We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on credit card points to reduce the cost of the week trip. We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel.
Very nice front desk staff
Very clean
Very big room and clean! It was cleaner than the room we had at Kalahari
It was in a good location
There was a pool but mainly was designed for smaller kids but that is OK as that is not why we were there
Nice free breakfast each morning

Would stay here again. Good value for the Dells area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MN2MEXICO21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    149
    84
    33
    25
See reviews for
214
81
5
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed one night
The bed was comfortable and the pillows were marked relative to their firmness a big plus.
The room looked recently updated and the bathroom was clean with no signs of mildew or mold.
The room was quiet and clean and the air worked well although a bit loud.
The breakfast area was tidy and pleasant enough and the food was average... not really my type of food. Another big plus to the hot water for my tea since it came from a spigot it was hot and did not taste like coffee.
The staff were helpful but a bit forced with their sincerity. They also had good recommendations for dinner.

Room Tip: if you can stay on the second or third floor less parking lot noise and no smell of chlorine from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff here is extremely friendly. We arrived much earlier than expected and front desk allowed us to use the pool until our room was ready.

We stayed in a 3rd floor Executive King room which was nice as there was no over head noise. The room was clean and also had a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker.

All in all it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level Contributor
163 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stay in Holiday Inn Express a lot, both on business and on holiday. I use them almost exclusively on holiday because I get a great value for my IHG Reward points. Plus, I know generally what to expect as they don’t vary much between properties. Having never been to Wisconsin Dells, I had no idea what to expect of this particular property since it was in a resort area.

It turns out that I got a great value and a great location. Well - that is once I found it. The address on the website said this hotel was in Wisconsin Dells, so I put that in my GPS. Oops. I ended up miles away somewhere near a giant pink flamingo. I finally figured out I was lost and when I called the hotel for help the pleasant young lady on the phone told me to try entering Baraboo. Okay. Baraboo it is. My GPS took me straight to the door. That said, there is only one Holiday inn Express in the area, so if you pass by… you just missed it.

Now about the property itself. Check in was extremely efficient, and every staff person I encountered was professional, pleasant, and helpful. In fact, I was extremely impressed with the personnel. Kudos to the management on your hiring and training.

This was a special trip with our 13 year-old grandson, so we had requested a king suite with a sofa bed, which worked beautifully for the three of us. The “suite” was actually one large room with a partial wall dividing the bed from the area with the sofa, so there was some semi-privacy. The sink was in the room, not with the bathtub and toilet. Normally I don’t care for this setup, but with the three of us it allowed for more multi-tasking while we were getting ready for the day.

There were a couple of issues with the room itself. First, if you stay here be sure to bring your own multi-outlet extension cord(s). There are very few outlets and none are next to the bed. (Knowing that these days guests travel with multiple electronic devices, I still haven’t figured out why every hotel hasn’t invested in bedside lamps with incorporated outlets!) With three people charging phones, laptops, game systems, hairdryers and curling irons it became a juggling act. We also had some problems with the AC. It never did work properly and we had to turn it off each time we turned the temperature up or down because the unit would switch to heat. We finally figured out a way we could make it work, but I believe the whole unit just needs to be replaced.

Holiday Inn Express has always been a good value for families because of the “free” breakfast. Combine this with an area known for amusement/water parks and you have potential for chaos. The breakfast serving space was crowded, but the staff kept the food filled and the area as clean as humanly possible. In all my travels, this was one of the most well-organized and well-tended breakfast areas I’ve ever encountered. I did find it odd though, that in a resort area the breakfast hours were different for the work week and the weekend. I would think always observing weekend hours would be more appropriate since I doubt there is a huge crowd of business travelers needing those early morning breakfasts.

The hotel has a program allowing you to “opt out” of daily housekeeping service in exchange for a couple of 2-for-1 coupons. We preferred no service anyway, so we took advantage of the offer. It turned out to be a good deal because the coupon helped us reduce our costs on a couple of major attractions. Housekeeping didn’t get the memo though, and still left a note on our door saying they couldn’t clean our room because we left a “do not disturb” sign on the door. Had we not left it, housekeeping would have entered the room even though we requested no service. It wasn’t a problem for us at all, but I would suggest a master list be provided to staff so they would all be aware.

The hotel has a hot tub and two very nice swimming pools, one indoor and one outside. Both pools had water slides which my grandson declared to be pretty awesome.

And as for the hotel in general? In the words of my grandson, I declare it pretty awesome. Well done, Baraboo/Wisconsin Dells Holiday Inn Express. Well done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnotherNiteOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I want to start off by saying that all the staff and everyone we interacted with was very kind and friendly.

Now, my review:
1) The breakfast was okay. There are just a couple of tables by the reception area, so if you get there and don't find a seat, you have to stand there and wait until someone else is done eating. To my liking, that was a bit weird.
2) The rooms are very small, for the price I paid, I expected more, but they were pretty clean.
3) The pool... my biggest dissapointment. I read on other reviews that people complained abou the pool being very very cold. Well, I figured by the time I got there, that problem didn't exist anymore. To my surprise, the pool was unbearably cold on Wed and Thursday (I complained to the lifeguard and he said the heater was on, but trust me, that heater in the pool was NOT on)... So I asked at the reception area, and the young lady assured me they had just replaced the heater a few months ago and that it should be working. To my suprise, Friday and Saturday morning the pool was heated again. My thought on this is that they might cut down on the pool heat during the week, since my family was the only one there...along with maybe 2 other families... tops!

Other than that, if you're going to just sleep in the hotel, it's not a bad choice, but if you expect to spend more time at the hotel, i'm sure you'll find better options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaD0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear ErikaD0m,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I chose to stay here for a conference I was attending rather than pay the high price the resort was charging where the conference was. Overall we were very happy with our choice.

We arrived several hours early and we thought we would have to wait to get our room. However, we were told the room was ready and we could get right in. During check-in they brought out a dice game and announced that because I was an IHG rewards member I was entitled to roll for some perks like ice cream treats or extra reward points. Fun!

The place was quiet enough and the breakfast was fairly decent. In the room we had the sink was outside of the bathroom which was a little strange at first but it allowed us to get ready at different times. The hotel is close to all of the amenities and is right off the highway. It has a little store by the front desk and lots of free parking as well.

A final note - being vegetarians we ate at The Cheese Factory both nights we were in the Dells. The place was awesome and usually packed with families. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank codemonkeyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Luckily got one of the last rooms after checking out early of another hotel that under delivered.
Check in was a breeze and front desk staff was very courteous. Room was clean and spacious.
The indoor pool was perfect for our son and the outdoor pool was prefect on a sunny day. The staff was very friendly and always asked how our stay was going, a nice touch.
It was a plus having life guards working the pool areas. Even though the pools are not huge it's nice having the rules enforced since there are a lot of young children using the pool areas.
Breakfast was great but I recommend getting to it early,got very busy and clogged around 9:15.
Would definitely stay here again, a great alternative to the large water parks.
The only reason I am giving 4 stars instead of 5 is due to price. Paid $289 for a double queen. Yes I know it is summer in the Dells but as far of value it's a stretch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#15 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#38 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
3.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#19 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites Wisconsin Dell...
#13 of 71 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells

Property: Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Address: 1033 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Green Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#25 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wisconsin Dells Hotel Near Popular Attractions The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Wisconsin Dells is at the heart of the 'Waterpark Capital of the World.' Located off I-90 at Exit 92, this Wisconsin Dells hotel is less than a mile from major attractions like the Original Wisconsin Ducks, Noah's Ark Water Park and Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Nature lovers staying in our Wisconsin Dells hotel will have easy access to the unique natural beauty of the Dells of the Wisconsin River; our hotel is also four miles from Mirror Lake State Park and 16 miles from Devil's Lake State Park. For more fun indoors, there is a 24-hour shuttle to the nearby Ho-Chunk Casino. Business travelers appreciate our convenient location near I-90/94 and I-39, keeping them connected to nearby cities. We're only four miles away from the businesses of historic downtown Wisconsin Dells, and our hotel is within 11 miles of companies such as Flambeau, Inc. and Seneca Foods. Lodging in our Wisconsin Dells hotel also allows you to utilize the services of our 24-hour Business Center. During your stay in our Wisconsin Dells hotel, be sure to take advantage of our free high-speed Internet access. We help you keep your usual routine by offering a complimentary hot breakfast, a Fitness Center and copy and print services in the Business Center. Book your reservation now for our hotel near Wisconsin Dells attractions and start planning your trip today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin Dells Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing