We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Christmas Mountain Village
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here 15 years ago and it was wonderful. I went back with my family for Christmas and wondered if this was the right place. We stayed at a 2 bedroom townhouse. Upon opening the door we were met with the smell of stale butterscotch smell. Not very pleasant but I though you could attribute that to the place being closed up. The place looked clean upon closed inspection you could see that the crease of the stairs leading to the master bedroom had not been swept out or vacuumed in months. In the master bathroom the fiberglass base of the shower was grimy and dusty. The aluminum handle and frame of the shower had mildew and mold and slime buildup that I cleaned off with supplies I brought from home.

The living room rug had old gum stuck to it that had been there for what looked like years And the absolute worst was that a coverlet that was to be used for the pull out sofa had a grey pubic hair in the fibers. When we washed the blanket it actually came out 2 shades lighter. We were supposed to stay 7 days but we could not get comfortable knowing the place was not clean. We left early morning on day 5.

Now the skiining and tubing was nice and the price was reasonable. The staff was helpful and the kids had a good time.

We will not be returning to Christmas mountain. I just can't shake the dirty feeling. Yuck!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ivemadeupmymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Christmas Mountain Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 439 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

OK so we checked in on New Years Eve and checked out 3 days latter.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom town home. Found a roach in the upstairs unit and lady bugs all over the rest of the unit. Other than that it was clean. However the sleeper sofa was unusable. The mattress was well super flat when the maintenance guy replaced it he addressed the issue about the torn supports. His words I wouldn't sleep on it.

Now on the the lies:
Can we have more trash bags? Yes they are on the way. Reality they never arrived
10% discount on property! Yea right 10% off only at Mulligans and only on lift tickets not on rentals or tubing.

So why do they get a 4 str review? Because we spent 3,375 point to stay at this BlueGreen Resort and when I called to address these issues the resort manager told me he would like to check into this and call me back later that day. Well... He called back and addressed the issues and credited us back 3,000 points in hopes we will try the resort again.

Also FYI the entire resort is undergoing renovations call and ask the resort what the odds of getting an updated unit are.

Room Tip: Town Homes have lots of stairs not handicap friendly!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The cabins have serious design flaws that remodeling alone may not fix. Impossible to keep anywhere close to an even temperature inside. Appliances are old and poorly arranged. The dishwasher cannot be opened without hitting the fridge. The dishwashers in two cabins we had did not even work correctly. There is no clearly marked place to take trash to. Some quests would leave a bag by the driveway only to have racoons spread it around. The WiFi was basically non-existent in both cabins. Only by sitting by the window could you sometimes get a weak signal. The Ski rental setup is seriously flawed as well. Only enough space for a small crowd to navigate. Between Christmas and New Years the lines can easily take more than an hour to get through. Once through the line, you may find out there is no more equipment in your size. We are BlueGreen Platinum owners and have stayed at numerous properties. They said they are spending several million on improvements and refurbishment which I can only hope will fix the issues here. The mountain is a good size for beginners and the setting in the country is nice. But as it stands, Christmas Mountain is not up to par by any means.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vernman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Christmas Mountain has been a great place to vacation with our family! We have been coming here for 15 years! Our children are 14 and 17 and still enjoy Christmas Mountain.
There is something for everyone. From Camping to nicely furbished family living units we have always been very comfortable. The cottages need updating, but they are simple and usually clean. Our kids have learned to ski by the best instructors and are very good skiers now! Because of the excellent instruction, our daughter is now teaching lessons in MN. There are crafts, swimming, hiking, golfing, food, drinks and solitude. It is a great family getaway or to scrapbook with friends. If you are looking for the Hilton, go to the Hilton. If you are looking for a safe friendly place to relax, this has always been perfect for us!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbrosemount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I actually had been here during summer/winter time. During summer time you can enjoy the pool facilities, jacuzzi during night time, play mini-golf, etc. Winter time was great too, but unfortunately I torn my ACL skiing and the fun was over for me. However, the cabin where we stayed was a little outdated compared to the townhouse we stayed in before, but still very comfortable and family orientated for families. It is about 10-15 away from downtown. Many places are close during winter, but everything is bright and alive during summer. Great place to get away from the city chaos.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ivette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This a large, 40 year old resort with many different kinds of accommodations. it is set in a forest, and is very beautiful when the leaves are turning color. There are cabins, duplexes, and villas. It is very peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynaegd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We love it. Accommodations are great. Very private. Very good service. We have stayed at this resort several times. Indoor pool is nice. Good planned activities. The cottages are well equipped, beds are comfortable. The spa is absolutely the very best. The staff are wonderful. They are gracious and very professional.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
8.2 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#24 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
667 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#23 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
955 reviews
4.8 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#12 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
3,314 reviews
4.1 mi away
Delton Oaks Resort
Delton Oaks Resort
#31 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christmas Mountain Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Mountain Village

Address: S944 Christmas Mountain Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $156 - $895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Christmas Mountain Village 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christmas Mountain Village, Wisconsin Dells' premier golf and ski resort. Guests of this resort enjoy one of the Dells' best 27-hole championship golf courses and a pristine groomed hill for downhill and cross country skiing in the winter. Offering some of Wisconsin Dells most spacious accommodations, choose from one and two bedroom villas to grand three bedroom townhouses. Rustic log cabins and timbers spaced throughout this expansive resort, give vacationers their own private spot in the woods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Christmas Mountain Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christmas Mountain Village Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Christmas Mountain Village Wisconsin Dells
Christmas Mountain Village Wi Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing