We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Customer Service”
Reviewed August 21, 2008

The hotel itself is not bad at all. The customer service is a different issue. I checked in late and was told to come to the front desk in the morning for my tickets for mt. olympus. I went to the front desk in the morning and lady at the front desk said i am not eligible due to the fact that i got a discounted rate which i opted not to choose because it worked out better paying the full price in order to receive my tickets. I was upset because i was basically being called a liar indirectly. She ended up giving me the tickets after checking me under someone else's name and a different time. Bottom Line....they need to work on the customer service skills especially if it is a "family owned" business. I would expect better customer service.

  • Liked — pretty decent room
  • Disliked — customer service by the front desk and the restaurant in the morning....horrible waitress
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank geminiiii1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    160
    64
    50
    62
See reviews for
308
94
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

The hotel is old, moldy, and have a terrible smell. The morning staffs were rude and impolite (didn't even smile to welcome you) but the night shifters (except the night manager) were very respectful and friendly. The night manager should be fired for her incompetence in handling even a petty public relations issue. I had a small concern and was very professional and calm when I told her about the issue but she raised her voice as if I don't have the right to complain. She just did the talking endlessly and never listened to what I have to say. She should enroll in customer service class to learn how to settle differences with clients in a very nice acceptable way (win-win situation for both parties).

Setting my personal issue aside, this hotel is good if this is the last hotel available in Wisconsin dells. The indoor and outdoor pools pale in comparison to Great Wolfe. If you consider their rate at $114 for a night and $159 for the same room at Great Wolfe and compare the quality of each hotel's service and amenities, the $45 difference is worth at Great Wolfe. Not putting into consideration the kind of treatment you get from Wintergreen were they treat you like a trash (maybe because the hotel is so cheap that they can't afford to train or hire people with good public relation skills).

With my bad experience with this hotel, I definitely will not comeback nor recommend it to my friends. I can stand the physical condition of the hotel AND the limitation of their facilities, but I can't stand the way they treat their guests. GUESTS HERE ARE TREATED LIKE PESTS- THEY DON'T GIVE A DAMN.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tagpikong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We had a Jaccuzzi suite, the tub was big enough for two. The king size bed was okay, the mattress is getting old.
They have two outdoor hot tubs, both very nice, pretty area.
We liked that it was next to the Tanger Outlet Mall and many other things, so we could just walk.
Staff were very helpful and polite.

Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Traveled with family of 5, needed a good size room. This hotel had 2 queens and pull out sofa. We researched a lot of hotels and wanted something with a good rate, pool area and tickets to one of the larger water parks. This hotel provided all of that (included 2 tickets to Mt. Olympus and other 3 were 20.00 each). Other reviews talk about out dated hotel but for the price we thought it was fine. If ur going to spend a lot of time in ur room staring at the old wallpaper and furniture then its not for u. While the pool areas cld use a good paint job (big slide was OTS while we were there), my kids still enjoyed it even after spending all day at the water parks. My biggest complaint is that the parks and hotel pools all seem to close by 10pm -if not earlier. Most hotels have pools open til 11pm, ud think the Dells (water park capital of the world) would be open later.

  • Liked — price, pool, water park tickets
  • Disliked — pool closes too early
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coach96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We payed about 126 for a family room w/2 queens and a sofa bed. The mattresses on the beds were very soft and 'mushed' down as soon as you sat on one. I have arthritis in my back and was unable to sleep for more than 4 hours on one. The sofa "bed" was worse - its mattress was so flattened out that you could feel the big support bar running underneath it. Our 2 teenage sons woke up sore and crabby after 1 night and refused to sleep on it again. We complained to the desk and they offered us some extra blankets to pad the mattress. The TV service did not have many channels, and the TV was small. The balcony floor was peeling paint. The indoor pool was VERY warm, like a giant hot tub, but clean. The outdoor pool was warm (but not too warm), but the big slide there was only open about 2 hours each day since they had to hire 2 lifeguards to stand by it whenever kids were using it. Our younger kids were very disappointed. DON"T TRY the restaurant!!! We order omelets and they grilled them in some kind of strange grease that tasted awful. The cheese omelet had almost no cheese, and service was marginal.

  • Liked — Proximity to Dells attractions & restaurants, free tickets to Mt. Olympus
  • Disliked — Beds, Restaurant, Internet service,
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I read the reviews for this hotel and it was mostly true. The beds were ROCK hard. I could not wait to go home to sleep in my bed. But the pool and water activity were geared toward young children, I don't think if you had children above above five they will enjoy their stay here. The location is o.k. but you can do better if you have older children or no children at all.

  • Liked — location for young children
  • Disliked — the beds
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IllinoisMailman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristin689
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2008

My 2 best friends and I stayed at the Wintergreen for 2 nights. Because we went during midweek, each night was $127. We also recieved 2 free tickets to Mount Olympus, and a 50% off voucher for each additional ticket to M.O. The hotel was nice but the hallways are either freezing cold or humid. The hotel has 1 computer in the lobby with free internet use, but the internet is slower than any other computer I've been on before. The pool was fun; the water temperature was absolutely amazing, along with the jacuzzis. The staff was also nice; my friend lost her key card at the pool so I traded in my key card too and we got new keys without any hassle. The beds were comfy, except that the pillows were flat, uneven on one side, and just plain uncomfortable. The tv was kind of small with few channels, but that didn't really bother us since we were out of the room most of the time. Also, there was no type of rubber shower mat on the bottom of the tub, so my friends and I almost fell literally 10 times because it was so slippery. Overall, I liked the hotel. It was clean, fun, and a good time.

  • Liked — pools, customer service
  • Disliked — hotel room temperature
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kristin689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
5.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
5.0 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#32 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
5.0 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#31 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center

Property: Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Address: 100 Gasser Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#27 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wintergreen Resort is perfect for your next meeting, group function, or family vacation. Relax and enjoy our indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, and children's water facilities. Our convenient onsite restaurant and lounge are sure to please any appetite.  If  searching for a romantic getaway, our whirlpool rooms will accommodate every couple with room service and special packages. Centrally located just off I90 makes it a perfect location for all to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wintergreen Resort And Conference Center
Wintergreen Wisconsin Dells
Wintergreen Resort Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing