more like other resorts.
Pool: We have always loved the pool area. The deepest point is 4 feet, so with our little ones, we love this.
Ski: The ski slopes were not open this week, again, I realize that things need to be worked on, but it's hard that 2 years in a row, during our spring break, the ski slopes are closed for renovations. Perhaps a suggestion for the future would be to switch up these dates from year to year, so people that visit during the same week, can have some things that are open on the slopes.
Timeshare Pitch: This is lame. Skip it if you can, the gifts aren't worth it. This year, our friends that went, were given expired VIP booklets, and told they don't have anything else that is actually valid during our stay. Seriously, the Kalahari coupons expired in 2013. It's March people.... these coupons have been expired for 3 months!!! HA. It's a joke. Unless you go into the sales pitch ACTUALLY wanting to buy a timeshare, then just skip it. It's a very 'hard' sell, and what they say will take you 1 hour is just not true. No one gets out of there in under 3 hours.

Overall: So in conclusion, we will stay here again, as we are owners, but there are just some changes that I would love to see changed. One being the service level at the front desk when there is an issue, another is the discounts and offers being given from the sales pitch people, and notification of construction.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TAinWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Christmas Mountain Village, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello TAinWI,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Christmas Mountain Village. Your comments certainly concern us as our goal is to share happiness with all of our guests and provide outstanding service. We regret to hear that was not the case with your recent visit. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you wish to provide additional details or discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    161
    67
    45
    42
See reviews for
243
86
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I rented a cabin for two days. It was really cozy and had all of the amenities we needed. If you do rent a cabin, make sure to bring your own wood to burn in the fireplace. We had to drive into town a couple of times to restock.

We used the ski village one day and had a blast! I wish there was a chalet on top of the hills however. The one chalet they had seemed old and not a lot of food/beverage options.

Also, it was pretty cold when we went causing some ice buildup on the driveway to the cabin. I did slip and fall.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and everyone was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded unit. Bring your own firewood for cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Christmas Mountain Village, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello Sarah S,

Thank you sharing your experience at Christmas Mountain Village. We are pleased that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your two-day getaway and the amenities offered. We look forward to sharing happiness with you on your next visit to the Wisconsin Dells area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

As a Bluegreen owner, we have come here every January for 5 years now. The first time we stayed in a cottage which was very small and outdated, twice in a cabin and the last two times in a villa. We were pleasantly surprised to see that we had an updated villa this year. After seeing the model with updates last year, it was great to experience the changes with very nicely updated rooms and kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen while it is small, it was modern. The kids ski every year and it is usually very crowded and slow in getting the gear. The swimming pool is good but a couple times seemed to be too strong on the chlorine. We tried the hot tub this year, and that was great. We’ll be back.

Room Tip: Recommend the cabins or villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Christmas Mountain Village, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello Helen B,

Thank you for returning to Christmas Mountain Village and sharing your experience. We are delighted that you are pleased with the recent upgrades. We greatly appreciate the compliments regarding the accommodations and amenities. We are glad we were able to share happiness and a successful vacation with you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back for future visits to the Wisconsin Dells area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

As a Bluegreen Owner who has been let down by Christmas Mountain on several occasions, they are really trying to turn this place around! I was very please with the newly update 2 bedroom Villa that we stayed in. Unit was spotless and beds were actually comfortable and the decor was very comfortable and modern! It was absolutely enjoyable for a change. Not sure who made the decision to do away with twin beds in the second bedroom, but you really need to reconsider that. As always, Mulligans has great food and the tubing was blast! Not very thrilled with all the new young kids working the tube hill, they need way more training!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Christmas Mountain Village, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello Leslie S,

Thank you for returning to Christmas Mountain Village and sharing your experience. We are thrilled to hear that you are pleased with the recent upgrades. Thank you for the compliments regarding the accommodations and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We love Christmas Mountain for a little family and friends getaway, and were pleasantly surprised by the new upgrades! We have been to Christmas Mountain probably 10 times over the past 5 years. The new beds are extremely comfortable and the decor is much more modern, but still maintains the cozy feel. We can't wait to return this summer, we get such a great value for our money. Mulligan's (restaurant/bar) is OK - food and service are not that great, but it is convenient. We do prefer to eat off property. The little pool and hot tub are very nice to spend a few hours relaxing (it's not that big), and the ski hill is fun and well maintained during the week when it isn't too crowded.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Caryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Christmas Mountain Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Caryn G,

Thank you for returning to Christmas Mountain Village and sharing your review. We are happy that you are pleased with the upgrades. Thank you for the compliments regarding the accommodations and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great little place for a get away. We liked the small pool area for younger kids and the outdoor hot tub was cool- literally. We could watch the skiers coming down the hill.
The Rooms are nice and the 2 bedroom has an whirlpool tub in it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Christmas Mountain Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Becky A,

We are delighted you enjoyed your getaway to Christmas Mountain Village. We are happy you liked the rooms, pool area and hot tub. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you and your family back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I come here every year with my Family(6) and Good friend Every Year at MLK weekend. But this year was different. the place we stayed (Villa 40) was Amazing. they added granite countertops new high-end appliances (Cuisinart and more) new carpet and REALY REALY REALY cool wood tile. along with the new carpet, brand new beds and fireplaces, and new tvs this place was decked out. accept for 1 part... any 2 bedroom villa that says it has 2 twins, doesn't anymore. they made it in to a Queen, King and Pull out sofa.
so with having the max sleeping at 6 and we had 7 we made it work.
Mulligans-
is a mediocre bar and restaurant located in walking distance of MOST housing. it had ok food and was fast service. but they know how to make a good drink.
The ski hills- They can get packed on Saturdays and sundays but otherwise Fridays and Mondays are clear. we stay for a weekend and its not bad. the longest ive had to wait for a lift up the mnt. was about 5 min.
the slopes are great, and sometimes they have a bag jump.
The Pool, Hot Tub, and Sauna-
the only pool open during the winter is the pool at the main building were you check in. it has a max. depth of 4 feet but is filled to about 3foot 8inches. it is a nice pool and has a water slide. and good for kids.
The hot tub. GREAT AWESOME AMAZING OUTSTANDING. that's how you explain. it can fit 30 people comfortably and is warm and everything a hot tub is! 5 STARS
The sauna,
This needs to be renovated next. the wood is really cheap on the seats and the flooring is stuck in the 80's. but it does what it needs to.

Over all this was a great place to stay and I would look into the owner program at Blue Green Resorts. it is truly a great place to stay and Blue Green is a world wide time share
STAY HERE AND DONT SPEND 500 DOLLARS A NIGHT AT THE DELLS. WHEN YOUR JUST A SHORT DRIVE AWAY

Room Tip: Make SURE you call to get a renovated room, its a must have or you will get a old old junker room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham12348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Christmas Mountain Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Graham12348,

Thank you for returning every year and sharing your review. Your feedback as a Bluegreen owner is greatly appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed the renovated villa, amenities, and activities. Thank you for the recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you back and sharing happiness on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
133 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
666 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
900 reviews
4.1 mi away
Delton Oaks Resort
Delton Oaks Resort
#36 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
81 reviews
4.1 mi away
Delton Grand Resort & Spa
Delton Grand Resort & Spa
#1 of 24 in Wisconsin Dells
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christmas Mountain Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Mountain Village

Property: Christmas Mountain Village
Address: S944 Christmas Mountain Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christmas Mountain Village 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christmas Mountain Village, Wisconsin Dells' premier golf and ski resort. Guests of this resort enjoy one of the Dells' best 27-hole championship golf courses and a pristine groomed hill for downhill and cross country skiing in the winter. Offering some of Wisconsin Dells most spacious accommodations, choose from one and two bedroom villas to grand three bedroom townhouses. Rustic log cabins and timbers spaced throughout this expansive resort, give vacationers their own private spot in the woods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Christmas Mountain Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christmas Mountain Village Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Christmas Mountain Village Wisconsin Dells
Christmas Mountain Village Wi Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing