We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 29, 2007

My family and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 4 days and 3 nights. We found it to be very clean and it met all of our needs. We had two children 3 yrs. of age and the water park was great for them. The staff was courteous and professional at all times. The breakfast was quite adequate. We felt very good about our stay there. We would not hesitate to go there again.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank BJBlessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 499 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2007

This is newly renovated hotel (4 months) and has a great pool with a water slide and very big kiddy pool with slides etc.

The beds were amazingly comfortable and each room has a fridge, coffee maker and microwave. The staff were courteous and the breakfast was good. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank JoeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We were traveling from Minnesota and needed a room late at night. The first two towns we tried had no rooms. Looking at the map, we saw Wisconsin Dells and decided to try there. Having just stayed at the Crowne Plaza we decided to try the Holiday Inn brand, and we able to book a room over the phone at the Holiday Inn Express at Wisconsin Dells (address is Baraboo, but it is Exit 92 on the highway - the south end of the Dells). We arrived at 10:30 PM and were greeted warmly by the front desk clerk who honored our internet price. I commented that he hotel was very attractive and he told me that they had just converted from a castle theme. Our king-bed room was spotless, included a microwave and refrigerator, the bed was comfortable, and the continental breakfast was adequate. They have both an indoor and an outdoor pool and provide a paper in the morning. This was an excllent, clean,comfortable value!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ohioteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2007

We drive between Minnesota and Indiana at least twice a year, so we've stayed at several different hotels along this route. We never make reservations, so we were excited to get a $69 rate when we stopped at the Camelot on our way home after Christmas. Our 3.5-year old loved this hotel and did not want to leave the next day. The indoor waterpark was perfect for his age. It would be quite boring for older children, though. Our baby loved hanging out in the warm pool area with all the water noises. They do serve a breakfast, but it was just average. We were kind of annoyed to find about 20 couches stored up against the indoor playground all the way around it, but our son managed to play there anyway. Our room was clean and had a refrigerator! A bonus was that the 2 beds were queen instead of double. This is nice when each of us 2 adults had to sleep with one of the 2 children.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScreenNameAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

Had a great time here. This hotel is a lot better than most of the reviews you see. They have been working hard to renovate, and what people don't seem to realize, is many of the Dells motels are now 40 to 50 years old, and in need of sometimes needing major overhauls.
The Pool area was clean and plenty bright at night, with the new Halogen lights. There appeared to be all new paint on the walls, with new Tile around the walls by the Super Nice Jacuzzi, which was huge and clean, as well as a variety of strength among the 25 or so jets, and the temp of the water was perfect, and so was the Pool temp, they are not trying to skimp, they keep the Pool much warmer then a lot of other places i have stayed.
You did not even get cold if You sat in the Jacuzzi for 20 minutes and then jumped in the pool. The pool is much bigger then it looks in the terrible pictures on this website. There are storage issues in any old hotel, and that is why when under renovation, hotels sometimes have to store the old furniture until someone comes to get it. Ripping up and replacing huge sections of carpet is going to cause an issue where you have to store the new carpet as each day you work to improve the place.
People who have bashed this place don't seem to understand that they are trying to update a building that is old and it takes time to do all the upgrades. I see no reason why you should not stay here, the employee's were very friendly.Pool table was fine so were all games in the game room.
For $69 on a Saturday night, you are not going to get any better. This place is a very good value, give them a chance. I have stayed at over a dozen hotels in the dells, and this is a good deal, not crowded and they treated me very well, This is great place for Adults or People with kids under 8. You can swim Laps here and you can't do that in the Wilderness, and they charge 3 times the price on a saturday night.

It is not really a waterpark, accept for little kids, as much as a nice hotel with a super nice big Pool and Jacuzzi, and you can actually get a great Tan laying on the chaise lounge, the windows are so big and there are a lot of them.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank trailblazer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2006

We needed an inexpensive place to stay for a couple of days and had been burned on some of the smaller hotels, so we decided to try a "resort". The Camelot offered a nicely-priced package that centered around the nearby Ho-Chunk Casino, offering free shuttle service, a roll of quarters to spend and a complimentary upgrade to the "jacuzzi suite". I went ahead and booked it, thinking it couldn't possibly be worse than other places we'd stayed.

We looked the place over before checking in and found that the whole castle thing isn't a consistent theme...it's just an elaborate facade. The real rooms are in a nondescript building that's indistinguishable from any low-budget motel. Still...a jacuzzi suite, that's got to be something, right? We checked in, got our roll of quarters, and were told our room was on the bottom floor.

We parked and made our way past the exercise room (crammed with rolls of dirty carpet and furnishings, closed-up and dark) and down the dim hallway (past more rolls of torn-up carpet, bags of trash and piles of laundry). The carpet was so filthy that you could barely see the design on it in the area where people walked; the strips of carpet that lined the bottom few inches of the walls looked unnaturally clear and bright by comparison. We let ourselves in the room and I flipped a switch by the door, which did nothing. This would be an ongoing problem during our stay: the entire "suite" was lit by two dim fluorescent bulbs and you couldn't do anything in the front half of the room without having the bathroom door wide open to admit some sort of light.

The bedclothes and curtains were dingy and ugly. The room looked right out onto parking spaces and the curtain rod was bent. When the air conditioner was on (which we had to do, due to the humidity of the jacuzzi in the room), the curtains blew outward and gave everyone in the parking lot a nice view of us. The jacuzzi -appeared- clean, save a tangle of dark hair that shot out of one of the jets. It gave me a skeevy feeling and I didn't like it.

There were smaller things, too...the fact that the desk chair was missing a caster and randomly spilled us out backwards; the sheets that had so many holes in them they looked moth-eaten; the large spider who appeared above my head late at night; the endless shortage of clean washcloths and towels. Then there were the incidents that really stood out: the time the bathroom sink stopper went down and wouldn't come back up, for example. The bathroom sink was pretty much unusable and I had to brush my teeth in the shower. When I went to tell the lady at the front desk, she blinked at me as if I was speaking a bizarre alien language. She called maintenance, and when we returned to the room the plug had some fresh gouges in it where it had been pried out.

We had been under the impression that the room was locked when we were in it with the door closed. We were wrong. A random lady on her cellphone walked right into our room before realizing she was in the wrong place and making a hasty retreat. We were pretty nervous about that...doors that lock successfully should be fairly standard.

I didn't use the "waterpark". The "continental breakfast" was a basket of bagels, a basket of bananas, a basket of oranges and a basket of apples on a table.

We used the game room, which was okay. I liked the nubbly floor of the shower stall. The shuttle service was convenient, the first desk clerk we dealt with was pleasant and helpful, and the price didn't deviate from what I was quoted. Unfortunately, that's about all the positivity I can muster regarding that visit. I was surprised that one of the "resorts" could operate at so low a standard and still be competitive.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Kitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

Not worth even half of their lowest price. Rooms were not ready until more than an hour after check in time, dirty towels in the room. Staff doesn't seem too interested in customer service at all. I could go on and on - did I mention the fire alarm? No staff member ever came out of the back room to confirm it had been a false alarm.

6  Thank mnmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
0.0 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#23 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
955 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites at Wisconsin Dells Lake Delton
Hampton Inn & Suites at Wisconsi...
#18 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
968 reviews
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
142 reviews
3.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells

Address: 1033 Wisconsin Dells Parkway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Green Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#25 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: $96 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wisconsin Dells Hotel Near Popular Attractions The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Wisconsin Dells is at the heart of the 'Waterpark Capital of the World.' Located off I-90 at Exit 92, this Wisconsin Dells hotel is less than a mile from major attractions like the Original Wisconsin Ducks, Noah's Ark Water Park and Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Nature lovers staying in our Wisconsin Dells hotel will have easy access to the unique natural beauty of the Dells of the Wisconsin River; our hotel is also four miles from Mirror Lake State Park and 16 miles from Devil's Lake State Park. For more fun indoors, there is a 24-hour shuttle to the nearby Ho-Chunk Casino. Business travelers appreciate our convenient location near I-90/94 and I-39, keeping them connected to nearby cities. We're only four miles away from the businesses of historic downtown Wisconsin Dells, and our hotel is within 11 miles of companies such as Flambeau, Inc. and Seneca Foods. Lodging in our Wisconsin Dells hotel also allows you to utilize the services of our 24-hour Business Center. During your stay in our Wisconsin Dells hotel, be sure to take advantage of our free high-speed Internet access. We help you keep your usual routine by offering a complimentary hot breakfast, a Fitness Center and copy and print services in the Business Center. Book your reservation now for our hotel near Wisconsin Dells attractions and start planning your trip today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin Dells Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing