We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limited indoor waterpark, overcrowded and overpriced”
Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mt. Olympus Resort
Ranked #64 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Spencer, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Limited indoor waterpark, overcrowded and overpriced”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The resort was overpriced for the indoor water park amenities available. Indoor water park was too small and over crowded. Only one small standard pool, no wave pool, and short lazy river. Our room did not even include headboards. For a few extra dollars I'll be going to one of the other big water parks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Social Media Advisor at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent stay with us. Here at Mt. Olympus we have a 55,000 square ft indoor water park which includes: 2 body slides, 2 tube slides, an endless river, 2 hot tubs, a large swimming pool and a children's play area with pirate ship,slides, tunnels, water spouts and geysers. We also have an indoor theme park which is included with your stay that has bumper cars, go karts, kiddie rides, ball pit area and a large token ran, prize redemption arcade. If you would like to speak to a management team member further about your recent stay please contact them at 1-800-800-4997. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    308
    380
    368
    583
See reviews for
1,300
116
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DeKalb, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I am so disappointed in our group's hotel choice while playing in a tournament in the Dells. It is loud in the hallways and our walls are paper thin. Our room has wood laminate floors and feels so uninviting!Very primitive accommodations for the stiff cost. I tried asking for an updated room with a manager and was told i had one. I won't recommend this location to others. Very disappointed but can't change hotel since our group is here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wisconsin Dells hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This resort is very overpriced. Disappointed with the waterpark. Be ready to do a lot of walking to get around the resort. If you do not stay on site, you will need to drive to the waterpark. They have bought several area hotels, that are also overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank d v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hotel was okay for the price but you can hear everything happening on the other neighboring rooms. While it is no fault of the folks of the other rooms, there should be better insulation between rooms. Wifi service was very poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hasan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

First of all, my friend booked this overnight trip for us. It was a group of 4 girls in their 30s looking for a trip away from work/husbands/kids. We do this kind of trip up to the Dells about once a year, but haven't done it in a few years due to a few of us being pregnant/other issues. It finally worked out that we could go. Normally, we stay at the Kalahari and have stayed at the Chula Vista once to try out their all-inclusive. This time my friend got an e-mail, since she's stayed here many times with her family, that was to include skiing, tubing, the room, waterpark, and unlimited drinks at the bar Wet across the street from 9-midnight. Since we went at the end of March, we figured we wouldn't get to do the skiing and tubing, but were excited about the waterpark and the bar (again, we are nurses and not huge drinkers, but do like a good deal and was our one night out.) When we checked in, we found out it was spring break for many (not for our kids) and the waterpark was jam-packed. Again, we rolled with the punches and decided at least to have fun at the bar. That's when the lady checking us in said the bar was not open that night. When we asked why, they said it was only open on Saturdays in off season, but since it was spring break, it was open Wed, Fri, and Saturdays only. When we explained the only reason we chose to stay there was because of the good deal on drinks/etc, the lady said she couldn't do anything. When we asked to speak with a manager, she stated we should have looked at the fine print-it said "only valid during bar open hours." She said we should have looked at the bar's website to find out when it was open. To which we replied: who checks out a bar's website? We were under the assumption that if the hotel is offering this as their great money-saving offer-the bar would be open every night. We called again from our car to try and speak to another manager and they said they could do nothing for us. So our $130 room was actually a pretty bad deal after all. I understand the loopholes of fine print, but it is very leading to put that on your e-mail offer or website. A better way to do it would be to say "bar only open wed, fri, sat" or something like that. Pretty despicable and sneaky if you ask me. We were there on a Thursday by the way and we booked at the beginning of February, which means, that offer was out there the whole time while it wasn't spring break and the bar was only open on Saturdays-limiting it even more. Overall, our night was okay-we went to the saloon downtown (free bacon on Thursday nights-was a pretty funny sight.) The room was mediocre-run down looking but clean-no frills-we were pretty far from the waterpark so we would have had to take our car-too far to walk, esp wet and in 40 degree weather. We did check out the waterpark the next morning around 10:30am because we all wanted to see if we would bring our kids there on a future trip. The 3 that hadn't been there before all agreed that we would never be back. Other places are much more worth the money. The one that booked and have brought her kids before said their family would never be back either. Too bad that the place sucked!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flyeaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I read all of the horror stories about Mt. Olympus Village and was very worried about what we were getting ourselves into (read them after booking). We were pleasantly surprised. Our motel was clean, it was quiet, close to the park, the perks were great (outdoor park, though limited, indoor amusement, and water park). I would definitely stay again. I like that they have the laminated wood floors, much better than questionable carpeting, the bathroom was clean, the beds, though hard, had decent bedding....I have stayed in much worse so-called 3 star hotels! My kids had a good time at all of the venues and didn't complain of long lines or any of the "issues" others cite. Having noted some of the other venues of "the village" I understand why some complained, but knowing what you're getting into makes a difference, which the site should be more clear about. I did miss having on-site pool, etc. Big improvement would be to somehow guarantee that a group would all be at same venue and ideally, opening the pools at these former hotel/motels.

Room Tip: building 21 was the former copa cobanna, which we actually stayed at back in the day. Nice big room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Clerks do not speak English well, and will not slow down either on the telephone or in person. The room was as far from the water park as you can get - driving distance - and parking at the park is crowded. Olympus has bought up blocks of old hotels, repainted them in blue and white, and now call them Mount Olympus. There is nobody on site to respond to guests. The room was large and quiet, but sparsely furnished - no coffee maker, just a thin cotton blanket on the bed, no bedspread, no carpet or rugs, and quite chilly. Cannot find out what hours the water park is open and we haven't tried it yet; frankly not sure we will because it seems like too much of a hassle to drive there, change into swimsuits and back again, and then to walk out into the cold afterwards. I am not paying $10 for a locker to cram my winter jacket into. We stayed here at the Easter special rate, and that's about all this room is worth.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.1 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
628 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#16 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
702 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#35 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Property: Mt. Olympus Resort
Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8798
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Olympus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Olympus Resort provides our guests with both Indoor and Outdoor Water & Theme Park fun! All 1300 Mt. Olympus Resort rooms are spread over the famous Wisconsin Dells Strip, surrounding Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Free skiing, tubing, snowboarding and Golf passes (depending on season) are included with stay, Free wi-fi access available, 44 Indoor and Outdoor Water Slides, 4 Interactive Children's water play areas, 7 Outdoor Go-Kart Tracks, 5 Outdoor Roller Coasters, 1 Surf pool, creating 9ft waves! 1 Wave pool and a giant water fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Mt. Olympus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rome - At Mt. Olympus Water And Theme Park
Wisconsin Dells Treasure Island
Treasure Island Wisconsin Dells
Treasure Island Water Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing